The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Bruce Birk Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Bruce Birk?

Asthma

More than 22 million Americans of all ages have asthma. Prepare to talk to your doctor about symptoms, diagnosis and treatment options.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Bruce Birk?

Ratings and Reviews

11 Ratings with 6 Comments

  • Excellent
    8
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    2
  • Excellent
    8
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
7.5 min
Appropriate Followup

Showing 11 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

September 24th, 2015

Very approachable and genuine doctor.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 17th, 2014

Excellent Doctor.

Dr. Birk is wonderful. The billing clerk, however, was rude with poor communication skills.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

September 3rd, 2013

Meh

He's very knowledgeable and gives much free parenting advice but he is condescending, defensive, cocky, and rude.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 15th, 2011

My 2 sons have been seeing Dr. Birk for 9 years now. One started with him as a pre-schooler and the other was in 7th grade. He adjusts to their level --- friendly probes about activities, diet and encouraging as he often explains about health... I especially appreciate his frank talk with them about smoking, drugs/alcohol, sex.... the part I heard (eventually they're on their own in there!) didn't come across as a lecture, but straightforward and accepting of the realities a teen faces--- and he let them know he's available no matter how awkward a situation may be. It's definitely time for my college-age son to move on, but he still doesn't mind when he's in town to see Dr. Birk occasionally -- among all the babies in the office!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 8th, 2011

Dr. Bruce Birk, bad news

We hand picked Dr. Bruce Birk as our Peds MD. We had a huge mistake in picking him. He is arrogant, rude and unprofessional.I would never recommend anyone to see him. However the other MD's in the clinic are great!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 8th, 2009

Best Pediatrician in Portland

We interviewed many Peds in PDX and felt Dr.Birk was heads above the rest. He was very supportive of us with the many first time parenting questions we had and went out of his way to empower us with good information and education on parenting. He's also really funny and connects with children beautifully.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 12th, 2015

5.0 Rating

October 7th, 2014

5.0 Rating

September 14th, 2014

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

May 12th, 2014

1.0 Rating

November 28th, 2008

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Bruce Birk is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Portland, OR.

  • Dr. James Bluhm

    Pediatrics

    Portland, OR 0 mi

    29
  • Dr. Robert Mendelson

    Pediatrics

    Portland, OR 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    54
  • Dr. Yasodha Gopal

    Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Pediatrics

    Portland, OR 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    23