Dr. Carol Kovanda MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.6
  • 14 patient ratings
  • 8 reviews

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.4)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    50%
  • Satisfied
    14%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    21%
  • Wait Time 10.7 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

5.0 of 5
July 15th, 2013
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I definitely recommend Dr. Kovanda, not only is she extremely knowledgeable but she is kind and caring. She will spend as much time as necessary with you, never making you feel like she is in a hurry. Very professional and calm demeanor. Overall great lady and great doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 14th, 2013
Find a Different Physician
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you are a woman in your mid-twenties, you should find a different physician. Although I am a young mother, I am very knowledgable about my body, and I was alarmed by Dr. Kovanda's condescending personality. During our appointment, Dr. Kovanda said "I knew what was wrong with you before I even entered the room." Such blatant superiority is a sign that Dr. Kovanda should soon seek retirement. She asked "yes or no" questions throughout the appointment, performed a very limited physical exam, and offered no advice or even comfort at the close of the appointment. My visit was a waste of both time and money, and I will not be returning.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 29th, 2012
Bait and Switch
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Kovanda did a "bait and switch" on me. I chose her because she was one of the few female O.B.s in town. I told her at our first meeting that I wanted a natural, vaginal birth. She agreed that my birth plan would be supported. My visits were extremely brief. She never spent more than 5 minutes with me. I had a very healthy and uneventful pregnancy. Towards the end I brought up my birth plan at 3 appointments and she brushed me off with "next time." Finally, at 36 weeks she was willing to talk and she said that most births require pitocin so natural wasn't possible. I left in tears, betrayed by the doctor I had trusted. In the end she falsely diagnosed low amniotic fluid (subsequent care providers reviewed my records) and sent me to the hospital for an induction. When she checked on me she insisted on AROM. As soon as my copious amount of amniotic fluid started to flow out she looked at me and said that she was off for the weekend.That was one of the most traumatic experiences of my life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 12th, 2011
Great doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been very happy with Dr. Kovanda. She knows what she is doing and does not hesitate to consult with other experts before presenting all options. Although she does not have a really outgoing personality she has always taken the time to make sure all of my questions are thoroughly answered. I was in the hospital twice (once with pre-term labor and again when I actually had the baby) and she came by to check on me at least once a day even during my recovery. The office and staff are very nice and there usually is not a very long wait (the exception is when you are getting an ultrasound, prepare for it to back up quickly).
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
November 8th, 2010
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I trust her judgement and felt she diagnosed the problem quickly and after spending time and hearing solutions I was pleased and felt she's very knowledgeable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 30th, 2010
appointment anxiety
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Fr. Kovanda's professionalism and bedside manner relieve any anxiety I feel regarding this type of examination. I trust her competency and have referred friends to Dr. Kovanda.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 15th, 2008
Spotting and would not see me
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had recently had one miscarriage when I started spotting again with another pregnancy. I was begging for an appointment and for the doctor to see me. I was told by her nurse they would not see me until week 10. I was blown off by the nurse many times who did not take my issue seriously. I had finally actually miscarried at week 9 due to low progesterone. I was not happy with her nurse.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
August 11th, 2008
Good Doctor - poor bedside manner
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a poor experiance with this doctor - she had a rediculously bad attitude / bedside manner with me, and has no personality. However, I believe she is a competant doctor. Regardless, I would never see her - and have not ever since.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Carol Kovanda, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Tacoma, WA.

Doctor

Dr. Veronica Ventura

21 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Clare Cammarano

27 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Robert Gore

48 years experience

4.1 of 5