The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Brian Edkin Is this you?

Filter Reviews

13 Ratings • 4 Comments

4.3
  • 9
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
5 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Brian Edkin?

Showing 12 of 13 Ratings

THE VERY BEST

Posted on November 13th, 2017

Both Dr. Edkin and his entire staff were exceptional. I felt that they really cared for me and my rehab. Everyone at his office and the hospital were very nice.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Three Stars

Posted on March 17th, 2015

Exceptional bed side manner, clearly understands the importance of answering all questions and communicating with patient. Same day follow up after surgery and corrected major issues in leg that were the result of a major motor vehicle accident. Not your average surgeon. Truly cares about results.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on February 9th, 2013

Dr. Edkin performed 2 hip implants on my wife using the (Recalled) DePuy ASR implants. He did such a poor job on both that my wife never recovered from crippling pain, then he informed her that both of her implants had been recalled due to a high failure rate and poisoning from chromium and cobalt. He offered no apology, no remedy, and no advice. As soon as he felt she became a liability to his practice he basically dropped her. It took him 8 months after informing her of the implant recall and that she could be in danger of chromium and cobalt poisoning, to do a blood test for metal levels in her blood, and he found her metal levels were elevated. She has had these implants in her body for over 2 years. Aside from a test for infection he ran because of her constant crippling pain he basically told her “just give it time” appointment after appointment. He never did the appropriate testing to discover her true condition. So we knew we had to find another specialist and we did. They immediately ordered MRI, Bone Scan and Hip aspirations to determine her true condition, after which they replaced both implants correcting Dr. Edkin’s work. They found and removed significant damage of her soft tissue from chromium and cobalt ions. If we had continued to trust Dr. Edkin that damage would have only been getting worse, and who knows how long he would have let it go?

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Should have done this sooner!

Posted on January 6th, 2012

I was referred to Dr. Edkin by a rep who sells the actual hip replacement parts. These guys work in the OR with many doctors so they have experience with all the docs in the area. If he were to have his hip replaced, he said Dr. Edkin was the only guy he'd go to. Also, the hip he installed was better looking(?) hardware than the ceramic/plastic parts offered by several other guys. I was in & out of the hospital in under 48 hrs and it healed without any issues. I've been pain-free and problem-free going on 5 years. I'm 55 and still do karate, play tennis and ski black diamond runs.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 18th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on September 25th, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on April 8th, 2015

Four Stars

Posted on November 24th, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on September 11th, 2014

Four Stars

Posted on September 6th, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on September 3rd, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on August 15th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Brian Edkin is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Knoxville, TN.