The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Bruce Black Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Bruce Black?

Binge Eating Disorder

Binge Eating Disorder

Get the facts about binge eating disorder, including symptoms, causes and related conditions.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Bruce Black?

Ratings and Reviews

33 Ratings with 8 Comments

  • Excellent
    26
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    1
  • Excellent
    26
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
26.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 33 Ratings with 8 Comments

5.0 Rating

September 5th, 2013

Excellent Patient Rapport

Dr. Black is a "new," family physician, having transitioned from another field in his late twenties to medicine. He is one of the rare doctors that does what he does because he genuinely cares and has a respect for his patients. He is also very open and honest regarding conditions and expectations. While this may rub some the wrong way, as a "practicing," physician, it is important to me that it be a collaborative process. Our first meeting was comprised of a routine physical with a subsequent ACTUAL CONVERSATION. As in, "Tell me about yourself and your health." I have never had that opportunity with any of my family doctors in the past. It is also worth noting that he is the only physician I've encountered that calls to give laboratory and test results over the telephone. As in, him, personally, and not a recording or a member of his staff. My only pause in recommending this doctor is that he is a member of the Baptist System. With that comes and process and politics associated with an organization of this size; some of his staff and workflows reflect that to a degree. But, it is well worth it to have a relationship with such a premier caregiver.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 3rd, 2012

My experience has been a comedy of errors -- or it would be a comedy if it didn't involve my health. I finally took my symptoms to a REAL doctor (with a REAL professional staff) who has now run the proper tests and made the proper referrals and I am on my way toward a diagnosis -- not "I have no idea what this is." Period. No offer to try to figure it out or do tests, or send me to specialists who could figure it out. Also, apparently poor communication between him and his staff. Don't use this "doctor."

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 20th, 2012

Dr Black is a great physician. He has moved to Main Street Family Medical Clini at 2173 Main Street in Madison

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 23rd, 2012

genuinely interested in his patients

I had a question for him about a problem I was having. He was honest enough to say he wasn't sure, but would do some research on the topic. He called back that night and gave me the results of his research and the options that were available for treatment. Also gave me results of my blood work from the visit. very thorough and caring. Not your typical Dr. ego.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 2nd, 2011

Very professional,thoughtful and courteous. He asks open ended questions that allow you o tell him whats wrong. He never interrupts when you are talking and he takes good notes. Appears to be truly vested in his patients, and personally follows up to what he says he will do. Represents his profession well.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 22nd, 2011

Dr. Black is a wonderful caring person.

I have never met a doctor like Dr. Black.He makes you feel like you're the only patient in the world when he is talking to you. I have never doubted his opinion when it comes to my health and the treatment that he suggests. Other people has to feel the same way due to the wait to see him....

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

July 20th, 2010

seems interested in me

Some doctors only want to discuss only what is on the nurses notes. Dr. Black will discuss any problem you may have neglected to tell the nurse about. He always calls me back personally with results of blood work. As far as I know he is a good M.D. and seems like a good person.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

May 14th, 2010

Quick to give pills and send you on your way. Difficulty getting referals through in a timely manner. Good Doctor overall but there seems to be some inefficiencies from the front office.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 23rd, 2016

Wait time
15 minutes

3.0 Rating

November 21st, 2016

3.0 Rating

November 21st, 2016

5.0 Rating

October 19th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Bruce Black is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Madison, MS.

  • Dr. Cynthia Garrett

    Family Medicine

    Madison, MS 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    8
  • Dr. Timothy Chen

    Dr. Timothy Chen

    Family Medicine

    Madison, MS 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    3
  • Dr. Lewis Johnston

    Dr. Lewis Johnston

    Family Medicine

    Madison, MS 0.01 mi

    4.9
    (9)
    22