Dr. Charles Portera Jr MD, FACS Patient Reviews

  • Surgical Oncology Anchorage, AK

Overall Rating

4.4
  • 15 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.6)

15 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    73%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    13%
  • Poor
    7%
  • Bad
    7%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 15 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
August 18th, 2012
Holly Scott Abdominal and Small Bowel cancer
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have to rate Dr. Portera as excellent. A wonderful caring surgeon who treats not only the patient, but also the family. He explained everything that he would be doing during my surgery in a manner that was easy to understand to both myself and my family. Allowing us enough time for any questions we might have and answering all of them. I felt graced to have such a wonderful surgeon by my side during my operation. Many thanks to Dr. Portera his staff and his surgical team for all that they did for me and my family. You are a Blessing to those you treat.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 17th, 2011
Espohagael Cancer Survivor
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Active with National EC group and not surprised that DR. P. exceeds any other surgeons approach to one of the most deadly cancers. His approach is based upon repeatably of known steps in surgery and recovery. As a combat Marine, cancer is viet nam jungle warfare. Dr. P can be counted on to stand & deliver when chips are on the table. Plus you gotta luv the cowboy boots. Semper Fi
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 17th, 2011
Esophagael Cancer Ivor Lewis Procedure
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Credit Dr. Protera for providing highest level of medical attention for a procedure with high morbidity rate. Attention to details and using repeatable results gave me a chance for quality of life after cancer. Dr. Portera was quick to see issues and put a plan in place to solve. He used a proven team of other doctors, nurses & techs that focused on patient care before, during, and after surgery. You gonna luv tha cowboy boots and bedside manner!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 5th, 2010
Excellent Care from Dr. Charles Portera
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband was treated for colon cancer, and we were all impressed with his exceptional care and expertise. He was so caring and attentive; we will never forget him. My husband made a full recovery thanks to this doctor and his staff.(Thank you Dr. Portera and to your staff, as well!)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 14th, 2010
Dr. Portera
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I feel Dr. Portera saved my husband's life. He and his staff don't just treat the patient, they treat the whole family! God Bless He and His Team!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 31st, 2009
Excellent physician
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Handled my complex situation with great skill . . and compassion.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 4th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 6th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 of 5
April 14th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 30th, 2014

3.7 of 5
July 15th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
July 3rd, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Charles Portera Jr, MD, FACS is similar to these 3 Doctors near Anchorage, AK.