Dr. Carlos Gonzales MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.4
  • 35 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

2.6 (-0.8)

10 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    37%
  • Satisfied
    23%
  • Neutral
    6%
  • Dissatisfied
    11%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    23%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 30.7 minutes

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 8th, 2016
Terrible Doctor!!!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Gonzalez is completely unprofessional with his sarcasm and rude comments. I didn't appreciate having to wait for over 90 minutes just for him to make some comment about by dress. He examined my son and told his nurse that everything was the same and walked out!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 1st, 2016
Builds confidence
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great sense of humor. Exercises good decision making in selecting additional tests to be done or not done. Very precise in his diagnosis. His assistants have been with him for years and he has taught them a lot more than they would have learned in school. Builds confidence.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 30th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Gonzales was not patient with me although I had already waited a significant amount of time to see him. He kept making rude commentaries and was very brusk during the few minutes he actually spent with me. I have been a patient of his since 2001 and he used to be my favorite dcotor, but unfortunately for some reason he has recently changed and somehow lost his friendliness which was his biggest appeal in the past.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 3rd, 2013
HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
HE DEFINETLY DESERVES A NEGATIVE REVIEW FIRST we waited for 1 hour and a half and When he finally did arrive he reviewed the nurse's exam results. All the work is done by the nurse, he just looked over her exam results, and told me to stay the course and book an appointment in 2 months. For this I waited over an hour? He was in the room for less than 5 minutes. He could have spared me and my son the wait and discussed the results with me on the phone. I have an extremely low tolerance for being treated like a supplicant by a physician whom I am paying for service. He does not explain you anything so Be prepared to leave with a lot of questions unanswered and to wait a very long time or find another skilled physician. worst doctor everrrr
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 25th, 2013
An ophthalmologist who needs glasses
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Gonzales spent 20 minutes examining the wrong eye on my son! He didn't even realize that he was looking at the normal eye all that time until my son pointed it out. He looked drunk or drugged up when we saw him in the office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 5th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
He is VERY VERY rude, he treats his staff like if they are his toys. I Will never go there again, i was going in for a second opinion and all he did was laugh at me. Not kid friendly!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 26th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He can be very disrepectful at times and threaten his patients. He has a different way of communicating that I don't understand but as far as his knowledge of his profession and handling with children he is good.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 29th, 2012
Great Experience and Outcome
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
We are very satisfied with our experience with Dr. Gonzales and his staff. He had excellent bedside manner. He shook my hand and interacted with my children, which for me - is what I look for in a doctor. He made us feel at ease and comfortable, which in turn made my daughter feel comfortable when it came time to perform her surgery. She is four years old and was diagnosed with a "Chalazion" (clogged oil gland) that was growing larger and not going away on it's own. On the day of surgery, the doctors and nurses at the surgery center were so sweet and endearing towards her. They really had a great way of showing and explaining what was going on to her, so as not to make her feel afraid. She was not scared at all the entire time they were prepping her. I was impressed that the office called to check on her the very next day of her surgery. I thought that was very nice and considerate of them. It's been almost a week since her surgery, and her eyelid is healing very nicely. I think there will be very minimal scarring if any at all. Dr. Gonzales did an excellent job. I would recommend him to anyone with children.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 1st, 2012
Great Pediatric Ophthalmologist/Eye Doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Gonzales is very experienced in his field and I have been told by second opinion doctors that he is well respected in the medical community. He is fabulous with children and makes them feel at easy. My daughter has been seeing Dr. Gonzales since she was an infant. Even though he is conservative in his recommendations and treatment plans, my daughter recently had surgery and I could not have asked for a smoother process. Dr. Gonzales gave my daughter and I reassurance prior to the surgery and made a point to visit me in the waiting room immediately following surgery. Dr. Gonzales comes highly recommended and I would pass on this recommendation to any parent looking for a wonderful pediatric ophthalmologist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
March 20th, 2012
Long wait and poor people skills
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My son was diagnosed with strabismus/accomodative esotropia. Dr. Gonzales usually leaves the patients waiting for a long time in the waiting room. On the day of our last visit, Dr. Gonzales' office called me saying that they could not see us at 4pm as originally scheduled and asked us to come at 3pm. We arrived promptly at 2:55pm just to wait until 4:30pm.Once we were called into the examine room, Dr. Gonzales quickly looked at my son and asked me if he was still crossing his eyes. I said "Yes, all the time." He put a flashlight on my son's eyes and said I don't see it. I showed him several pictures I captured from my son during the previous week showing my son's eyes crossing in a terrible way. Dr. Gonzales said my camera was probably broken. He told us to keep patching his eyes and asked us to come back in 3 months. So, for this 5 minutes conversation he charges over $300. We don't know if my son's myopia progressed and if he needs glasses (his pre-k teacher believe he does because it seems like he is not seeing objects close to him).My wife and I decided to look for other doctors. Any recommendations?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Carlos Gonzales, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Houston, TX.

Doctor

Dr. James Lai

24 years experience

3.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Samih Elchahal

8 years experience

1.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Charity Grannis

6 years experience

5.0 of 5