Dr. Cara Ferguson MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.6
  • 28 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

3.2 (-0.4)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    46%
  • Satisfied
    21%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    18%
  • Wait Time 29.4 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 30th, 2016
Very Pleased
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Once you are an established patient there is no problem getting an appointment. The only thing that I do not care for is the wait time however she is a great Dr and worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 3rd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A great person and DR.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 14th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I like Dr. Ferguson so much that I now live 3.5 hrs. away and still go to Dr. Ferguson she checks everything. She cares for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 10th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Left Dr Ferguson's office feeling like a patient and not a number. She spent time with me and did a thorough examination. Would recommend her to my dearest friends and family.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 24th, 2014
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This is a very expensive practice! An appointment....then lab work...then another appointment to discuss lab work when each time it was completely normal! 3 separate charges billed to my insurance company. Lab work every six months for no reason when previous labs were completely normal. Dr. Ferguson puts too many decisions in the patient's hands instead of offering advice on what she feels is in the patient's best interest. I have a new physician now that does routine lab work once a year and calls with the results instead of billing me for an unnecessary appointment. I owe Dr. Ferguson an exorbitant amount of money beyond my insurance and I have excellent coverage. I never should have let this practice demand so many follow up appointments. On one occasion I called for a refill on a medication Dr. Ferguson had given me with only a months supply,,,when I called for a refill I was told I would have to make an appointment! I stated that I was just there a month ago but I was told...."I am sorry...you will have to make an appointment". I did because I needed the medication and they knew that! That was my LAST appointment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 8th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been a patient of Dr Ferguson's for a couple of years. I immediately had trouble with staff. They wouldn't let me make my own referrals as I have always done. And all the follow up appts they required. The office manager said to me that I should think I would be happy that the dr has that kind of interest and also suggested that I may be happier going to another Dr!! I was dumbfounded! When I would call the office with a problem it was like trying to break out of jail to get to her!! And they would drill me like the gestapo!! I resent being treated like this. THEY are not the Dr! I also had trouble with the billing woman. Keeping in mind I have never had to pay anything but co pay all my life. I worked for an excellent company. When I got hit with a bill that was not normal I called my insurance and they called the billing woman with me on the phone..When she couldn't explain the bill to me so that I could understand she said to me...I've wasted enough time on you and these phone calls!! I still don't understand their billing!! But I stayed because I liked Dr Ferguson very much. She is attentive and listens and has gotten me thru a couple of bad times. She does talk fast and I have to ask her to slow down lol but she is very thorough! I also like the nursing staff!! It just seems to be the clerical and managerial staff that was the problem. There have been some changes so it's been a little better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
April 1st, 2014
Doctor nice but office staff difficult
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Let me start by saying that Dr. Ferguson was very nice and attentive. Willing to listen and do her best to educate you on different options, etc. all while letting you be actively involved in the decisions on treatment and next steps. The challenging & frustrating part is getting to Dr. Ferguson. Just making an appointment took me three phone calls because the person answering the phone (Fran) couldn't make an appointment and I never received a follow up/return call. Then once I arrived I waited at least 30 minutes before being called back and another 15 minutes in the room. It's frustrating to have to wait so long for a visit that lasts 15-20 minutes at most. If you are looking for a good doctor and have patience to deal with the slowness and difficult staff then this practice will be a good one for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 24th, 2013
Highly Recommend !!!!!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ferguson literally saved my life by ordering the RIGHT tests to diagnose my disease. I casually mentioned some changes I was experiencing recently at an annual exam. She ordered some tests that diagnosed my condition 2 to 4 years before symptoms would have occurred. My disease is so rare that it may have gone undiagnosed if not for Dr. Ferguson's instincts and knowledge. The specialist I needed to see gave me an appointment 2 months into the future and Dr. Ferguson moved it up to 10 days. I highly recommend Dr. Ferguson because she is a great listener. That is what it takes to be successful at everything !!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 16th, 2013
Dr. Ferguson is awesome!!!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Cara Ferguson is absolutely the most professional, knowledgeable, efficient, kind and attentive primary physician I have ever experienced. My husband visited Dr. Ferguson with symptoms of pain in his neck, shoulders and arm, at which time Dr. Ferguson sent him for an X-ray, then an MRI. On the day of the MRI, we were called into her office to discuss the results. Dr. Ferguson explained the radiologist has seen a “spot” and would like to do a second MRI and focus on the brain. The Brain MRI was completed the next morning and Dr. Ferguson called us back in her office the SAME day. Per the Radiologist, the MRI determined there is a “mass” in the brain that most likely would require a biopsy and/or be removed. We chose Duke for this procedure so Dr. Ferguson’s professional and efficient staff contacted Duke immediately and called us the following morning saying Duke would call us the SAME day…they DID (it was from the Intake Doctor). The following day, we received another call from the Intake Doctor informing us that the MRI showed a tumor and it would require removal. Everyone, including my husband and myself, expeditiously provided Duke with all records and information necessary in handling our case. We were informed by Duke that we could expect a call, perhaps today, from the neurosurgeon advising us of the date of surgery. It is our belief that Dr. Ferguson’s immediate response to my husband’s situation (this entire process has taken less than a week including the weekend) and through God’s healing Grace, my husband’s tumor will be successfully surgically removed and we have a positive attitude through Faith in God that he will not need any further treatment. We are most appreciative of Dr. Ferguson and her staff and give praises to our Heavenly Father, the great Physician for guiding us through the difficult time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
January 21st, 2012
Office staff difficult
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor insists that only THEY can do referrals to specialists even if you have a PPO plan. They also insist on follow up visits even if not needed this is just extra billing for their office and less in my pocket. Referrals often take a week or more, even if urgent. Doctor is young, new practice
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 2nd, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
During my 2 visits with DR. Ferguson she has been very thorough in her exam and very clear in her diagnoses and prognoses. I have also found the staff polite and efficient.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 9th, 2011
Too co$tly for me
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was not happy about making an appointment to review blood work which $howed no change from previou$ work up. A phone call would have served the same purpose.This practice is not for average income patient$.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Cara Ferguson, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near North Myrtle Beach, SC.

Doctor

Dr. Elma Whidby

24 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Edward Botse-Baidoo

14 years experience

1.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Ruth Wieland

21 years experience

4.1 of 5