The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Charles Butrick Is this you?
  • 17
  • 2
  • 3
  • 3
  • 20

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
15.5 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Charles Butrick?


45 Ratings with 25 Comments

1.0 Rating

March 30th, 2017

Stop - Research other Doctors

I'm sorry to say that I encouraged another woman to go to him out of respect for my doctor. After she went for an opinion, I told her how I really felt. I would not recommend him to my worst enemy. He might be good at his profession, but he has a HUGE ego about himself. It's his way or the highway. He expects you to listen to him, but he does not listen to you. Goes behind your back with your questions, requests, comments. He's NOT the best, there are so many other urogynecologist in the Kansas City area. You will be very happy you went somewhere else.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 4th, 2016

Read the Reviews and Believe Them

I was told I had a likely pelvic floor strain by my obgyn. Dr Butrick came highly recommended by a number of professions. He is talked about like some kind of genius. I read the awful reviews about him but decided it was safe to see him since I wouldn't be having surgery. Yep, he is an arrogant jerk with no bedside manner, but I was willing to overlook that if he could help me. He never referred me to an MRI even though my symptoms didn't improve. As a younger woman that has never given birth, my symptoms should have seemed unusual enough to provoke additional testing. In addition to PT, he put me on muscle relaxers and an anti-depressant and then was highly annoyed when I returned over 6 months later and had stopped taking them. My pain had resolved and I saw no need to take them anymore. The pain did return and that is why I went back to see him. In addition to my pelvic pain, I had developed back spasms so bad that I actually wept laying on the table with him. I am not a dramatic or emotional person. With absolutely no compassion, he told me that he didn't do backs and I needed to see a back doctor. I asked if he could please write another script for Tramadol (a mild pain reliever that barely managed the pain) and he refused, even though his nurse had previously sent in a script for me. I left his office in tears, something I have never done before. Turns out, I had a spinal mass, which was the cause of all my pelvic and back pain. I would have found out about this a year earlier if he had even thought to ask for imaging. Read the reviews and believe them.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 16th, 2016

I am more than happy with the outcome of my surgery by Dr. Butrick. It has definitely changed my life for the better. I highly recommend him!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 18th, 2016

wonderful caring doctor

I flew into see Dr.Butrick from another state for a consult for pelvic pain.I had a very thorough exam and a long discussion in his office following. He was extremely caring and knowledgable. He was open to answering all my questions. He did not rush us and i left with a treatment plan. His office staff could not be any more helpful. They have all continued to help me and even helped me find referrals closer to home. A wonderful doctor.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 12th, 2015

I still cry to think I went to this doctor. If my problem resurfaces, I will go to someone else. The worse bedside manner. He has no bedside manner. Arrogant jerk. Do not go to him. Find someone else. It's his way or no way. Does not listen to patients and they are not included in their health decisions. Run away from this doctor.

Doctor's Response

None

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 5th, 2015

Great Experience

I had a difficult time getting an appointment. But keep trying. It is worth it!! I have been to urologists for many years and haven't been helped. He diagnosed my issue right away and I feel better than I have felt in years. This appointment was literally LIFE CHANGING!! I am thankful for his help.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 2nd, 2015

One Star Too Many

I'm happy to read others who feel the same way that I do. I agree 100% with the last 3 posts from other patients. Asks questions that I didn't understand and then would get upset when you answered the question. Would get irritated when I asked him a question. He didn't want to be bothered. He wanted control of the appointment. He definitely has a control issue. The last time I was there, I walked into a full waiting room and the person behind desk, in a loud voice, indicated I was late with a payment. I didn't make a comment, just pulled out the check (that was already written) stapled to the invoice and placed it on the desk. Why mail a payment, wasting a stamp, when I had an appointment and could hand deliver. Very unprofessional of them and no apology from them. He's loud in the exam rooms. Patients can hear what is going on in the next room. I guess this office doesn't follow HIPAA? Would not recommend him and will not return.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 23rd, 2015

This doctor does not explain a thing. Has an ego that prevents any interaction with him.

Doctor's Response

None

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 22nd, 2015

Dr. Butrick is condescending, asks questions in a way most people can't understand (I have a Master's degree, so I'm not stupid) and then gets angry, frustrated and impatient when you don't answer it "correctly". He has no compassion, either when a patient is in pain or is sharing with him about your experience of pain. He absolutely HATES it when anyone asks questions, particularly regarding something he's recommended. I will NOT see him anymore! However, Margo, one of his nurse practitioners is quite knowledgeable and much more friendly. I see her now. Also, Dr. Butrick's nurse, who was beside me during a very painful procedure, was the total opposite of him. She was kind, caring, understanding and sweet. Steer clear of Dr. Butrick!

Doctor's Response

None

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 18th, 2015

Run away - Find Another Doctor

Most memorable would be arriving 1/2 hour early and was called back within 5 minutes. A Positive would be ease of location. A Negative would be the arrogant physician that does not like a patient coming prepared. Throws a fit and gets irritated with the patients. Wasn't impressed with the staff. They had a hodge podge of people working for them. Wasn't impressed with the doctor. Don't even make an appointment.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 21st, 2014

A very good Dr.

Dr. was very thorough in telling me what to expect, explained my options and gave me time to understand it all. Considering he had to repair what another Dr. did not do properly, there was no comparison when it came to the professional manner in which Dr. Butrick manages his office. It makes it easier for the patient to concentrate on getting well.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 12th, 2013

GET A SECOND OPINION !!!

I had surgery by Dr. Butric. What he did will cause me a lifetime of pain. GET A SECOND OPINION !! If Dr. Butrick had his way, I would have a colostomy bag resulting from a mesh he placed in my body. I thank God I got a second opinion instead of rushing into an emergency surgery to repair damage done by his first one. I kept complaining regarding pain & all he said was it was muscle spasm and to get physical therapy. He was just waiting until the mesh had eroded so severely thruout my body I had no other choice but to have another damaging surgery trying to repair the mess he made of my body. Dr. Butrick DID NOT do the second surgery. I now have a life of constant pain because of what he had done.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Charles Butrick is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Leawood, KS.

  • Dr. Jane Stewart

    Family Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Hospitalist

    Leawood, KS 0.28 mi

    2.8
    (12)
    19
  • Dr. Henry Bishop

    Dr. Henry Bishop

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Overland Park, KS 0.30 mi

    5.0
    (7)
    34
  • Dr. Parul Nguyen

    Dr. Parul Nguyen

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Overland Park, KS 0.35 mi

    4.7
    (14)
    15