Dr. Brian Ragel MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery Vancouver, WA

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.3)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    58%
  • Satisfied
    13%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    29%
  • Wait Time 17.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

4.0 of 5
August 9th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Let's his np do all of the preop and postop appts.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 19th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband went to Dr Ragel for a second opinion. The doctor pretty much blew my husband off. We wanted to know what he thought about what another doctor recommended as far as another surgery for a cervical neck fusion. He at one point, smiled and said u probably have a slow growing tumor & headaches do not come from u r neck. We would not recommend this doctor to anyone. We both left dumb founded as to what just happened.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 21st, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had this Dr. After surgery he quit, and left me hanging. He didnt finish the Job, I have more pain after he got done with me. Ive been hanging for 7 months to find a new Dr. The work he did fix some things But made other things worst. He left OHSU in a big rush, What happend to you. I now have a problem with trusting a new Dr. Thanks for NOTHING DR Ragel
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 17th, 2014
Really helped me at a difficult time
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ragel offered me surgery and it went very well. I recovers quickly and my back pain is gone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 15th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ragel is a kind, loving doctor who cares about the WHOLE patient. I fell 3years ago and experienced a compound fracture to my L2....it has been a long road. Two years ago Dr. Ragel did a Kyphoplasty and it did help to relieve some of my pain. He has continued to follow and treat my back issues and for that I am eternally grateful. I can't imagine entrusting my spine care to anyone else!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 13th, 2013
Took great care of my dad
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My dad was in a terrible car accident a few weeks ago. Dr. Ragel and the entire OHSU team helped him recover from a bad back fracture. I can't thank then enough.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 13th, 2013
Exceptional
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ragel and OHSU were fantastic. He is a really nice guy and obviously very smart. My back has never felt better. In and out of the hospital after a major back fusion in 3 days.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 12th, 2013
Outstanding
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ragel is thoughtful and courteous. He saw me everyday in the hospital after my back. My back pain ad leg pain are gone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 12th, 2011
Saved my mother's ability to walk
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Ragel did emergency back surgery on my mother at OHSU. She was referred to him by the nuerosurgeons at Good Sam due to the difficulty of the procedure. Her spine was ready to collapse due to a tumor. He and his staff kept in contact with me during and after surgery. Although the hospital was fairly disorganized, Dr. Ragel and his immediate staff were great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 16th, 2011
Excellent.
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Seen for arm pain. I liked that he did not recommend surgery up front, but encouraged that I try a few other things first. Ultimately, he operated on my neck and my arm has never felt better!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 12th, 2010
Consistant with the poor quality of Dr's at OHSU
Wait time
15 minutes
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
OHSU has been bringing in sub-standard doctors because of financial problems and Dr. Ragel is a perfect example. He is un-educated in any kind of complicated brain and spinal problem. Most of his experience is as an army surgeon and what he has learned in seminars. He cannot accurately read an MRI and I was surprised that he was so dismissive when I pointed out what he missed. (verified by another surgeon and radiologist. I went to him for a second opinion and it was a big waste of time. Too cocky and arrogant for his obviously limited knowledge. I wouldn't recommend him to my worst enemy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Brian Ragel, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Vancouver, WA.

Doctor

Dr. Norman Rokosz

23 years experience

4.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. George Shanno

22 years experience

4.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Ashok Modha

19 years experience

4.2 of 5