Overall Review

4.3
  • 56 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

3.9 (-0.4)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    77%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    11%
  • Wait Time 14.8 minutes
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
September 24th, 2016
MDR
Evidently I didn't receive Dr. Salem's full and undivided attention. More than two years after my prostate surgery I still have NO bladder control. I also ED issues that no Cialis or Viagra can help. And somehow her attitude is that it's my fault. The arrogance is beyond comprehension and that goes for her head nurse as well. What's the old saying? Quality of life trumps quantity. 👎 This thumb is for you Doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
great result ! my psa is still 0.1 and i feel good, thanks to dr salem and staff
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 15th, 2014
The Whole Package
I wish I was aware of this site earlier and hope that my comments help someone else feel confident in choosing Dr. Carol Salem for their care. I read all the reviews already listed and felt an echo of my own positive experience with Dr. Salem. I have had three life saving surgeries with Dr. Salem since 2011, all tumor resections for an incurable cancer. She has extended my life every time. I was sent to her to consult for a procedure to prepare me for chemo. She advised surgery instead. In a very short time during that consult, she established trust and confidence so that it took me and my family a matter of seconds to agree to it. I have always felt that divine intervention put me her path. She is so straight forward, articulate and genuine about the reality of the situation, yet at the same time shows compassion beyond words. She has a gift of anticipating your concerns and fears and addresses them before you can think of them. My surgeries were all successful and she maintained such a high level of care throughout it all. Her accessibility made a huge difference for me, and I felt safer for it. As others mentioned, she would also visit me twice daily during my hospital stay, a testament to her dedication to patient care. I agree that she is the energizer bunny 24-hours a day. She stayed with me through 12 to 16 hour surgeries until the task was done. I feel blessed to have met her and grateful for the excellent care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 23rd, 2013
Best Urologist in San Diego!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I first saw Dr. Salem on a recommendation from a former patient of hers. I had not been comfortable with the last two urologist I visited. Dr. Salem diagnosed and performed surgery to remove my prostate (enlarged) and my bladder (cancer). Obviously, not a surgery I wanted to trust with just anyone. Dr. Salem is knowledge, straightforward, compassionate, and extremely competent! After the surgery she would visit me twice a day; usually at 5am and 7pm. Always showing up with the same amount of enthusiasm. She's like the energizer bunny! I would highly recommend her to anyone in a similar situation as I.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 20th, 2012
Doc Salem is the 'go to' prostate surgeon in San Diego
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Been to many doc's since diagnosed with Gleason 7 (4+3) biopsy. This is the surgeon I am confident will use thise skills developed in over 1000 procedures to get me through this down period. Such a pro and articulate to the lay person. Will report back after surgery!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 25th, 2012
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
met dr during a community prostrate screening and told I need a biopsy which caused great anxietyCalled office 2x in 4 days, 1 girl did not put my info in the data basis, another said had to wait for dr to call me personally before scheduling.Had to be info re entered in data basis.after 6 weeks finally heard from drarrange consult and they another one called and said I was scheduled for biopsy with out consultation with drPoor commuication with office staff.I decided I did not want this dr to touch me and am going elsewhere, Seems like it is all about getting new business,Called to cancel my appointment and the office girls could not get my name right, told me I aleady cancelled 2 biopsies-wrong.I would never recommend this dr due to inept staff
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 26th, 2011
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I told my friend about this procedure; she had bladder cancer, but it was discovered in time to be treated with medications. She is now so far cancer free, but I have heard of others that have had this surgery then find out within months they are no longer cancer free. I believe Dr. Salem is correct it is all in God's hands. He is the final judge.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 16th, 2011
Dr. Salem is Excellent !
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Dr. Carol E. Salem removed my Prostrate, using a Da Vinci robot in July 2011 at Scripps Mercy Hospital in San Diego. I felt no pain and was up and wal ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 26th, 2011
She's A Gift!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Salem's done over 1000 Da Vinci prostatectomies, and I was one of them. If anyone was BORN to excel in their field, it's her. When I had to choose a surgeon quickly for insurance reasons, she met with my wife and me for 90 minutes after hours on a day's notice for free-- and she made sure we understood everything. Afterward, we decided Dr. Salem was the one before we even reached the elevator. During my operation, she spent an extra 90 minutes gingerly separating the neuro-vascular bundles from my prostate. Within a couple of weeks I was able to ease back into normal activities. It's been a few weeks and I couldn't be happier; I'm now cancer-free and all my stuff works! To say that we're grateful to Dr. Salem is a gross understatement. She completely rocks.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 2nd, 2010
She saved my life
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was told by an Escondido urologist that I had stage 4 bladder cancer and had 6-9 mos to live-I saw Dr. Salem 5 days later and she life is up to God not Doctors-she operated 10 days later and I am now cancer free and living my life normally in Gods grace-Dr. Salem is one of the most amazing, caring people I have ever met-
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 14th, 2010
Doctor evaluation
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Salem is a very conscientious physician. She is well versed and trained for her specialty. Has excellent bedside manner. She is very thorough in explaining every thing to the patient. I am very happy with her surgical services and recommend her without hesitation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 5th, 2009
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Salem performed my Cystectomy and was wonderful. Her follow up was excellent and she is a very caring individual. Her surgical skills are unmatched in San Diego.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Carol Salem, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near San Diego, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Mark-Rally Pe

9 years experience

4.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Stephen Bridge

34 years experience

3.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Brian Dicks

9 years experience

4.3 of 5