Dr. Chad Abernathey MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery Cedar Rapids, IA

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 34 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

3.0 (-0.7)

34 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    65%
  • Great
    3%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    6%
  • Bad
    26%
  • Wait Time 26.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
December 9th, 2015
Dr. Abernathy identifies complications from patients previous surgery done by another Cedar Rapids neurosurgeon
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Abernathy was extremely patient, kind, and identified issues causing my pain from previous surgery by other Cedar Rapids Neurosurgeon. He validated my pain and referred me to the University to obtain another opinion for accuracy. He is a wonderful doctor and I would recommend him to anyone who wants an extremely knowledgeable doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
No description of what surgery he was to perform Horrible results
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 21st, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
not a better doctor to work with anywhere. he respects your time and gets to the point. he has done three of the four surgeries I have had and if I had known earlier about him he would have done them all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 26th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great Doctor. My husband has had 4 surgeries with Dr. Abernathy. Very skillful and great at what he does.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 5th, 2012
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent surgeon and caring physician. Well known and well respected. First choice by physicians and their families.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 12th, 2010
Best neurosurgeon in Iowa
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Abernathey performed a laminectomy on L4/L5 and I totally recovered. No more back pain. The patient who complained about Spinal Stenosis...Dr Abernathey did not cause that. That's a seperate diagnosis and there is no surgical procedute to correct that. Many people with back problems have more than one thing going wrong. Some problems can be addressed with surgery, some cannot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 27th, 2010
Not a good choice!!!!
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Since I have had two surgeries with him, I am worse. I too have spinal stenosis and he refuses to see me since "there is nothing more I can do". Since three surgeries and multiple trips to the pain clinic, my pain doctor is finally sending me to another surgeon for a reevaluation. The same discs that were "fixed" are still bulging and very painful. BE AWARE as your best intrest is not his best intrest. Run far away.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 1st, 2009
OVERRATED
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
i am worse now after he operated than i was before. He didnt help my back .He made it worse. the pain after he "fixed" my herneated disc is disabling. now i have spinal stenosis! dr. abernathey refuses so see me!saying i'm too difficult of a patient. well thats one way to have a good rating: sweep the "hard cases" away. this man has no heart. no empathy. no sympathy. he's a mechanic and i was a machine. He did his part so viola' "im fixed". IF ONLY I WERE! beware of this doctor.

5.0 of 5
December 27th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 24th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 4th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 28th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Chad Abernathey, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Cedar Rapids, IA.