ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Chad Abernathey Is this you?

Filter Reviews

34 Ratings • 8 Comments

3.8
  • 22
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
  • 9

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
26.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Chad Abernathey?

Showing 12 of 34 Ratings

Dr. Abernathy identifies complications from patients previous surgery done by another Cedar Rapids neurosurgeon

Posted on December 9th, 2015

Dr. Abernathy was extremely patient, kind, and identified issues causing my pain from previous surgery by other Cedar Rapids Neurosurgeon. He validated my pain and referred me to the University to obtain another opinion for accuracy. He is a wonderful doctor and I would recommend him to anyone who wants an extremely knowledgeable doctor.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on September 23rd, 2015

No description of what surgery he was to perform Horrible results

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on September 21st, 2015

not a better doctor to work with anywhere. he respects your time and gets to the point. he has done three of the four surgeries I have had and if I had known earlier about him he would have done them all .

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on August 26th, 2015

Great Doctor. My husband has had 4 surgeries with Dr. Abernathy. Very skillful and great at what he does.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 6th, 2012

Excellent surgeon and caring physician. Well known and well respected. First choice by physicians and their families.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Best neurosurgeon in Iowa

Posted on November 12th, 2010

Dr. Abernathey performed a laminectomy on L4/L5 and I totally recovered. No more back pain. The patient who complained about Spinal Stenosis...Dr Abernathey did not cause that. That's a seperate diagnosis and there is no surgical procedute to correct that. Many people with back problems have more than one thing going wrong. Some problems can be addressed with surgery, some cannot.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Not a good choice!!!!

Posted on September 28th, 2010

Since I have had two surgeries with him, I am worse. I too have spinal stenosis and he refuses to see me since "there is nothing more I can do". Since three surgeries and multiple trips to the pain clinic, my pain doctor is finally sending me to another surgeon for a reevaluation. The same discs that were "fixed" are still bulging and very painful. BE AWARE as your best intrest is not his best intrest. Run far away.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

OVERRATED

Posted on July 2nd, 2009

i am worse now after he operated than i was before. He didnt help my back .He made it worse. the pain after he "fixed" my herneated disc is disabling. now i have spinal stenosis! dr. abernathey refuses so see me!saying i'm too difficult of a patient. well thats one way to have a good rating: sweep the "hard cases" away. this man has no heart. no empathy. no sympathy. he's a mechanic and i was a machine. He did his part so viola' "im fixed". IF ONLY I WERE! beware of this doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 27th, 2016

One Star

Posted on August 24th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on July 4th, 2016

One Star

Posted on June 29th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Chad Abernathey is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Cedar Rapids, IA.