Dr. Bruce Hughes MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurology Des Moines, IA

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 43 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

3.2 (-0.9)

43 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    67%
  • Great
    7%
  • Good
    5%
  • Poor
    7%
  • Bad
    14%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 12.8 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
May 21st, 2017
Patient with MS
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr. Hughes since 2008. It took me awhile to find an MS doctor that really believed all my symptoms and didn't tell me to just "Get over it" . He listened! He validated my symptoms and concerns. He took time with me and gave me options. Even suggested trying to get into a research study. I have a second chance at living a decent and good life because of him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 10th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
.One of my best Dr,. experiences
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 28th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Hughes had great information and provided hope.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 27th, 2015
mr.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Time spent with patient is 10 min at best. Dr or nurses don't return calls the same day. Sometimes it's many days before you hear anything. I advise requesting your dictation from Dr hughes. I've noticed he claims to spend more time with patient than he really does. Also, he claims he discussed topics that never took place and adds negative statements that are unnecessary. I would never recommend him to anyone. He's very full of himself.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 21st, 2014
Full Trust in Dr. Hughes
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have full trust in Dr. Hughes. I can't say that about most doctors I have seen. My general practitioner told me she has sent patients to Mayo who in return sent them to Dr. Hughes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 10th, 2013
Satisifed Patient
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
9 years ago I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis and started seeing Dr Hughes 5 years ago when I moved to the Des Moines Area. He is the best neurologist I have seen over the years and I have been so happy with his treatment method. He takes the time to explain how the disease works and is very honest with how I am doing with the symptoms and progression of the disease. He is very knowledgable on the treatments and always leaves me feeling like we've made the best decision for me when I leave there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
April 20th, 2013
No concern for his patients
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My wife is having a terrible time with her hand shaking. She has called every day for the last week to see about getting some medicine to help. She never gets to talk to the doctor and just gets his nurse which never returns her call. She called her general doctor to have him request some assistance and he contacted Dr Hughes who told him she did not need any medication. My wife still suffers and has a terrible time trying to eat and drink. Dr Hughes knows his information and gets too involved in speaking engagements that he forgets that his patients are his first priority.

5.0 of 5
March 22nd, 2013
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My son see Dr. Hughes for his seizures. He is always willing to listen to my concerns and come up with the best solution possible for my son. I never feel rushed, always get all my questions answered and feel he values my opinion and my son's quality of life. We are lucky to have such a great doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 17th, 2011
DR.'S NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS VEFORE & GIVES UP
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
DR SAW PT BECAUSE PT IS FAINTING FOR NO REASON. GAVE MRI RESULTS. WHILE EXAMINING PT. FAINTED. HE YELLED AT PT "WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS?" HE STATED THAT HE "HAD NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS BEFORE" AND LEFT IT AT THAT, DID NOT ORDER EEG, DID NOT PURSUE ANY OTHER POSSIBLITIES. USED MINOR PRIOR TREATMENT FOR DEPRESSION AS EXCUSE FOR WHAT WAS HAPPENING.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 7th, 2011
Dr Hughes..
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is an awesome doctor who genuinely cares about his patients and their quality of life. The staff at his office suck. They want to argue about scheduling appointments and become confrontational. Also the nurses there like to give expert medical advice of that of a doctor and to me its not professional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 6th, 2010
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
We are lucky to have Dr. Hughes in the Des Moines area. He is very caring and takes the time to listen to and educate his patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 10th, 2010
Best in Des Moines
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hughes spends a lot of time with patients and is open to discussions and considerations of experimental and alternative treatments. His "bedside manner" is excellent. He is very conversant regarding clinical trials.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Bruce Hughes, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Des Moines, IA.