Surgeon, Plastic Surgeon
31 years of experience

Accepting new patients
John D Dingell Va Medical Center
4646 John R St
Medical Center, Detroit, MI 48201
313-576-1000
Locations and availability (5)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
4.0
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

42

Total Reviews

26

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 3.7692307692308 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 3.975 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 29 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Loyal Friend  |  show details
by Robert C. Eedy on Feb 11th, 2014

Absolutely the best Doctor and FRIEND A person could ever have. I love this man. He didn't care if you were rich or poor. He was friends with everyone he met. He was a wonderful husband and father. I love you Bala.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  A true loss to the patients  |  show details
by Jennifer on Feb 3rd, 2014

I was in an auto accident in 2007, Dr. Bala helped save my leg. I went to see him about where the knee surgeon should cut in order to do the knee replacement I needed. He wanted to be in the operating room, that was in 2008. I went to consult with another knee surgeon and ended up needing my femur reconstructed. Since then I have had many surgeries and I am finally ready to get the knee replacement I need. Well, my amazing foot and ankle surgeon got in touch with Dr. Bala and he took me into his schedule. Well, last week I got a call that Dr. Bala had a heart attack and that I would get a call to reschedule when Dr. Bala was seeing patients again. Well, this morning I got the dreaded email that there has been yet another very sad loss to the DMC staff. RIP, Dr. Bala.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Most compassionate and competent hand doctor for your child  |  show details
by Kathy on Dec 22nd, 2013

I have been bringing my children to Children's Hospital for different reasons. Dr Bala probably the most compassionate doctor for my children He is the most comment one I have seen for hand injuries and treats your child as if it is his nephew or niece

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  kind hearted and compassionate  |  show details
by Robert john Williams on Nov 13th, 2013

Cut my hand and was seen in the emergency room followed by a clinic visit. I was scheduled for surgery three times and due to different reasons, transportation, money, court date, did not show up. Went back to see Dr Bala who still was happy to do the tendon graft almost two months after injury. When I went to the hospital, the nurses were so nice and told me that they would only have their surgery done by this doctor. He was good and I have full function

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Thank god, Dr Bala is back at DMC  |  show details
by Deonte McCall on Jul 28th, 2013

Dr Bala has treated me, my family and friends at the Receiving Hospital for Burns, Hand injury and Gun Shots. I even changed my life and got a degree from community college. When he left the Receiving and was at the veterans, I called there last month to see if he can see my son to make sure the other doctor was doing the right thing. He told me he could not see him until he has his paper work through which was heart breaking. My son was I think the first when he has his paper work through. His advise is so comforting.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Master surgeon  |  show details
by Amy doubles on Apr 30th, 2013

I have been working in the same hospital where dr Bala operates. He always have a gang with him -students, residents and fellows. They all think highly of him as he is an excellent teacher, surgeon and person. Whoever works in his room considers them lucky. We all love him as he talks us like one of us. At the VA hospital they all like him and even gives away his vacation time to other staff.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  excellent hand surgeon  |  show details
Oct 26th, 2012

He fixed my tendons, bone and nerves following a saw injury. The hand is almost as good as it was.No wonder everyone loves him!

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  My hero  |  show details
Oct 7th, 2012

Saving my leg following a motor cycle crash made Dr Bala my hero. I did not think it is possible and Dr Olephant told me if anyone can do magic that is Dr Bala. He is so sure of what he can do and explains his plans. If I win a lotto, I will give him half.Michael Johnson

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jun 12th, 2012

Excellent surgeon, Caring and looks after you all the time even when he is on vacation

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  LIFE TIME!  |  show details
May 29th, 2012

My parents gave me life, but you sir, with your knowledge and skill gave me my life back! Had the procedure failed, I was going to call it a life time. So you can see, that words fall far short of stating the depth of my gratitude.Sincerely Timothy P Reardon

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  DR Bala, the greatest  |  show details
Oct 25th, 2011

