Dr. Carol Ziel MD Patient Reviews

  • Ophthalmology Winston Salem, NC

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 20 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

3.3 (-0.4)

20 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    55%
  • Great
    5%
  • Good
    15%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    25%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 34.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
November 20th, 2016
N/A
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She did my cataract surgey on both of my eyes and i must say its the most painless surgery i have ever had i would highly recommend Her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 29th, 2016
Operation was no improvement
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Went to her for a "normal" cataract operation on my right eye. My vision did not improve; in fact, it became worse; I now have a "bubble" in the eye, right in the center of my vision. On a follow-up she said she couldn't see it. I then went to Dr. Greg Temas who did see it and lasered a few floaters but didn't it improve my vision. I wish I had the cataract back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 14th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very good at explaining the surgery I was going to have. All my questions were answered.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 5th, 2015
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Amazing doctor all the way around!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
January 3rd, 2014
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The office is ALWAYS crowded and i almost ALWAYS have a long wait. First appt. in the morning is the best. The wait times are due to office policies. Dr. Ziel ALWAYS remembers me, acts in a professional manner, is brisk when the office is busy, but is willing to address my concerns. My cataract went well, although I was slower to recover than some due to my corneal disease.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 7th, 2012
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
My impressions of this physician match those of 7 of the 8 reviews I find here and I agree that out of a possible four stars she rates two stars at most. The receptionist warned me I would be at the office for about two hours but said that Dr. Z spends "a LOT of time with patients." Not. I waited for half an hour or so in the crowded waiting room and another 20+ minutes in the examining room, which was cramped, cluttered and poorly lighted. I was holding my handbag in my lap and upon arrival she instructed me to put it on the floor behind the examination chair. Perhaps because I am young (60)and my cataracts are not yet severe, she had little patience for my concerns. Perhaps if I were elderly and had brought a friend or family member/advocate with me Dr. Z would have been more friendly and respectful. She made a point of noting that my (excellent) opthalmologist, who wisely advised me to get a second opinion, is not an MD. Finally, she advised me to make it a practice to wash my face (?!) and come back and see her in a year. Total time she spent with me: about 10 minutes. This was hands-down the worst doctor visit I've ever had, including when I went for a gynecological exam at the age of 18 and the elderly male MD brought in a male med student to do a practice vaginal examination (surprise!)on me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Doctor's Response

I am not able to respond due to HIPPA laws.


5.0 of 5
October 11th, 2011
Friendly and Caring and good staff
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I never waiting that long, and I think Dr. Ziel is a very caring and friendly doctor. Highly recomend her if you need to have cataract surgery.

4.0 of 5
August 1st, 2017

1.0 of 5
November 2nd, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 12th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
February 17th, 2016
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 10th, 2016
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Carol Ziel, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Winston Salem, NC.