Dr. Carl Calica MD Patient Reviews

  • General Surgery Carmel, NY

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 33 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

4.4 (+ 0.8)

33 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    58%
  • Great
    3%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    6%
  • Bad
    27%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 13.3 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
October 21st, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Awesome Dr and great personality
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 5th, 2013
Emergency surgery
Wait time
5 minutes
Dr Calica's arrogance and lack of humility supercedes any of his clinical skills. He doesn't refer for 2nd opinions even when his surgical choices could effect the quality of life for the patient for the rest of their life. He discharges on a weekend without ANY patient centered discharge plans.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 6th, 2013
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great Doctor, very friendly and answers any questions you have. Informs one of the steps that will be taken beforehand, explains eveything. The outcome of the surgeries are very good; ensures all to the best interest of the patient. Highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 16th, 2012
Bilateral Inguinial Hernia
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a major hernia that didn't rise to the level of an emergency, but I couldn't leave the house. Dr. Calica saw me right away, and I got operated on within days. I was in and out of the hospital in a few hours, and was walking the same day. One month later I'm doing very well. I think he's very professional, an excellent surgeon, and made me feel at ease. I highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
March 5th, 2012
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Found Dr. Calica to be a professional at what he does. Answered all my questions, did not rush me out of his office when I went to see him and explained the entire operation to me before surgery was done.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 16th, 2010
Botched Surgery
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Calica was highly recommended. However he damaged a facial berve and botched the procedure so that it had to be repeated by someone else. He delivered his diagnosis (you have cancer) in a hurried, disinteredted manner and did not have time to ask his office staff to help me contact an oncologist. The other surgeon (Kassel) who repeated the procedure successfully was far better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 11th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 11th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 11th, 2017

5.0 of 5
April 11th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 21st, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 9th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Carl Calica, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Carmel, NY.