Dr. Carlos Arguello MD Patient Reviews

  • Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism Birmingham, AL

Overall Rating

2.7
  • 33 patient ratings
  • 16 comments

Last 12 months:

2.5 (-0.2)

16 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    30%
  • Satisfied
    12%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    48%
  • Wait Time 20.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
July 16th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wouldn't recommend
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 13th, 2016
Don't bother
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Don't waste your time. Doesn't really listen, very inconvenient to get testing done (make you go to a lapcorp), also incompetent staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 23rd, 2016
Impossible to rate...
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'd love to say I knew what Dr. Arguello was like enough to rate him. Unfortunately, I have yet to see the man, and now, after two rescheduled appointments keeping me from having thyroid meds or numbers run for almost 9 months, I find out I've been pushed off on another doctor that can't see me for yet another 6 months. Needless to say, I'm less than impressed with anyone outside the receptionist in this office, seeing as she's the only one I've spoken to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 6th, 2014
Wait time
5 minutes
My husband sees Dr. Arguello for diabetes and we are more than pleased. He has a good bedside manner, is personable and pays attention to detail when it comes to test results. We would definitely recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 31st, 2013
hypothyroism
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to dr areguello today regarding hypothyroism issue hoping for a dr. That would think out of the box only to hear the standard crap about being in a normal range see you in six months. Excuse me i gained 35 pounds in a few months for no reason i wish he would have listened and said it may or may not be your thyroid i am the endo man so lets run a series of test to see what is going on. I will help you to feel better and we will work together to fix this. But not what i got today i got we will check your tsh and see you in six months. Wow... i think not.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 4th, 2013
Very Satisfied Patient
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Been under Dr Arguello's care for diabetes for several years. He has always been prompt, professional and very helpful with the control of my diabetes. Runs blood test frequently and mails me the results showing what my numbers are and the normal ranges. Very easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 28th, 2013
Adrenal Disease
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor was nice First Visit but it came pretty clear to me if your not a diabetic then he don't know. Yes he checked one time a Stim test to see what my cortisol was doing, I failed the test. I am secondary addison's. His mannerism changed by 2nd visit, very argumentative, and didn't listen to me. Because he didn't know how to treat me. I felt that I needed to be hospitalized most recent, due to drop in cortisol & needed a cortisol shot, he called me and said you can come but I can't do anything for you. He has no compassion whatsoever. Wouldn't return my last phone call. Doesn't listen to you. Find another endo doctor if you have adrenal disorder. This doctor would make for a good politician. But not a good endo doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 19th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Was not afraid to explain terms I didn't understand and explained how treatments for my thyroid cancer worked and how they would affect me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 13th, 2011
WHAT IS THIS DOCTORS PURPOSE
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
THIS DOCTORS OFFICE INFORMED ME THAT I NEEDED AN APPT TO GET PRESCRIPT REFILL--MADE APPT WENT TO SEE DR AND HE QUESTIONED WHY ID COME TO SEE HIM STATING I DID NOT NEED TO SEE HIM FOR A REFILL --BASICALLY STATING THERE WAS NO REASON FOR MY APPT EVEN THOUGH I HAD NOT BEEN SEEN FOR OVER A YEAR...HE THEN LISTENED TO MY HEART ASKED COULD HE CHECK MY FEET WHICH AT THIS POINT I REFUSED BECAUSE HE HAD PUT SO MUCH EMPHASIS ON ME NOT NEEDING TO BE THERE. THEN AFTER TELLING ME THERE IS NO REASON FOR ME TO BE THERE REQUESTED I COME BACK FOR A FOLLOW UP IN 4 MOS..& REQUESTED BLOOD WORK---AFTER BEING TOLD SEVERAL TIMES THERE WAS NO REASON FOR ME TO BE THERE I NO LONGER FELT OBLIGATED TO DO ANYTHING HE WANTED --THE SAME WAY HE FELT AND OR MADE ME FELT LIKE I WAS A WASTE OF HIS TIME--HE TOO BECAME A WASTE OF TIME TO ME. THIS DR HAD EXTREMELY BAD BREATH AND A LARGE OPEN SORE ON HIS LIP. HIS APPEARANCE AND ATTITUDE WAS RIDICULOUS
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 6th, 2010
Satisfied Patient
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr. Arguello for my thyroid condition for several years. He came to be my Dr. after the previous Endocrinologist relocated. He has always been courteous to me and concerned about my health. Wait time is a few minutes at most. If I am early, often times I will be seen early. My condition is stable with medication and I am having no issues. He schedules the appropriate tests and personally follows up with me in a few days by phone or by letter with the results. I drive over 90 miles to see him because of the quality of care I believe I am getting. His staff is careful enough to schedule my tests on the same day so that I don't have to make multiple visits. I too hope that the Administrators read and consider my comments as well. I can't believe that Dr. Arguello is the same Dr. that all of these complaints are referring to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 1st, 2010
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Arguello would make a better politician than he is a doctor. This is the most evasive person I have ever met. He is either unable or unwilling to answer any questions. I left more upset and confused than when I went in. He should at least read the patient's chart before he sees them. If you like playing 20 questions and getting no answers, this is the guy for you. Otherwise, stay far, far away. Do yourself a huge favor and find another doctor. He should have paid me for wasting my time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 11th, 2010
Says one thing one visit and retracts the next
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have Diabetes and my first appointment with Dr. Arguello was ok. he wanted to put me on the pump right away. I told him that I wanted to research the different pumps out there. he said ok. my next visit he told me that he thinks that a pump would not fit my lifestyle. and this continued for about a year and seemed to be all that we talked about. Got mad and told him that I was not coming back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Carlos Arguello, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Birmingham, AL.