ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Cecil Groves Is this you?
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
19.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Cecil Groves?


10 Ratings with 5 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 29th, 2015

I love Dr. Groves, he is knowledgable and caring, I would recommend him to anyone.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 25th, 2014

Best GYN ever

I came to DR Groves with serious painful periods. He gave me several options and I ultimately decided on a hysterectomy. I had the surgery yesterday and he was awesome. Although I have been in some pain that is to be expected. And the nurses here at Sentara Leigh are so great!!!! They have made me comfortable. What a great team.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 10th, 2012

I went to this doctor after having a lot of issues with ovarian cysts. I also had a history of painful pelvic exams (mainly because doctors before chose to use a speculum that was too large for me). Dr. Groves was sensitive to my situation and he did not hurt me. He chose the proper sized speculum for a virgin and was very caring and gentle. I'd recommend him to anyone.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 30th, 2012

Dr. Groves is an AWESOME physician!!!

It's never an easy decision to have surgery. But then a transvaginal ultrasound revealed I had an 8-9 cm pedunculated subserosal fibroid on the fundus of my uterus & I knew something had to be done. My OBGYN recommended a myomectomy & sent me to meet with Dr. Groves that same week. We discussed my options & he advised me of the da Vinci procedure. Dr. Groves assured me of his competence in removal of fibroids via this method & his confidence in its ability to preserve fertility, which is extremely important to me because Im 29 & looking to start a family soon. We scheduled a laparoscopic myomectomy; however, my partner & I felt it wise to get a second opinion. That doctor also agreed the fibroid should be removed so I continued my research into the da Vinci procedure & myomectomies via the internet as I awaited my surgery. My pre-op visit was mainly a Q&A session with Dr. Groves, urine test & blood draw to make sure I was healthy. Everything came back normal & I worried myself to death in the following 4 weeks. The day before surgery, I did a light prep with Miralax instead of their standard bowel prep because I have ulcerative colitis & did not want to induce a flare but also wanted to comply with all requirements to reduce infection risk. On the day of surgery, my mother & I arrived at the hospital at 6:30AM. I was admitted & we were escorted to outpatient surgery. A nurse called me back, took my weight & provided me with a cup for a urine sample to do a pregnancy test, a hospital gown & compression stockings, then started my IV. My mother was brought back into the room and after a short period of time, Dr. Groves came in along with the Anesthesiologist. Dr. Groves made me feel calm about the procedure & the entire medical team was very confident. About 15 minutes after their departure, a CRNA & surgical assistant came in, started antibiotics and a sedative in my IV, and wheeled me off to the OR. I barely remember anything after coming into that room except there were a lot of people & I was assisted in moving from my bed to another table. The general anesthesia I was given was Propofol & I was in surgery for about 1.5 hours. I woke up in the post op area with 4 incisions (2 on the right, 1 navel & 1 larger exit on the left). As I regained full consciousness, a nurse administered Morphine by IV & graduated me from ice chips to water & saltines to induce belly sounds. I was there for a few hours before my discharge nurse took me to my post OP room. I was given gram crackers and ginger ale (I was so hungry!), a Percocet (which reduced my pain to about a 4) & my mom came back into the room. We were given discharge instructions & after some time, I went by wheelchair to the car at about 3 PM. Overall, I was in much less pain than I ever expected & I am healing at a remarkable rate, which I attribute not only to the expertise of my surgical team but also da Vinci robotics. Of course, for the first few days I had to take Percocet on a regular schedule (I started my period 2 days post OP & caught a cold from my mom at 3 days post OP), but after I began taking extra strength Tylenol. It was difficult to move and walk but today, I had my two week post op visit & I feel GREAT. My incisions are healing beautifully; I no longer require pain meds & can gradually move back into my normal routine. Best of all, no more FIBROID! All thanks to da Vinci & Dr. Groves. I am eternally grateful & looking forward to continuing my journey to motherhood.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 14th, 2011

What a super DR. I have been seeing this DR for 20 plus years and he is awesome! What a bedside manner he has and straight forward.
Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

July 12th, 2017

5.0 Rating

July 12th, 2017

5.0 Rating

August 19th, 2015

5.0 Rating

December 28th, 2009

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

August 26th, 2008

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Cecil Groves is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Norfolk, VA.

  • Dr. Daniel Noffsinger

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Norfolk, VA 0 mi

    4.9
    (11)
    16
  • Dr. Mohamad Mehdi Parva

    Dr. Mohamad Mehdi Parva

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Norfolk, VA 0 mi

    4.6
    (20)
    8
  • Dr. Giniene Pirkle

    Dr. Giniene Pirkle

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Norfolk, VA 0 mi

    4.4
    (7)
    18