Dr. Carolyn Garner MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.5
  • 68 patient ratings
  • 26 comments

Last 12 months:

4.7 (+ 0.2)

26 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    84%
  • Satisfied
    4%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    7%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 9.7 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
August 30th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Carolyn Garner is the most wonderfu, kind, caring doctor I have ever known.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 25th, 2016
Great surgeon...
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Garner took out half of my thyroid. It was a relatively easy procedure, and I took nothing more than tylenol and ibuprofen for a few days afterwards. She's a skilled, intelligent surgeon who also has an amazing personality!! In addition, she has a pathologist ready during thyroid surgeries. If there's cancer present, she can take the entire thyroid out in one procedure instead of bringing you back in for a 2nd surgery like many doctors. Highly recommend her!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 21st, 2016
5 Star Service
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have met with doctors before, but she is hands down one of the kindest I have met with. She sets and actually listens to you and walks you through exactly she is going to do and explains to help educate you about what is taking place with your body, and the staff was awesome. Now I am on the mend and working my way to being pain free, so thank you Dr. Garner, you were a huge Blessing the Lord sent my way.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 21st, 2015
Caring healthcare
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor visits with you and explains in layman terms so that she can be sure you understand. She opens up the floor for any questions that you or your family may have. She makes sure that the patient is informed about any necessary procedure but does leave the ultimate decision up to the patient. Wonderful bedside manner, inviting examine room atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 27th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had my thyroid removed and my 15 yr old daughter had hers removed and Dr. Garner is the best dr I have ever known. Best bedside manner!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 25th, 2015
Thyroidectomy Pre-cancerous
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am very pleased with the help and care from Dr. Gardner.I came all the way from the St. Louis,MO and was recommended to Dr. Gardner by a friend in Louisiana. I would make the trip to see her for surgery if I had to drive 3x as far as St. Louis, MO. She is very good at what she does. It is always very scary at the thought of surgery and possibly having cancer. I was amazed by how comfortable I was all throughout the visits pre-surgery even through the day of surgery and beyond. Thank you Dr. Gardner so much for everything.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 18th, 2014
Surgery
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Garner is the best. So nice and easy to talk to about my thyroid. I couldn't think of a better surgeon than Dr. Garner. I had surgery on 1/2 of my thyroid removal and no problems. Her staff is great too!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 9th, 2013
Thyroid and gall bladder and so much more..
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Garner is a very knowledgeable surgeon and courteous person. She is not like any other surgeon. I never felt like just a another number with her. I had complications after my thyroid was removed unrelated to the thyroid surgery itself. Although it wasn't related she made sure to help find out what the problem was and to keep updated with me with the very serious matter that had occurred. Several months later I had to have my gall bladder removed and again dr garner took excellent care of me again. Dr. Garner out of my now many many doctors has to be the most caring doctor I have ever had and the only doctor who has ever taken the time to answer all of my questions even if she thought they were silly or unrelated. I would recommend her to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 9th, 2013
Completely Wrong Diagnosis and Ridiculous Solution
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
I'm glad that everyone else (who wrote a review) was helped by this person. I really am. I, however, was not. In fact, her irresponsible diagnosis and recommendation for "treatment" delayed my healing process substantially. I was very, very ill for a long time. I had chronically enlarged lymph nodes. I knew I did, but my internist told me to go to a general surgeon to get an ultrasound. I went to Dr. Garner, who did the ultrasound, and told me that I had stones in my salivary glands. Her solution? Suck on sour candy. I wish I was joking. She asked me if I had dry mouth, I told her I didn't, that I felt very ill, had fevers and what felt like a sinus infection. None of this seemed to register with her, who maintained that I just had salivary stones and needed to eat sour candy. I found this extremely strange, so I went to an ENT, who said I indeed did not have salivary stones, rather, enlarged lymph nodes from chronic sinusitis. I required extensive nasal surgery and completely recovered after that. It's very unethical to write off people's symptoms and completely unimaginable for someone who operates on cancer patients to make such an obviously incorrect diagnosis. Even I knew they weren't salivary stones, and I didn't have an ultrasound machine. Mind boggling. I'm glad I didn't resort to eating some sour patch kids or warheads to cure me of my chronic illness.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 2nd, 2012
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Garner was professional. I had no complications and my scars are minimal. Her staff was very friendly adn helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 10th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Garner explained to my understanding what the concern was and what it took to fix it. She listened to my questions and answered them without seeming rushed. When I came to her office to pick up my pre-registration package, she accompanied me to the hospital next door and showed me the registration desk. All you wand in a doctor/surgeon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 24th, 2012
Great surgeon - no follow through
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you are looking for a skilled surgeon to take out your thyroid (and believe me, she will) but do not expect any follow through afterwards, this is your doctor. Be sure to arrange for after care once the surgery is complete as you will not be spoon fed with this Dr. She is however a skilled surgeon and does a great job removing the gland with little scarring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Carolyn Garner, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Denton, TX.

Doctor

Dr. Lashondria Simpson-Camp

8 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Robert Connaughton

22 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jason West

10 years experience

4.7 of 5