Dr. Brian Pien MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

1.9
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

2.3 (+ 0.4)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    11%
  • Satisfied
    16%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    74%
  • Wait Time 44.2 minutes
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
April 14th, 2016
THE LONGEST WAIT EVER.....!!
Wait time
56 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
TWO HOURS or more is how long you will have to wait in the waiting area to see him! If you don't care and decide to go anyways, you better bring food, drinks, and something to do.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 29th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Horrible doctor - especially for elderly patients. For some reason, Straub refers all infectious disease patients to Dr. Pien. The wait time is long, even if you have the first appointment. Being rude and impatient is tolerable if the doctor is good, but he is not.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 15th, 2015
rating
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very good dr
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 26th, 2014
FORGET THIS DOCTOR!!!
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Waited close to 2 hours for less than 5 minutes of his time. Both Dr. Brian Pien and his wife (who the staff are terrified of) should find another calling in life. No wonder the staff constantly changes every time I visit. By the way, this doctor has no people skills. His face is buried in the laptop he types on.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 13th, 2014
NOT THE DOCTOR YOU'D WANT!
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After having to wait over an hour and thirty minutes, this doctor made no apologies to me; he made only a comment that because his dad is retiring, he's having to cover for his dad. And yet they're still continuing to accept new patients. After waiting for over an hour, they call you in to only take your vitals (i.e. blood pressure, temperature,...) then send you back out in the waiting area where all the seats are taken and now patients have to wait outside in the hallway. Finally got to see the doc after 40 more minutes of waiting. When I mentioned the chaos going on with patients waiting, I was rudely reprimanded and told to go see another doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 14th, 2014
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
HORRIBLE DOCTOR...NOTHING LIKE THE FATHER!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
May 29th, 2014
Professional, businesslike, not touchy-feely
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very professional, not a hand-holder, gets the job done.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 12th, 2014
It just may not be his calling
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Fortunately I was under the care of Dr. Brian Pien for just a few days as he covered for my DR. due to an emergency. He left me frightened and very anxious about being under his care. He appeared not to be aware of my case; overwhelmed and disinterested. When you're ill, a good part of healing is having faith in your doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 30th, 2013
A Nightmare
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My son was in the hospital for eight days, his body is sepsis. Dr. Pien's treatment, during this time, was to continuously bombard him with a spectrum of anti-biotics, even though NO BACTERIA ever showed up in any of his daily blood draws. Unsurprisingly, Dr. Pien did not correctly diagnose my son. Seven days after my son was released from the hospital, my son had a heart attack. The infection was, obviously, viral and could have been treated simply with gamma globulin and baby aspirin. Instead, my son's heart has been irreparably damaged. Dr. Pien is bereft of the skills necessary to good doctoring, the art of healing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 18th, 2013
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr. Pien while I was in the hospital. The wait time at his office ranged from 45 minutes to 2+ hours. At times there were so many people in the waiting room that I had to stand outside the office. Dr. Pien may be very smart but he does NOT have good communication skills and manners. He seems arrogant and does not want to take the time to explain things simply and with empathy. This is not a doctor I would have chosen for myself.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 10th, 2013
TERRIBLE
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My friend was in the ICU for over a week, I was his emergency contact. Multiple organ failure, fully intubated, loaded with anti virals, anti fungals, anti biotics. When he finally woke up and started to improve it remained a mystery as to what had afflicted him. The nurse said his white blood cell counts should be steadily going down and they were stilll going up and down, she said this was a great concern. When we met with Dr. Brian Pien I asked about this and he basically responded as if it were the absolute stupidest question ever. Very defensive. I have never had anyone of any profession respond in such an unprofessional manner. I wouldn't want this guy near anyone I care about. Really shameful knowing he's a third generation doctor and his predecessors are well respected.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 24th, 2012
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
patients have to wait for hours, why would they schedule so many patients and make them wait?? Employees are treated with disrespect in front of patients!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Brian Pien, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Honolulu, HI.

Doctor

Dr. Carl Yorita

44 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Wesley Wakai

28 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. James Love

38 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor