The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Charles Sweet Is this you?
  • 20
  • 0
  • 4
  • 4
  • 7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
10.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Charles Sweet?


35 Ratings with 12 Comments

1.0 Rating

June 12th, 2015

Terrible! Awful! Worst experience at a doctors office ever. No one ever calls you back unless it has to do with billing-go figure. Never provide a receipt and won't send one to you. Wrong diagnosis. Bad follow up. Won't ever go back!

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 17th, 2015

I've seen a lot of psychiatrists over the years. I feel Dr. Sweet is the best of those I have seen.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 8th, 2015

Terrible. Worst care I have ever received. No one ever calls you back!

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 12th, 2015

A great choice!

Best Doctor I have found in Austin. Knows his stuff and doesn't waste time.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

January 27th, 2015

concerns with staff not passing on messages

I had a bad reaction to some medication that Dr. Sweet prescribed. I left message after message with his staff, but no one ever got back to me. I would have loved Dr. Sweet's input on what to do (stop taking immediately? titrate off? switch to something else?), but was left to figure this out on my own. There's no excuse for that. For Dr. Sweet himself, I have no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 24th, 2012

good adult care experience

Dr. Sweet was careful not to diagnose me with a psychiatric illness without first ruling out other health issues, which was enormously comforting to me as a first time psych patient. As an adult patient I've had a very positive relationship with Dr. Sweet. I shared with him what my treatment goals are and he's done a great job helping me reach those goals. He also very graciously answers emails between office visits which has been invaluable to me.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 15th, 2012

He's our family doctor

My son and I are both patients of Dr. Sweet. He is a very calm doctor with a tranquil office and attentive disposition. It's amazing how he treats both of us according to our personalities and not in a cookie-cutter-meds-dispenser kind of way. I highly recommend Dr. Sweet to anyone looking for a psychiatrist in Austin.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 5th, 2012

Very good experience

I have been seeing Dr. Sweet for several months now and have found him extremely patient and careful in making a diagnosis, as well as responsive (both in the office and on the phone) to the difficulties I have with medication. Since he has not been quick to diagnose me and has never judged any of the undeniably bizarre neuroses I have explained to him, I trust him more than any psychiatrist I have seen before. My only complaint is the office staff. They seem overwhelmed, and thus, unable to be patient with the patients.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

July 24th, 2012

Another adult perspective

I agree with the previous reviewer regarding bedside manner (I am an adult). I realize that some psychiatrists purposefully do not give feedback (show emotion, nodding, smiling, etc.) when a patient is talking in order not to influence what the patient says, but the level of disengagement here is disconcerting and even upsetting. I know that a psychiatrist is not a therapist, but I have had much more humane, even if still scientific-ish rapport with psychiatrists in the past.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

July 14th, 2012

As an adult Psychiatrist, he's not there, I'm not sure he's concerned w/ following up or one's well being. Hopefully for children he's better engaged & more willing to provide support, answers & interest (which I believe he's capable of) & not just dole out meds. If meds are all you need, go for it, but you have to deal w/ a less than stellar office staff & zero bedside manner. You'll definitely not have to worry about wasted time, he doesn't.

Doctor's Response

With our new clinic, the staff and I are better able to respond to our patient's needs.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 22nd, 2012

The Best of the Best

Dr. Sweet was a miracle for us. He is an amazing human being and doctor. Really cares about you and the family. Listens closely and asks lots of questions. Not quick to rush to a diagnosis. I recommend him highly. He is very patient and calm and honestly one of the best psychiatrists in Austin.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 16th, 2011

Excellent Care

Listens to you and seeks your input. Does not condescend. Explains medications - options, side effects, symptoms best treated by particular med. Answers questions in understandable terms.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Charles Sweet is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Austin, TX.

  • Dr. Divyansu Patel

    Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    Austin, TX 0 mi

    4.0
    (14)
    11
  • Dr. Willem Bok III

    Dr. Willem Bok III

    Anesthesiology, Psychiatry

    Austin, TX 0.27 mi

    5
  • Dr. Rajniderpal Kaur

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Austin, TX 0.27 mi

    5