Dr. Bruce Mayerson MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurology Smithtown, NY

Overall Rating

3.1
  • 40 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (+ 0.7)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    33%
  • Satisfied
    15%
  • Neutral
    10%
  • Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    33%
  • Wait Time 30.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
March 28th, 2017
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
They never answer the phone when you call, even if you call them right back, they wait until the next day to return your call, despite the fact that the office is full of staff workers. Extremely frustrating dealing with that. Had 11:00 appt. waited an hour. When doctor was finished, he sat at his computer and just muttered, "You're done," never even looking up. After sitting stunned at this dismissal for a second, once again says, "You're done," and he just keeps sitting at the computer. Wow, nice bedside manner. Would not choose to go to this place again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 19th, 2016
Knowledgeable, maybe but $$ more important
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
It took months to get an appointment then it took weeks to schedule tests he needed. The worst, he handed me a sheet of paper, insisting I take it with me, for a stop smoking program in spite of the fact that I am a non-smoker, and billed Medicare $350 for his "help" to assist a non-smoker quit. That's fraud! We all pay for that behavior in our taxes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 13th, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mayerson was personable at my office visit. His office staff was fine. What was not good was the follow up. In order to contact the doctor or to make an appt. you have to leave a message and they will get back to you in twenty four hours, they don't!! Finally a week and a half after an MRA Dr. M. called and told me among other things to make an appt. with his secretary to come in and discuss my "case." So I went through the message again; twenty four hours no response so I just left a message that I will go back to my internist to to have my records sent. I'm still waiting for that reply.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 8th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mayerson spent a lot of time with me, explaining and answering my questions. I found a Doctor and I wished that I had found him sooner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 21st, 2013
I have never ever seen an office so full of rude women. They are so cold and practically hang up on you if you take more than a minute of their time. Can't promise to fax reports to you because they don't know when they will get around to it. Dr mayerson says my dad has water on the brain but offers nothing else. Says he has to see my dad again with the MRI film so he could determine this and the office tells me sometime in October. Its August! I explain my father is falling and they say maybe they will get a cancellation. They should get a lot of cancellations.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 13th, 2013
Office staff an issue
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Called numerous times this week to get test results faxed. Office staff seems in a rush to get off the phone and it seems they just 'yes' you to hand up. Still waiting for tests. I'll try for the third time on the phone and next I'll have to drive there and stand in the office to get what I need. Completely unacceptable and unprofessional. Dr. Mayerson is great and happy with his treatment but don't think I'll continue to see him due to issues with staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
January 25th, 2012
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 22nd, 2011
Terrible Experience. Doctor does not care.
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor just doesn't care. Very poor patient care. Doctor did not follow up as promised, cancelled an appointment at the last minute and never bothered to reschedule. The office staff is unprofessional and uncaring. After calling once a week to get test results and never getting a call back because as the person who answered the phone said each time I called "There are only three people here, we are very busy."
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 27th, 2011
Just Doesn't Care
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very poor patient care. Doctor did not follow up as promised, cancelled an appointment at the last minute and never bothered to reschedule. The office staff is unprofessional and uncaring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 29th, 2011
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Brilliant doctor and caring. I would highly recommended him to anyone
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 15th, 2011
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This is by far the worst experience I've ever had in any doctors office. Between the horrible office and waiting for an hour to see a doctor with the worst bed side manner I've ever experienced. Like he's doing you a service for free and just can't be bothered!.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 16th, 2010
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
seemed to just want to get on to the next patient. Was not very friendly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Bruce Mayerson, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Smithtown, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Richard Pearl

49 years experience

3.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Schenley Que

29 years experience

3.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Mathew Chacko

42 years experience

2.8 of 5