The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Brett Ruffo Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Brett Ruffo?

Crohn's Disease

Crohn's Disease

Get the facts about Crohn’s Disease, including how it affects the body, the symptoms it causes, and complications that may arise.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Brett Ruffo?

Ratings and Reviews

33 Ratings with 13 Comments

  • Excellent
    22
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    22
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
28.6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 33 Ratings with 13 Comments

5.0 Rating

June 14th, 2017

colon diagnosis

patient, caring and extremely knowledgable.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 15th, 2016

I can't say enough good things about Dr. Ruffo. I had a complex (posterior) rectal fistula. Due to the complexity of my problem, I decided to seek a second opinion which I got from the chief of colorectal surgery at a large NYC hospital. That surgeon suggested a drastically more invasive procedure and to say the least, was not encouraging. I had a less invasive procedure with Dr. Ruffo with an excellent outcome. I am so grateful for his care and expertise.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 22nd, 2015

The Best Doctor, took time to explain everything in detail . Feel much better after speaking with him. Friendly staff. Highly recommended .

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 27th, 2015

He is the kindness, caring Dr I have ever been to

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 3rd, 2015

I had a very positive visit with Dr Ruffo. He was very pleasant to talk to and very informative and thorough with his exam. I had alot anxiety when I went there but he seemed to ease my anxiety while there. He solved my problem and would highly recommend him.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 2nd, 2014

Make sure that you have lots of spare time.

Referred to Dr. Ruffo by my primary care doctor. Showed up on time for my first appointment and was told he was delayed at the hospital and I should reschedule (it happens). Made a second appointment and waited 1 1/2 hours before he saw me. Appeared to be very knowledgeable, but didn't share much information with me. Scheduled a follow-up visit and waited 2 hours before I walked out. Doesn't seem to feel that your time is worth anything. Looking for another doctor... Promptness should show "no stars".

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 30th, 2013

Bad Experience

Repeated problems with scheduling appointments. I was sent to the wrong location for a very specific type of MRI that I had to fast and prepare for. I finished weeks of very difficult testing and was supposed to have a follow up appointment. I called the office to check on the date and found that no appointment was made. The next available date was one month a way. I made that appointment. Showed up on time fore the appointment and was told that I was not scheduled on that day or any other day. Throughout this time I am experiencing severe pelvic pain. I called and asked to speak to the doctor but he never returned my call.

Wait time
5 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 29th, 2012

The Aloha spirit in NY

What a wonderful person; an excellent doctor. Dr. Ruffo takes the time with each patient; at a ccktail party he and my mom's primary care physician were discussing my mom's case and came up with a plan of care. Where else does this happen?

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 2nd, 2012

GREAT DOCTOR

Dr. took the time to assure me and take the edge off my anxiety about having to get anal surgery. Great bedside manner. Office is very clean and professionally run. Just had my surgery yesterday and so far so good!

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 28th, 2012

saved my life

he was very thorough in his explanation of everything he was going to do and what could happen.I was in the best of hands.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 8th, 2012

Dr Ruffo is a rare breed. There should be more doctors like him.. Very compassionate and caring about his work - and dedicated - you will not find a more dedicated dr to his field of colon and rectal surgery

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 3rd, 2011

saved my life

dr. ruffo saved my life.The 2 surgerys were life changing for me.Because of his personality he put my mind at ease.He is very easy to talk to.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Brett Ruffo is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Riverhead, NY.

  • Dr. David Rivadeneira

    Dr. David Rivadeneira

    Surgical Oncology, General Surgery, Colon and Rectal Surgery

    Riverhead, NY 2.86 mi

    4.4
    (128)
    21
  • Dr. Steven Ouzounian

    Dr. Steven Ouzounian

    General Surgery, Vascular Surgery, Colon and Rectal Surgery

    Hampton Bays, NY 8.53 mi

    4.4
    (17)
    19
  • Dr. Jessica Schnur

    General Surgery, Colon and Rectal Surgery

    Hampton Bays, NY 8.53 mi

    9