The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Catherine Sam Is this you?
  • 9
  • 0
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
12.1 min
Appropriate Followup

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Catherine Sam?


14 Ratings with 4 Comments

5.0 Rating

September 18th, 2013

I LOVE Dr. Sam and the Woman's Clinic. Dr Sam understands what I am trying to tell her and knows how to answer my questions. They are always so nice. They are always right on whatever I need whether it is a referral, RX refill. And as far as promptness, she delivers babies, she can't always be on schedule. As far as follow up it is not all their fault I tend to be the one not following up.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 8th, 2012

Dr. Sam

For my second pregnancy I chose to see Dr. Sam. I am very impressed with how clean the office was, how friendly and helpful the staff is, and how truly caring Dr. Sam was. I was in my room before my appointment time and shortly after was seen by the Dr. She did everything that you have to have done at a first OBGYN visit very gently and talked me through the entire process. I felt like I had known her for years. She listened to me and took the time out to answer any of my questions or concerns. I never felt like she was rushing through our visit. I would definitely reccomend her to anyone!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 6th, 2012

Not a good experience.

I had my doubts about Dr. Sam before my surgery. First, I don't think I should have more knowledge about my ob/gyn issues than any real physician. Second, no matter how many times I kept reminding her of another genetic illness I have, she repeatedly suggested treatments that could potentially cause me serious harm. I found that scary and irresponsible. I also felt that she was a wee bit too eager to perform a surgical procedure-- not enough effort thinking about alternatives. I was desperate for a fix for a variety of reasons and went ahead with the procedure in spite of my misgivings about the doctor. I woke up from the procedure just fine but after an hour or so, developed enormous amounts of excruciating pain. Two morphine injections and hours later, the doctor still couldn't "find the time" to check on me. Thank goodness for the nurses. In fact, I was never even debriefed on what happened in surgery-- though she did spend a total of about 30 seconds showing my husband gruesome "results" photographs of my burned and mangled uterus post-procedure, which I can tell you he most definitely didn't appreciate. I should have trusted my gut and sought a second opinion in Indianapolis.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 12th, 2012

Dr Sam

I've worked with Dr Sam on heavy bleeding. I didn't want surgery and she helped me find alternatives until the time came and there wasn't an alternative. She performed the Da Vinci method of hystrectomy and it's been great.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 16th, 2016

5.0 Rating

January 24th, 2016

1.0 Rating

October 7th, 2015

5.0 Rating

September 12th, 2015

5.0 Rating

August 8th, 2015

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

April 9th, 2015

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

March 11th, 2015

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

3.7 Rating

January 7th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Catherine Sam is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Lafayette, IN.

  • Dr. Jeffrey Penman

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Lafayette, IN 0 mi

    4.9
    (18)
    32
  • Dr. Thomas Downey

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Lafayette, IN 0 mi

    4.8
    (8)
    41
  • Dr. Jon Hoversland

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Lafayette, IN 0 mi

    4.6
    (32)
    10