Dr. Carmelo Otero MD Patient Reviews

  • General Surgery San Antonio, TX

Overall Rating

4.6
  • 18 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (-0.1)

18 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    83%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    11%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    6%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 19.4 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
July 24th, 2017
Daughter Writing for Mother
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My mother and I first met Dr. Otero when she was a patient in a local hospital. He was called to access what was happening with her body, and suggested that we wait to see him when what she was initially going through was completed. We did just that and made an appointed to see him. He did testing, scheduled an appointed for her surgery and he did an EXCELLENT job! No mind you we had to wait approximately 4 hours until her surgical procedure (pushing it back to around 6:30 PM - due to an earlier surgery that took a bit longer thatn expected); but everything went off without a hitch. I spoke with Dr. Otero as he came from the ward: packed and ready to leave. He shared with me how everything looked great and with no complications: Thank You Lord! I "thought" he was on his way home seeing that it was close to 8:00 PM; but he tells me that he has TWO MORE surgeries scheduled for that night and woudn't be finished until around midnight or so! Oh my goodness! This is one committed and dedicated doctor that is focused and wants to accomplish what he's set out to do for the patient. I HIGHLY recommend him to others.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 20th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Took care of my.mother with cancer needs and did everything so as ease for me and her at the time of need.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 23rd, 2013
Daughter
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
This was my mother's first visit w/Dr. Otero. Once we both got over being upset with his horrible staff, we loved Dr. Otero. He was very friendly and thorough. He explained everything to us. Unfortunately his office staff is in dire need of customer service training. The address on the internet is WRONG! His office is at 225 Sonterra, not 155. It would have been nice if the office staff told me that when I called to schedule an appointment. My mother has COPD and, if I'd been told they moved, would have saved her a lot of needless walking. When I expressed that to Crystal, I was basically chastised for "googling" the doctor and not going to their web site...it was my fault, not hers! She continued to be rude and ignore me when I went to the window after waiting for an hour to be seen. Really liked Dr. Otero but the road to see him was very bumpy!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 26th, 2012
excellent doctor!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very knowledgeable and confident in his abilities.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 27th, 2010
The best surgeon
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wonderful man and the staff is Fantastic. Cant say enough good things about him and his expertise. Caring and professional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
July 23rd, 2009
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Otero is rude and arrogant. He is a highly rated surgeon but badly needs lessons in how to deal with people/patients. I wouldn't go to him for this reason; he does not listen to his patient's wishes or concerns.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 29th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
April 18th, 2017

5.0 of 5
March 1st, 2017

5.0 of 5
March 28th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 4th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 7th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Carmelo Otero, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near San Antonio, TX.