Dr. Carol Salem MD Patient Reviews

  • Urology San Diego, CA

Overall Rating

4.4
  • 59 patient ratings
  • 15 comments

Last 12 months:

4.2 (-0.2)

59 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    80%
  • Great
    2%
  • Good
    3%
  • Poor
    5%
  • Bad
    10%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 13.3 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 7th, 2017
Best Prostate Doctor and Robotic Surgeon in SD
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I got my prostrate removed by Dr. Salem over two and half years ago on Feb. 10, 2015. Today I am healthy and happy with a PSA of near zero. I had been on Kaiser in 2014 where my PSA came up at #12 after coming in because I could not urinate and they just gave me a lets wait and see attitude. Meanwhile, a nurse trained me to self catheter which within time I was doing every day and suffering. When they finally tested for cancer it was found I had the lowest level of cancer in only one side node and internal 2 of 12 needle sampling in a non-aggressive slower growing type cancer. However, when the doctors check my prostrate with hand ultra sound my prostrate did not look overly large. I was just suffering and wanted it out and so they discussed all the standard options. Meanwhile, I checked on their best at robotic surgery and their staff success rate was mediocre. That is when I started researching who was the best in San Diego. It came down to three surgeons and the two from UCSD would not even see me for months way into the next year . Carol Salem had an opening in January of 2015 and found out she worked through Scripps Mercy, director of robotics surgery and formally director of UCSD robotics surgery. I switched to a full coverage plan with Blue Shield that covered Scripps during open enrollment. When I met her for my visit, I was totally sold on her because of her intelligence and openess to share all information. She was willing to answer any questions I had no matter how technical. I told her that I did not mind having the prostrate removed if it meant I could urinate normally again. When the operation was done I found out that I had mostly an unusual mutated prostrate with the little cancer more likely caused by the inflammation of my condition. Most prostrates have two nodes but she with all the prostrates she does has removed ones with a third node. Basically I had two extra nodes that the other doctors never saw like a sea anemone with one section smashing my bladder which she surgically rebuilt and fixed where it attaches to the urinary canal. Since my total prostrate was twice the size of what previous doctors saw, a wait and watch approach for my prostrate cancer would have never worked. Within a short week I was able to pee like a 25 year old and it never felt so good with no incontinence. All the other nerves were fixed perfectly too, if you know what I mean. I cannot believe I suffered so long for months doing self-catheter so she improved my life immensely. Doctor Salem is the smartest and most aware doctor I have ever met. If you have a prostrate problem there is no better doctor in San Diego than her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 26th, 2017
Most professional
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 24th, 2016
MDR
Evidently I didn't receive Dr. Salem's full and undivided attention. More than two years after my prostate surgery I still have NO bladder control. I also ED issues that no Cialis or Viagra can help. And somehow her attitude is that it's my fault. The arrogance is beyond comprehension and that goes for her head nurse as well. What's the old saying? Quality of life trumps quantity. 👎 This thumb is for you Doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
great result ! my psa is still 0.1 and i feel good, thanks to dr salem and staff
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 15th, 2014
The Whole Package
I wish I was aware of this site earlier and hope that my comments help someone else feel confident in choosing Dr. Carol Salem for their care. I read all the reviews already listed and felt an echo of my own positive experience with Dr. Salem. I have had three life saving surgeries with Dr. Salem since 2011, all tumor resections for an incurable cancer. She has extended my life every time. I was sent to her to consult for a procedure to prepare me for chemo. She advised surgery instead. In a very short time during that consult, she established trust and confidence so that it took me and my family a matter of seconds to agree to it. I have always felt that divine intervention put me her path. She is so straight forward, articulate and genuine about the reality of the situation, yet at the same time shows compassion beyond words. She has a gift of anticipating your concerns and fears and addresses them before you can think of them. My surgeries were all successful and she maintained such a high level of care throughout it all. Her accessibility made a huge difference for me, and I felt safer for it. As others mentioned, she would also visit me twice daily during my hospital stay, a testament to her dedication to patient care. I agree that she is the energizer bunny 24-hours a day. She stayed with me through 12 to 16 hour surgeries until the task was done. I feel blessed to have met her and grateful for the excellent care.

5.0 of 5
January 23rd, 2013
Best Urologist in San Diego!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I first saw Dr. Salem on a recommendation from a former patient of hers. I had not been comfortable with the last two urologist I visited. Dr. Salem diagnosed and performed surgery to remove my prostate (enlarged) and my bladder (cancer). Obviously, not a surgery I wanted to trust with just anyone. Dr. Salem is knowledge, straightforward, compassionate, and extremely competent! After the surgery she would visit me twice a day; usually at 5am and 7pm. Always showing up with the same amount of enthusiasm. She's like the energizer bunny! I would highly recommend her to anyone in a similar situation as I.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 20th, 2012
Doc Salem is the 'go to' prostate surgeon in San Diego
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Been to many doc's since diagnosed with Gleason 7 (4+3) biopsy. This is the surgeon I am confident will use thise skills developed in over 1000 procedures to get me through this down period. Such a pro and articulate to the lay person. Will report back after surgery!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 25th, 2012
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
met dr during a community prostrate screening and told I need a biopsy which caused great anxietyCalled office 2x in 4 days, 1 girl did not put my info in the data basis, another said had to wait for dr to call me personally before scheduling.Had to be info re entered in data basis.after 6 weeks finally heard from drarrange consult and they another one called and said I was scheduled for biopsy with out consultation with drPoor commuication with office staff.I decided I did not want this dr to touch me and am going elsewhere, Seems like it is all about getting new business,Called to cancel my appointment and the office girls could not get my name right, told me I aleady cancelled 2 biopsies-wrong.I would never recommend this dr due to inept staff
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 26th, 2011
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I told my friend about this procedure; she had bladder cancer, but it was discovered in time to be treated with medications. She is now so far cancer free, but I have heard of others that have had this surgery then find out within months they are no longer cancer free. I believe Dr. Salem is correct it is all in God's hands. He is the final judge.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 16th, 2011
Dr. Salem is Excellent !
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Dr. Carol E. Salem removed my Prostrate, using a Da Vinci robot in July 2011 at Scripps Mercy Hospital in San Diego. I felt no pain and was up and wal ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 27th, 2011
She's A Gift!
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Salem's done over 1000 Da Vinci prostatectomies, and I was one of them. If anyone was BORN to excel in their field, it's her. When I had to choose a surgeon quickly for insurance reasons, she met with my wife and me for 90 minutes after hours on a day's notice for free-- and she made sure we understood everything. Afterward, we decided Dr. Salem was the one before we even reached the elevator. During my operation, she spent an extra 90 minutes gingerly separating the neuro-vascular bundles from my prostate. Within a couple of weeks I was able to ease back into normal activities. It's been a few weeks and I couldn't be happier; I'm now cancer-free and all my stuff works! To say that we're grateful to Dr. Salem is a gross understatement. She completely rocks.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 3rd, 2010
She saved my life
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was told by an Escondido urologist that I had stage 4 bladder cancer and had 6-9 mos to live-I saw Dr. Salem 5 days later and she life is up to God not Doctors-she operated 10 days later and I am now cancer free and living my life normally in Gods grace-Dr. Salem is one of the most amazing, caring people I have ever met-
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Carol Salem, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near San Diego, CA.