Very considerate and compassionate physician who deserves credit.Family man who takes care of the kids like his own. Very taleneted and excellent clinical skills. His daughter was the best medical student at the hosptial. Her talents came from her dad.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Compassionate and caring  |  show details
Aug 13th, 2011

Very compassionate and caring. Has a good team and staff Tiffany griffin

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Most compassionate doctor we have met  |  show details
Jul 19th, 2011

Our child has a rare skin condition with deformity. We have seen doctors in Ann arbor, Maryland and Boston. He has no function along with other problems.Only doctor so far was compassionate and willing to help him is Dr Bala. God Bless him and his family

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
May 13th, 2011

My father was under care of Dr Bala for his leg injury and has done well with a flap reconstruction. My father has always been so difficult to get along and never likes anyone. But after his surgery with Dr Bala, he has changed and always talks about him as the best individual he has ever met. We all think that Dr Bala is the most compassionate doctor our family has ever seen

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  The surgeon you need  |  show details
by Gary Stevens on Apr 8th, 2011

I have a patient of Dr BALA twice now, one for my compound leg fracture and now for gun shot wound to hand. This doctor is Good and he can fix you good. He remembers you and tells you things you told him five years ago.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
by Patrick nolan on Apr 2nd, 2011

An excellent affectionate physician. Looks after you as he will take care of his child, parent or sibling

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jan 11th, 2011

Excellent surgeon - a pleasure to work with. Most of the staff are his patient due his competence

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Simply the best  |  show details
by Richard Kelly, Grand Rapids on Jan 7th, 2011

Sitting in the waiting room at the Detroit VA on Mondays waiting to be seen in the Hand and Plastic Surgery clinic gives an insight of the popularity of Dr Bala. He takes care of you as though he is your brother/sister or father/uncle.He is an asset to the Detroit VA. No wonder there are too many patients in his clinc.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
by gary on Dec 18th, 2010

He is the busiest surgeon I know off. His patients love him and think highly off him. The Orthopedic surgeons consider him as the best in town for soft tissue coverage

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Best in town  |  show details
by Kelvin michael Young on Nov 22nd, 2010

When I got shot and cannot move the wrist, I went to a neurosurgeon who told me I had a nerve injury. He asked me to see Dr Bala. Dr Bala told me that I could get good function by tendon transfer. He even said that that this would be what he will advice his family member. My father and I was not sure and decided to talk to mother although He was willing to operate on me. Being a undergrad student, We discussed at home and decided to get a second openion who told us to wait for 6 months. I went back to Dr Bala after almost a year from injury, who said the same thing 'verbatum' from my last appointment. I had the surgery the week after and at 4 weeks I can use my hand with a shorter splint.I wish I had it done in 2009

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Caring and considerate  |  show details
by D. Turnbull on Jul 25th, 2010

From the time I called DR Bala's office to my last appointment, it has been a perfect experience. His nurse, Ceclia is a sweetheart. She made my procedure so easy and my wife was surprised about me - she thought I will be angry with everyone.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Simply the best  |  show details
by Ryan and Amanda on Jun 19th, 2010

Excellent microsurgeon and the best kept secret at Detroit Medical Center. Very compassionate, puts his patient above his family

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Excellent physician who treats everyone like his family  |  show details
by alextimes@yahoo.com on Jun 3rd, 2010

Treats patients like family. Compassionate, excellent teacher to residents and staff. His clinics are always busy due to his competence and patient care skills

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  siddique osman  |  show details
by Osman on Apr 24th, 2010

Being in Friends and family for DMC cut my wait time to see this exceptionally talented physicina - microsurgeon. Very honest, compassionate physician who has the skills beyond discription. He is probably a best kept secret at DMC

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Best microsurgeon in town  |  show details
by John Buckner on Apr 17th, 2010

If you ever cut your finger off look for Dr Bala - If anyone can put it back on this is your doctor.A circular saw cut my fingers off and had no insurence - I can use my hand and I have a job. I quit smoking too.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
by Levelle James on Oct 16th, 2008

Excellent technical skills. excellent teacher and educator