Dr. Carlos Alvarez MD, FACS Patient Reviews

  • General Surgery Doylestown, PA

Overall Rating

4.8
  • 29 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

29 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    93%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    3%
  • Bad
    3%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 13.9 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
November 3rd, 2013
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Happy with this surgeon, very calming and reassuring, pleasant, excellent outcome. Unfortunate his office is sort of a mishmash. Hard to locate, staff (that nurse ??) very messy and unprofessional, the other girl, the two don't get aong and it shows.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 3rd, 2011
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wow what a great doctor! Really knows what he;s doing! And he treats you and your family like he really cares! He has a very calm way and makes you not feel nervous about the whole thing. And he actually spends time and talks to you!! Don't see that much! I would recomend him to anyone who needs a great doctor!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2011
Great bed side manner
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Alvarez made me feel at ease the moment I met him. He was able to diagnose my problem and offer options that worked for me. At the hospital, he comforted me and my family prior to the surgery as well as after.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 1st, 2010
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Alvarez takes the time to make you comfortable with the procedure he is going to perform. He has a great bedside manner. He really seems to care about his patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 4th, 2010
Bi Lateral hernia surgery
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I recommend Dr. Alverez, He was a total professional. He explained my medical condition and told me my options. He also provided his recommendation. He then scheduled my surgery around my schedule. The procedure was done at Morristown Hospital (although he offered several alternative locations). The staff there were friendly and professional too. No one likes having surgery, but if you have to, my experience with Dr. Alverez was a positive one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 21st, 2010
Don't Waste Your Time
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Ultimately, this doctor is terrible. He'll be light hearted and crack jokes, show off his laissez faire attitude and tell you that your severe problems are "not a big deal" and give you instructions including "don't worry." (Both direct quotes from him, not my words.)He arranged an absolutely necessary surgery for me, set everything up, and not only refused to perform the operation, but refused to even talk to me about it. More than two months after I was supposed to be done with the surgery, I'm still waiting to have it (with someone else of course.)Even you're stuck with him in an emergency, insist on someone else. It'll be worth it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Doctor's Response

Ultimately, I believe this patient was glad to be "stuck" with me, since I was the only doctor available to discharge him from the hospital after the surgeon he did convince to do the operation (who also tried to make him understand that the operation was not in his best interest) left him in the care of someone more "laissez faire" than me when they left town (after requesting my help with the operation). I hope for this patient's sake I was wrong about this last operation being a mistake, but it was one of the easiest calls I have ever made. Perhaps we would all be happier had he found someone else the first night I met him, before I spent the next 2 months making sure he healed his horrible infection.


5.0 of 5
July 31st, 2008
Wonderful
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Alvarez, was a compassionate caring, gentle doctor. I would recommend him highly.

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 30th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 13th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 6th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 1st, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Carlos Alvarez, MD, FACS is similar to these 3 Doctors near Doylestown, PA.