Dr. Bill Bell MD Patient Reviews

  • Ophthalmology Carlsbad, CA

Overall Rating

4.5
  • 28 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

3.5 (-1.0)

28 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    75%
  • Great
    14%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    7%
  • Wait Time 19.2 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 16th, 2017
Excellent state of the art eye care.
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I initially saw Dr Bell after a serious injury. He was very thorough, supportive, patient, and a wealth of information. My eye health and vision are significantly improved in the 9 months I have been working with him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 27th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If I could give less than one star I would. I was seen for over a year for a red eye, with a growth that Dr. Bell said was nothing to worry about. He also made glasses for me that I could never see very well with. When I told him about the glasses, his response was that my eyes were changing too quickly and that's just how it is. But the worst part is that I just went to a different Optometrist to get my yearly check up, only to find out that the growth on my eye that Dr. Bell said not to worry about, is actually a squamous cell tumor! I am now seeing an eye surgeon who confirmed the diagnosis. So what could have been taken care of two years ago, now has grown much larger....
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 12th, 2015
My office visit was one of the best experiences I have had with a physician.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had extensive eye watering and needed to see an ophthalmologist as soon as possible. I called on a Friday and was able to schedule an appointment the same day. Before being seen by Dr. Bell there was an issue with my billing. Some doctors might have turned me away. Dr. Bell saw me anyway. It is clear he cares about his patients. Dr. Bell meticulously examined my eyes and diagnosed me with a common eye infection and mentioned it was due to aging. Prescription eye drops were prescribed. In two days 100% of my symptoms were gone. He is very professional, has attention to detail, has great bedside manner, and has a high tech office. Front office staff is great too.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 22nd, 2012
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Spends as much time as you need
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 28th, 2010
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
First eye doc I've ever been to who didn't treat me like a leper because I have keratoconus. Was extremely pleased with cararact and eye-bag surgery. Brilliant individual.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 8th, 2009
Watch out
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I used this opthamologist for several years, but we had several problems with them that seem to indicate that profit trumps everything. Most recently, I had a prescription that was a year and a half old and his office refused to fax this prescription to Costco, where I wanted to purchase glasses (they also refused to give me *my* prescription, which I don't think they can do). His office claimed that it is California state law that eye prescriptions expire in one year, which is not true. California state law is that they expire in two years. It appears that they are doing this to ensure that you return for frequent visits. Further evidence of this was when the receptionist told me that Dr. Bell would consider a request for extending my present prescription beyond one year *if I purchased my glasses from them.* Obviously, they know it's not state law or they wouldn't suggest that they could extend the prescription (provided I purchase eyewear from them). Shysters!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 13th, 2009
PRK eye surgery
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Bell performed my PRK corrective eye surgery and I cannot be more pleased. He came highly recommended by another eye doctor office. I wish I had done this years ago. Dr. Bell is fantastic as you can see by my 4 stars above.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 22nd, 2009
BEST eye doctor around!
Wait time
15 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been seeing Dr. Bell for about 5 years now. I was getting headaches and was told I had 20/20 vision by other optometrists. After going to all kinds of other doctors, Dr. Bell was recommended to me. He took the time to do my eye test manually instead of leaving it to the computer. Turns out I did have 20/20 vision, but, as he explained it, my focusing muscle worked too hard to get it, thus straining my eyes and giving me a headache. He took the time to figure this out!!! He gave me a very subtle prescription, and it solved my problem!!! Not only is he thorough, but extremely nice and caring. Every time I see him he asks how my family is doing, etc. Just a genuine guy. I have since moved and will still drive 2 hours to see him every year.

3.0 of 5
December 9th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 7th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
December 10th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 25th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Bill Bell, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Carlsbad, CA.