ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Bob Shafa Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Bob Shafa?

Parkinson’s Disease

Get the facts about Parkinson’s disease, including symptoms and how the disease progresses over time.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Bob Shafa?

Ratings and Reviews

147 Ratings with 36 Comments

  • Excellent
    50
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    88
  • Excellent
    50
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    88

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
46.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 147 Ratings with 36 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 21st, 2017

His an angel that save my son's life . Truly a kind human being .Highly recommendable ,and very professional in his work.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 23rd, 2017

HE IS OUR ANGEL

DR Shafa is our angel. He performed the surgery that saved my mom's life. He helped me through a horrific time where I could only rely on the expertise of others to care for my mother. Because of him, my mother is up walking around today, walking in her garden and enjoying life. Thank you for being there for us.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 9th, 2017

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

I had second thoughts going to Dr Shafa for a second opinion because of some of the reviews i read here. But after making the appointment with Rochelle, and meeting Dr Shafa for the first time, I can honestly say that the people that are saying mean things to him are simply put just mean people. Dr Shafa has the best bedside manner,. He is not arrogant like they said, he is quite the opposite. He is very knowledgable about tumor that I have and what is the best thing to do. He did not recommend surgery right away since I just had a baby. The pituitary tumor that i had is now almost gone.Thank you Dr shafa for not cutting me open and just observing it first was the best thing you could've done for me and my family. Thank God, I didn't listen to the other surgeon that wanted to do surgery on me right away. Thank you so much Dr Shafa!!!!

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 8th, 2017

KIND AND PERSONABLE

Where do I begin with Dr. Shafa, he is the most caring, and amazing Doctor I have ever met. He treats you like family. He is very thorough with every question that you ask him. I don't understand the people that say mean things about him. All I know is that I will recommend him to anybody that needs his expertise. He is the best Neurosurgeon I Know. Whomever is reading this, don't lose heart from the negative things people say, listen to the numerous people he has helped and has had 2nd lives because of him.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 22nd, 2016

Get a second opinion.

Would recommend getting a second opinion. I will not be having my surgery with this surgeon. He grossly misdiagnosed my condition. His staff is nice but I do not have anything positive to say about this doctor, his demeanor, or his opinions/diagnosis. He seems overly confident in himself which is great if you have the knowledge and proper diagnosis to back that up. Not great when you provide a patient with the wrong diagnosis.

Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 19th, 2016

Get a second opinion. This physician gave me an entirely an appropriate diagnosis. I need surgery and he blew it off as no big deal. Thank God I am now at UCLA and he is no longer practicing there.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 17th, 2016

Wife

Overall experience with Dr Shafa was excellent! He is knowledgeable and competent in scary situations when operating on the brain on my 80 year old husband. I like Dr Shafa's reassuring manner.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 12th, 2016

To receive any diagnosis of a brain tumor is horrific, but to have a doctor like Dr. Shafa explain the procedure, prognosis, and recovery helped in calming my fears. His confidence gave me confidence in my full recovery.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 10th, 2016

Very thorough and complete

I believe Dr. Shafa was very thorough and explanation was complete. I was confident in his recommendation for treatment. I will gladly recommend my family and friends to him. Thanks for everything Dr. Shafa

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 15th, 2016

Dr. Shafa preformed brain, skull and neck surgery on my husband last month. It was a complicated surgery and due to Dr. Shafa's expertise as a neurosurgeon, the surgery was a success. Both he and Roselle were kind, caring and accessible to the needs of our entire family, during this difficult time. We were so fortunate to have him as my husbands surgeon.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 9th, 2016

Successful back surgery!

I had horrible sciatica pain for 8 months. I tried Physical therapy, pain killers, etc etc. The only option left was surgery. Thank God I got a 2nd opinion from Dr. Shafa, who reviewed my MRI with me in detail on a big screen, which was extremely educational and made me clearly realize I had arthritic bone blocking my nerve channel at L5/S1. The previous surgeon I met with didn't show me anything and his diagnosis was to remove my L4/L5 disc! Instead, Dr. Shafa was able to shave off the arthritic bone at L5/S1 and my sciatica pain was gone right after the operation! It took about 6-8 weeks to recover from surgery (normal recovery time), and now I have my life back and I'm off pain killers!! Yay! Thank you so much, Dr. Shafa! And I can't emphasize enough how important a 2nd opinion is when you're considering surgery!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 8th, 2016

FAMILY

Dr Shafa treats his patients like family. We are so blessed to have him around.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Bob Shafa is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Los Angeles, CA.

  • Dr. Catherine Le

    Neurological Surgery, Neurology

    Los Angeles, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    9
  • Dr. Philip Cogen

    Psychiatry, Neurology, Neurological Surgery

    Los Angeles, CA 0 mi

    4.7
    (9)
    36
  • Dr. Satoshi Tateshima

    Dr. Satoshi Tateshima

    Neurological Surgery, Diagnostic Radiology, Neuroradiology

    Los Angeles, CA 0 mi

    4.5
    (14)