The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Charles Kaufman Is this you?

Filter Reviews

38 Ratings • 11 Comments

3.5
  • 20
  • 1
  • 2
  • 5
  • 10

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
32.5 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Charles Kaufman?

Showing 12 of 38 Ratings

Very compassionate to my needs and plan of care

Posted on February 7th, 2017

I was so pleased with Dr. Kaufman. He was so nice and explained everything to me in a language I understood. He never one talked down to me and I was not interrupted when I tried to speak. Dr. Kaufman was very polite.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Don't bother

Posted on April 16th, 2015

Arrogant, rude, unprofessional and the most profoundly impudent doctor I have ever encountered.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Changed my Life

Posted on April 10th, 2013

I read the other comments about Dr. Kaufman's bedside manner and its laughable. My first appointment I was so scared because some doctors treat migraines so lightly. He spent lots of time with me and really tried to understand my days and what may be contributing to my pain. He isnt warm, but he is by no means rude. He is straight to the point and efficient which I appreciate. He wanted to know all about me, my work, my life to try and help me. Three years later I am a different person and he helped me make the changes that have all but eliminated my migraines. I think some people want to get rid of the pain without making any changes and that's not realistic. If you are truly suffering like I was then you will do what the doctor says and you will get results.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Horrible Experience

Posted on April 2nd, 2013

Instead of writing a huge paragraph, I'll sum it up....I saw Kaufman for migraines, everything was okay at first. Getting Botox scheduled was ridiculous(I'm a nurse and deal with botox everyday, so I know insurance comes into factor, but it doesnt take 6 weeks to authorize botox through insurance) Botox worked great for my migraines, injection went great as well.....then....a total change happened Kaufman became rude, arrogant, he acted like he could care less, and that I was a complete inconvience to him. I was due for Botox again (they scheduled me for 4months) his office called twice to confirm my appt time the day before.....the next day(my appt) they called 2.5hours before my appt to say they had not recieved my Botox and was canceling my appt and they could not tell me how long it would be before it came in....His office is terrible to reach, his bedside manor is HORRIBLE, I am NO LONGER a patient of his and will never refer anyone to him.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Horrible experience

Posted on October 30th, 2012

This was the first time I have ever been "fussed" at by a physician. He humiliated me and actually made me cry. He wouldn't even listen to my history to figure out the problem. He had his mind made up within one minute of the visit (which the appt only lasted about 10 min). I felt hopeless after leaving, but picked myself up and made an appointment with a REAL physician. He shouldn't be able to practice anymore.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on June 22nd, 2012

He treated me horribly. I have never experienced a doctor as terrible as him.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 21st, 2012

Dr. Kaufman has been my neurologist for over ten years. He answers all my questions and follows up with tests as needed. I have had one stroke and 2 TIAs, and I trust him to make correct medical decisions for me. His staff has been very polite, and I leave the office feeling I have been very well treated. I would now and have in the past recommended him to others.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

ARROGANT

Posted on November 16th, 2011

Can he really be a doctor? This was the most arrogant man I have ever met in my life! Words to describe this man: arrogant, rude, obnoxious, uncaring, bad attitude toward the patient. Need I go on, because there are many more words I could use.I went with my mother--we saw him twice...he was rude the first visit, but when we had to see him a 2nd visit, I had hoped that maybe the 1st time we saw him was a bad day for him...well, he was worse the 2nd visit.He had my mother crying, as well as me crying before we left out of his office...and was even continuing belittling my mother as we were walking out. With tears in my eyes I asked this man...If this were your mother in so much pain, what would you do? His response....all her problems are in her head, so you need to take her to see about having her committed or talk to someone at Cope at the Lake. Really? He spoke these things with such a harsh tone...and as we were walking out and my mom said she was done with doctors, He was still saying hurtful things to her---He said see you are walking fine, and you just don't want to get better.I would NEVER recommend this doctor to anyone.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

See someone else

Posted on November 14th, 2011

This doctor has the WORST I have ever seen. Not only is his bedside manner the most horrible I have ever seen, but likes to be-little you along the way. I would say he is past retirement. I should of listen to his other patients. If you ask about something else he lets you know your not the doctor. First visit...he was rude...second worst...going to another doctor, who at least acts like they care. Oh and expect about a 1.5 to 2.0 hour wait on your second visit. Can't understand why he still practices.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on October 18th, 2011

On first visit, he was very nice and pleasant. I thought he was going to be a great doctor. Went back for follow-up, had to wait an hour-and-a-half to not be told anything. He did nerve conduction studies, six types of MRIs and all kinds of tests. From all these tests, which he gets paid for, I did not get told anything but that I had a disc in my neck; no big deal. Yeah, right the pain is no big deal.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Changing Meds, Doctors; bedside manner.

Posted on May 20th, 2009

I have been a patient for 5 yrs. during that time I have ONLY seen Dr. Kaufman about 4 X's. the rest of the visits I have been seen by Meagan,his asst.She has treated me and HAS Cared for ME ALL this time.She has ordered at least 2 MRI scans to be run and other tests done. She has been giving me Medication to get my Headaches Under control.She had givin me Nerve Block SHOTS in my lower neck and higher up the base of my neck close to the baack of my head. I've PAID the cost of seeing a specialist for 5yrs. while being TREATED by a Physician Assistant. NOW,she has left clinic of which I was not made aware of and now I am being seen by Dr.Kaufman whom doesn't EVEN know me really, Nor has he been treating me for the last 5 yrs.and he desides to change and DO away with some of my medication I have been on that I FEEL I NEED because it took Meagan a long time to get my headaches under some kind of control. The MOST important is my SLEEPING medication I was on. Because without sleep,I DO get Headaches. BUt HE thinks I don't need it. So yesterday he gave me a NEW Med.I got it filled at Wal-Mart. Well, I spent the night AWAKE !!! all night long AWAKE ! I am so tired I can't think. It was weird..like I was drugged, laying there in some kind of state of mind knowing I'm awake but not really being able to move enough to get up.THEN, I ENDED UP with a MONSTER HEADACHE. GREAT !!! Thanks a LOT.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on April 17th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Charles Kaufman is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Baton Rouge, LA.