Dr. Catherine Chao MD Patient Reviews

  • Pediatric Gastroenterology Fairfax, VA

Overall Rating

3.2
  • 20 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

1.0 (-2.2)

20 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    45%
  • Great
    10%
  • Good
    5%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    40%
  • Wait Time 23.8 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
July 23rd, 2016
Misdiagnosed
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I took my son to dr chao to see what was causing his diarrhea. Without asking any questions she diagnosed him as being constapated after simply putting her hand on my sons stomach. She put him on a concoction of powerful drugs that have only made it worse. Recently I decided to take him off the drugs and he is significantly better. She is the worst doctor i have ever been to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 1st, 2015
Horrible doctor
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After my son had been experiencing some stomach pain on and of for amonth I decided to dr chao. She said it was constapation/impaction without even examining him or asking any other question. She prescribed my young child (6) a medicine used on adults to completely clean them out before colonoscopys. After two years of this he is now worse than he he started by a long shot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 16th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Took time to explain my son's problem clearly. I understood the plan. Very happy. Would recommend her highly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 8th, 2014
terrible doctor
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Misdiagnosed me, and put me on medication that made it worse. Worst doctor I have ever been to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 17th, 2013
Excellent
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Scheduled our son's procedure promptly and found eosinophilic esophgagits. Excellent follow up care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 13th, 2012
Comprehensive and thorough
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Really listened to my daughter's problem. Very thorough workup. Explained reason for tests and test results. Well thought of treatment plan. Took the time to explain to not only me, but my daughter (10 year old) why she was experiencing pain and some ways to help manage to keep her in school.Only complaint is you have to wait 2 months for an appointment. But well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 1st, 2012
Poor service/treatment!
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The level of care we received for our son after his discharge was atrocious when doing a follow up with this group. The office was completely unprofessional in regards to some of the folks that we spoke with and they were not equipped with supplies or equipment to perform what we set up the appointment for. Their "diagnosis" and "followup" instructions lead to a trip to the ER less then 24 hours after our appointment for intestinal issues.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 11th, 2011
Great!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
We are currently working with her. We didn't wait long at all and my child has special needs so that's important to me. Her nurse was very patient and kind! I went in knowing my child had a gluten problem she mention testing other things as well. The radiologist, she refered us to was EXCELLENT!

1.0 of 5
July 30th, 2010
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Amazed that she is a "pediatric" specialist since she seems to not like children. She is also very condescending to the parent
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 18th, 2010
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor misdiagnosed my child and discharged him from the hospital. During a follow-up visit she suggested I was a hysterical mother. Later that day I diagnosed him myself through a simple Internet search. He has a devastating neurological disorder that was then confirmed by a pediatric neurologist. Dr. Chao was extremely dismissive of me and my child.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 26th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 16th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Catherine Chao, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Fairfax, VA.