Dr. Cheryl Newman MD Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Penfield, NY

Overall Rating

2.6
  • 11 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 2.4)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    27%
  • Great
    9%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    18%
  • Bad
    45%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 47.8 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

1.0 of 5
February 15th, 2016
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would stay clear of this practice. I was told to keep coming back for "things" I knew I didn't need to. For every issue you are asked a question about..you are charged. Just for it being talked about. Even if you didn't bring it up. Being an adult who has had quite a few long term health care providers, I found it disturbing that I was told to keep coming back every 6 months...when there was nothing wrong with me. Rudest staff I have ever dealt with in my life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
November 27th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Super long wait. Waited two hrs to be seen. Very derogatory and condescending attitude. I changed doctors.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 11th, 2015
do not go to this doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor refused to give me a physical necessary for a job due to not following up in over a year claiming I didn't follow medical advice. They were aware my job situation had changed and I didn't have health coverage. I wasn't refusing to follow medical advice, I just didn't have the means to pay for it. I am required to get a physical for a new job and they refused and then when I got upset since they were refusing to see me for what I asked for, they dropped me a patient.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 5th, 2014
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Maybe if you're a perfectly healthy person, she's not for you. But I have an illness that went ignored and undiagnosed until I saw her. She was thorough, and is working diligently as my advocate in obtaining the testing and treatment that I need. Yes, it can be a long wait, because she gives each patient her full attention, and does take emergency appointments throughout the day. I fully recommend her to anyone who needs a family doctor for more than just your yearly physical.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 7th, 2014
Pathetic
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I never had any problem with the doctor (other than her telling my young DAUGHTERS that they were overweight). It's her rude, arrogant, self absorbed HUSBAND...who works there as her receptionist (he's an achiever). His treatment of patients is atrocious...and, if I were her, I'd be searching feverishly for his replacement.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 3rd, 2014
Not Willing To Reccommend
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would not send anyone I knew to this doctor. She seemed very nice at first, but that niceness quickly faded into rude remarks about my weight (I am 5'4" and 120 lbs), hounding phone calls, and horrible bedside manner. I have never been treated so rudely by a doctor. Not to mention, the morning of an appointment, my car wouldn't start. I called her 4 hours before my scheduled time to let her know I wouldn't be able to make it in, and looking to reschedule. Her very rude receptionist told me I would be billed a FIFTY DOLLAR missed appointment charge. That is absolutely ridiculous! I was told there was no way around it, which is crap. Run far away, and quickly.

1.0 of 5
February 22nd, 2012
Several Bad Visits
Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Sadly, I would not reccomend this doctor to my worst enemy. At first Dr. Newman seemed nice enough however the facade faded pretty quickly. She is curt and rude and although I tossed it up to her maybe having a bad day, it happens at every appointment. Besides her terrible bed side manner, her secretary is volitile and disagreeable. Along with that, every appointmant takes at least 2 hours because I'm made to wait so long before seeing the doctor.I have recently switched doctors because I felt this office was actually pretty harmful to my sense of health and well-being.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 25th, 2010
Best doctor I have ever had.
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 27th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
December 21st, 2010
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
August 5th, 2010
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Cheryl Newman, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Penfield, NY.