Dr. Carolyn Garner MD Patient Reviews

  • General Surgery Denton, TX

Overall Rating

4.5
  • 72 patient ratings
  • 28 comments

Last 12 months:

4.6 (+ 0.1)

28 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    83%
  • Satisfied
    4%
  • Neutral
    1%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    7%
  • Wait Time 9.7 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
February 23rd, 2017
Make sure you research prior
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was diagnosed and got a full thyroidectomy and parathyroid removal. No other option was given, but had I known then what I know now I would have done my research and tried other options first because it was not clear or explained how completely my life, health, and just overall I would change after surgery. So do your homework!! Great surgeon but tries to be "wishful" on results so the down side of surgery and the effects are not what they really are in all fairness. I want the full truth not just the positives, and give me options.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 3rd, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Garner was very caring yet very honest. Straight facts to help with the tough decisions. Would highly recommend to ALL Friends & Family.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 30th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Carolyn Garner is the most wonderfu, kind, caring doctor I have ever known.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 25th, 2016
Great surgeon...
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Garner took out half of my thyroid. It was a relatively easy procedure, and I took nothing more than tylenol and ibuprofen for a few days afterwards. She's a skilled, intelligent surgeon who also has an amazing personality!! In addition, she has a pathologist ready during thyroid surgeries. If there's cancer present, she can take the entire thyroid out in one procedure instead of bringing you back in for a 2nd surgery like many doctors. Highly recommend her!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 21st, 2016
5 Star Service
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have met with doctors before, but she is hands down one of the kindest I have met with. She sets and actually listens to you and walks you through exactly she is going to do and explains to help educate you about what is taking place with your body, and the staff was awesome. Now I am on the mend and working my way to being pain free, so thank you Dr. Garner, you were a huge Blessing the Lord sent my way.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 21st, 2015
Caring healthcare
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor visits with you and explains in layman terms so that she can be sure you understand. She opens up the floor for any questions that you or your family may have. She makes sure that the patient is informed about any necessary procedure but does leave the ultimate decision up to the patient. Wonderful bedside manner, inviting examine room atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 27th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had my thyroid removed and my 15 yr old daughter had hers removed and Dr. Garner is the best dr I have ever known. Best bedside manner!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 25th, 2015
Thyroidectomy Pre-cancerous
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am very pleased with the help and care from Dr. Gardner.I came all the way from the St. Louis,MO and was recommended to Dr. Gardner by a friend in Louisiana. I would make the trip to see her for surgery if I had to drive 3x as far as St. Louis, MO. She is very good at what she does. It is always very scary at the thought of surgery and possibly having cancer. I was amazed by how comfortable I was all throughout the visits pre-surgery even through the day of surgery and beyond. Thank you Dr. Gardner so much for everything.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 18th, 2014
Surgery
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Garner is the best. So nice and easy to talk to about my thyroid. I couldn't think of a better surgeon than Dr. Garner. I had surgery on 1/2 of my thyroid removal and no problems. Her staff is great too!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 9th, 2013
Thyroid and gall bladder and so much more..
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Garner is a very knowledgeable surgeon and courteous person. She is not like any other surgeon. I never felt like just a another number with her. I had complications after my thyroid was removed unrelated to the thyroid surgery itself. Although it wasn't related she made sure to help find out what the problem was and to keep updated with me with the very serious matter that had occurred. Several months later I had to have my gall bladder removed and again dr garner took excellent care of me again. Dr. Garner out of my now many many doctors has to be the most caring doctor I have ever had and the only doctor who has ever taken the time to answer all of my questions even if she thought they were silly or unrelated. I would recommend her to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 9th, 2013
Completely Wrong Diagnosis and Ridiculous Solution
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
I'm glad that everyone else (who wrote a review) was helped by this person. I really am. I, however, was not. In fact, her irresponsible diagnosis and recommendation for "treatment" delayed my healing process substantially. I was very, very ill for a long time. I had chronically enlarged lymph nodes. I knew I did, but my internist told me to go to a general surgeon to get an ultrasound. I went to Dr. Garner, who did the ultrasound, and told me that I had stones in my salivary glands. Her solution? Suck on sour candy. I wish I was joking. She asked me if I had dry mouth, I told her I didn't, that I felt very ill, had fevers and what felt like a sinus infection. None of this seemed to register with her, who maintained that I just had salivary stones and needed to eat sour candy. I found this extremely strange, so I went to an ENT, who said I indeed did not have salivary stones, rather, enlarged lymph nodes from chronic sinusitis. I required extensive nasal surgery and completely recovered after that. It's very unethical to write off people's symptoms and completely unimaginable for someone who operates on cancer patients to make such an obviously incorrect diagnosis. Even I knew they weren't salivary stones, and I didn't have an ultrasound machine. Mind boggling. I'm glad I didn't resort to eating some sour patch kids or warheads to cure me of my chronic illness.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Doctor's Response

I am sorry for this negative feedback. This patient was seen for free on an emergent basis as she was worried about a neck mass. She did not have a mass on her thyroid and there was no abnormal enlargement of her lymph nodes. She was already under the care for sinus issues. I am happy that her sinus issues are resolved.


5.0 of 5
August 2nd, 2012
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Garner was professional. I had no complications and my scars are minimal. Her staff was very friendly adn helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Carolyn Garner, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Denton, TX.

Doctor

Dr. Jason West

11 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Robert Connaughton

23 years experience

4.1 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Emmanuel Sonaike

be the first to rate this Doctor