Dr. Charles Carnel MD Patient Reviews

  • Pain Management Birmingham, AL

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 28 patient ratings
  • 5 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 0.4)

28 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    54%
  • Great
    21%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    4%
  • Bad
    18%
  • Wait Time 35.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
June 1st, 2017
Very thoughtful and considerate
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Carnel sees me for my lower back pain. I had a ct myelogram done may 26 and developed a horrible spinal migraine! Even though it was Memorial Day his nurse on call and him made sure I was on the schedule for the next morning for a blood patch! I have never had a doctor that was so caring! I would most definitely recommend him to anyone!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 1st, 2017
Very thoughtful and considerate
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Carnel sees me for my lower back pain. I had a ct myelogram done may 26 and developed a horrible spinal migraine! Even though it was Memorial Day his nurse on call and him made sure I was on the schedule for the next morning for a blood patch! I have never had a doctor that was so caring! I would most definitely recommend him to anyone!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 14th, 2015
Definitely not a doctor I'd recommend.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I wouldn't recommend this doctor to anyone that I like! He is very arrogant and if you aren't happy with the care you receive from him, he doesn't seem to care or offer any options and isn't willing to discuss referring you to another doctor who might have other ideas about how to help you. He doesn't do his own MRI'S to see if he agrees with the original MRI results or just to have different imaging to go by, and different MRI machines give better or worse images.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 30th, 2014
Patient Review
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I love Dr. Carnels beside manners, he seems concerned, maybe not always having a solution. I have visited him for severe neck pain. We have done the blocks and they are temporary and I know this when I have them done. My next visit is gonna be to try and find a solution. I also see him at the pain cliniic overall I do like Dr. Carnell. What I do not like is the wait time it is awful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 26th, 2012
Pain diagnosis
Wait time
40 minutes
I have suffered with hip and lower back pain for years. I was told 5 years ago I needed a new right hip and that was all there was to it. I asked about injections and was told they were unreliable and ineffective. I finally decided to go to the Andrews clinic in Birmingham and was referred to Dr Carnell for a workup. He started with my back but went to the hip after I described my issues there. He asked if I had ever had a block/injection and I said no, the other Orthopods I had seen only seemed to want to operate. He too said I needed a new hip but prescribed a block/injection as both a diagnostic tool(to make sure where the pain originated) and for temporary relief. I had my injection yesterday and I am truly amazed and relatively free from pain. I realize this is only temporary but it gives me hope for what I might can look forward to when the time comes for a replacement. Thanks Dr. Carnel
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 16th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 16th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 14th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 14th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 26th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 11th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
May 8th, 2017

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Charles Carnel, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Birmingham, AL.