Dr. Carl Lauryssen MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

4.3
  • 52 patient ratings
  • 17 comments

Last 12 months:

4.4 (+ 0.1)

17 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    75%
  • Satisfied
    6%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    12%
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Wait Time 27 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 22nd, 2016
Dr. L gave me back a worthwhile life!
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
In Los Angeles, in 2011 and again in 2012, Dr. Lauryssen performed surgery on my spine, including fusion. I can't speak highly enough about how his skill and judgment gave me back a life worth living. Those of you in pain or despair will understand how huge this is. God bless him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 15th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was so fortunate to have Dr. Carl Lauryssen M.D. perform my Spinal Laminectomy surgery at Lakeway. He is six stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 3rd, 2016
Excellence in spinal surgery
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was severely incapacitated by sciatica pain, could not walk or sit. Dr. Lauryssen worked me in and my MRI showed L3-L4 herniation. Having previously been through PT, chiro, acupuncture and all other options, I knew it was time for surgery. He did not once pressure me and mentioned I could seek a second opinion. His credentials were enough for me to know he was the doctor I wanted to do my surgery. Within 2 days, I had the surgery and was pain free. State of the art hospital, incredible service and Dr. Lauryssen is not only a phenomenal surgeon, but he is gentle, compassionate and has zero ego. I will thank this man forever for saving me from debilitating pain.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 3rd, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Initial visit only. Doctor was very knowledgeable ( comparing him to other doctors in his field), professional, and easy to discuss my issues with. I truly believe he does care about the patient. Fortunate to have him in my corner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 23rd, 2015
former patient
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had Dr Carl Larryssen as my Dr. In Missouri before he went to California. He was very polite and took the time to answer all my questions. I would highly recommend him at 100% . I had a C5-C6 disc fusion done and had immediate relief after surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 16th, 2015
bad experience has connections with numerous spine hardware manufacturers
Wait time
56 minutes
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Dr Carl Lauryssen works for several spine manufactures. He denied my spinal surgery through a utilization review company called GENEX. I do not think Dr Lauryssen should be allowed to work for a workers compensation utilization review company making determinations on spinal surgeries that include spinal hardware from a manufacturer he is financially connected. In my case I was having difficulties with spinal hardware that was from a manufacturer he was financially connected and Dr Laryssen denied my hardware removal. This was after I had several doctors approve the removal originally but did not pass surgery clearance and why the request was sent to utilization review. Since my hardware was causing an issue there would be a FDA incident report sent to the FDA and it would have named the manufacturer. By denying my hardware removal this could not happen. Spinal surgeons who have financial ties to implant manufacturers should not be allowed in a position to approve spinal surgeries as it is often known what surgeons are using what type of spinal hardware. This can promote abuse and is a conflict of interest. I complained to GENEX UR company about the conflict of interest situation with Dr Lauryssen and was able to finally get the hardware taken out that was causing me pain. Dr Lauryssens denial did cause delays and further pain for me. I would not recommend a surgeon who works for spine manufacturers as this in my opinion can cause a conflict a of interest. The best doctors are those who are not in the pockets of companies and do surgeries on patients who actually need it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 19th, 2013
Outstanding!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Thank God I was referred to Dr. Lauryssen by a friend who had been his patient in the recent past. His surgery saved me from being consigned to a lifetime in a wheelchair. I had zero pain after surgery. I met a therapist after surgery who also was operated on by him who dubs him her "Doctor Carl Rock Star." I agree with her!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 10th, 2013
Dr. Lauryssen saved my life!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had three very significant back surgeries One with a doctor in Orange County. The last two with Dr. Lauryssen. His diagnosis were spot on. He is a kind and care and physician, you're not just another patient. My first surgery with Dr. Lauryssen was a three level fusion. That lasted many many years. Slowly the pain begin to return. That brought me back for a two-level decompression above the fusion. He literally saved my life. I was able to get off almost all of the pain medication. Now a take an occasional Marco. No more of the big heavy drugs. I would recommend Dr. Lauryssen to anyone including my own family members without hesitation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 30th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I appreciate the time and energy invested in my overall outcome. Dr. Lauryssen and his staff are a standard above the rest. Professionalism in an understatment for his work ethic. I am almost pain free and will forever be grateful to Dr. Lauryssen for his amazing ability to make miracles happen!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 28th, 2011
Outstanding surgeon
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Best spinal doc out there, no question. Getting through to the office and wait time is another matter. Go if you have lots of time on your hands.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 21st, 2011
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'm 37 weeks pregnant & do not have any back issues whatsoever. Dr. Lauryssen should be given a nobel prize. I'm astounded that my back and neck and tailbone area feel like i never had any issues what so ever. Before surgery, i was in extreme pain. Dr. Lauryssen is the best surgeon in the world... I wish i could tell the world. :)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 18th, 2011
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The spinal cord surgery I underwent was mandatry (as most neurosurgeries are) and it scared me. Dr. Lauryssen did an excellent job though. I'm greatful that he was where I needed him, as it is specialty.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Carl Lauryssen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Austin, TX.

Doctor

Dr. Ram Vasudevan

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Patricia Aronin

41 years experience

3.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. William Betts

28 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor