The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Bruce Hughes Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Bruce Hughes?

Bipolar Disorder

Get the facts about bipolar disorder, including the different types and symptoms of each.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Bruce Hughes?

Ratings and Reviews

44 Ratings with 14 Comments

  • Excellent
    30
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    30
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
12.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 44 Ratings with 14 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 21st, 2017

Patient with MS

I have been seeing Dr. Hughes since 2008. It took me awhile to find an MS doctor that really believed all my symptoms and didn't tell me to just "Get over it" . He listened! He validated my symptoms and concerns. He took time with me and gave me options. Even suggested trying to get into a research study. I have a second chance at living a decent and good life because of him.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 10th, 2016

.One of my best Dr,. experiences

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 28th, 2015

Dr Hughes had great information and provided hope.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 27th, 2015

mr.

Time spent with patient is 10 min at best. Dr or nurses don't return calls the same day. Sometimes it's many days before you hear anything. I advise requesting your dictation from Dr hughes. I've noticed he claims to spend more time with patient than he really does. Also, he claims he discussed topics that never took place and adds negative statements that are unnecessary. I would never recommend him to anyone. He's very full of himself.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 21st, 2014

Full Trust in Dr. Hughes

I have full trust in Dr. Hughes. I can't say that about most doctors I have seen. My general practitioner told me she has sent patients to Mayo who in return sent them to Dr. Hughes.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 10th, 2013

Satisifed Patient

9 years ago I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis and started seeing Dr Hughes 5 years ago when I moved to the Des Moines Area. He is the best neurologist I have seen over the years and I have been so happy with his treatment method. He takes the time to explain how the disease works and is very honest with how I am doing with the symptoms and progression of the disease. He is very knowledgable on the treatments and always leaves me feeling like we've made the best decision for me when I leave there.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

April 20th, 2013

No concern for his patients

My wife is having a terrible time with her hand shaking. She has called every day for the last week to see about getting some medicine to help. She never gets to talk to the doctor and just gets his nurse which never returns her call. She called her general doctor to have him request some assistance and he contacted Dr Hughes who told him she did not need any medication. My wife still suffers and has a terrible time trying to eat and drink. Dr Hughes knows his information and gets too involved in speaking engagements that he forgets that his patients are his first priority.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 22nd, 2013

My son see Dr. Hughes for his seizures. He is always willing to listen to my concerns and come up with the best solution possible for my son. I never feel rushed, always get all my questions answered and feel he values my opinion and my son's quality of life. We are lucky to have such a great doctor.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 17th, 2011

DR.'S NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS VEFORE & GIVES UP

DR SAW PT BECAUSE PT IS FAINTING FOR NO REASON. GAVE MRI RESULTS. WHILE EXAMINING PT. FAINTED. HE YELLED AT PT "WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS?" HE STATED THAT HE "HAD NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS BEFORE" AND LEFT IT AT THAT, DID NOT ORDER EEG, DID NOT PURSUE ANY OTHER POSSIBLITIES. USED MINOR PRIOR TREATMENT FOR DEPRESSION AS EXCUSE FOR WHAT WAS HAPPENING.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 7th, 2011

Dr Hughes..

He is an awesome doctor who genuinely cares about his patients and their quality of life. The staff at his office suck. They want to argue about scheduling appointments and become confrontational. Also the nurses there like to give expert medical advice of that of a doctor and to me its not professional.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 6th, 2010

We are lucky to have Dr. Hughes in the Des Moines area. He is very caring and takes the time to listen to and educate his patients.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 10th, 2010

Best in Des Moines

Dr. Hughes spends a lot of time with patients and is open to discussions and considerations of experimental and alternative treatments. His "bedside manner" is excellent. He is very conversant regarding clinical trials.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Bruce Hughes is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Des Moines, IA.

  • Dr. Michael Jacoby

    Neurology, Psychiatry

    Des Moines, IA 0 mi

    3.2
    (22)
    27
  • Dr. Joyce Vista Wayne

    Dr. Joyce Vista Wayne

    Adolescent Medicine, Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    Des Moines, IA 0 mi

    4.8
    (5)
    33
  • Dr. Jerome Greenfield

    Dr. Jerome Greenfield

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Des Moines, IA 0 mi

    4.8
    (25)
    31