Dr. Brenda Izen MD Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Glencoe, MO

Overall Rating

3.2
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (+ 1.3)

19 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    32%
  • Great
    11%
  • Good
    11%
  • Poor
    26%
  • Bad
    21%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 40.4 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.3 of 5
March 1st, 2013
Nice, but......
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Izen has been my doctor since I moved here 12 years ago, but I haven't been able to see her for the last 2 years. She always took the time to answer my questions and address any and all concerns I had. I always felt comfortable with her. Unfortunately due to her own medical problems she has been unable to perform well-woman exams. I have been seeing the NP, but would prefer Dr. Izen. She is no longer as accessible as before (even by phone) and her practice, unfortunately, has gone downhill.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 29th, 2012
Worst Office Ever.
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The physician wasn't so bad, although I rarely got to actually see her when I was a patient there. The wait time was extremely long every single visit. On my last visit I went to see the PA for a med refill, who then asked me how I was feeling. I said I was concerned that I was gaining a bit too much weight, being that it was after the holidays. She calculated my BMI and said verbatim "Well, there's a word for people like you." Then she proceeded to write down a word on a piece of paper and slid it across the table to me. The word was OBESE. Not kidding. Then she went on trying to sell me some weight loss sytem. I was so shocked that I left the office in tears. When I tried to speak with Dr. Izen about the matter, she never called me back and sent a letter saying that I needed to find another doctor. I put a review on Google right after it happened (about two years ago) and just saw it had been removed. In short, don't go here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
November 11th, 2011
Office staff rude
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Office staff very rude !
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 9th, 2011
Good Doctor, Terrible Staff
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Izen herself is kind, but she's off work more than she's in the office. Setting up an appointment with her is a challenge. Her staff is rude. The wait time is TERRIBLE.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
June 1st, 2011
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Rarely saw Dr. Izen, normally was seen by PA. The wait at the office was normally excessive 45 min or more. I was not able to talk to Izen about a problem on scripts that still had a 90 day refill on meds; her staff said I had to come in for a med check 1st. How can a blood work and med level check be done if you have no meds? This resulted in her sending us a letter stating that she could no longer meet our medical needs. This was probably a good thing since I drove 30 miles to her office and ended up waiting too long. Maybe if others question her practice her remaining patience wont have to wait so long to be treated.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
January 26th, 2011
Mixed
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Overall when I get to see Dr. Izen I like her and find that she takes her time and is able to solve my issue, however its rare I get to see Dr. Izen. I almost always get the PA Lois. Lois is okay, but she is not a Dr. Wait times can be obscene sometimes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 18th, 2011
Great Doctor
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient for about 18 years and have a lot of great things to say. Sure the wait time could be cut short but it's not like Dr. Izen to be less than thorough with her patients. To be thorough takes time. She has always been great with me and so has her staff. I would recommend her.

2.3 of 5
December 1st, 2010
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Have been a patient for years but find the wait time unacceptable. Last visit I waited over an hour, most visits average at least 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
November 18th, 2010
Long waits terrible receptionist
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
While I think Dr Izen and her PA are great - especially Lois the PA - dealing with the receptionist is a terrible experience. Each visit I have waited well over an hour to see anyone - on the last visit after waiting 1/2 hour - I asked if maybe they had forgotten about me - to a rude response by the receptionist and then hearing two other patients had been there (and ahead of me) for over an hour and a half. No matter how much I like them - I don't have that kind of time and certainly am not inclined to wait and be insulted in the same visit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 22nd, 2010
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
excellent doctor
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 16th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 9th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Brenda Izen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Glencoe, MO.