Dr. Christine Masterson MD, FACOG Patient Reviews

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology Berkeley Heights, NJ

Overall Rating

4.2
  • 30 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 0.1)

30 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    57%
  • Great
    17%
  • Good
    20%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    7%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 23 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
May 17th, 2017
Great bedside manner
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Masterson has a fantastic bedside manner and really listened to my concerns. She outlined all my options for treatment of my fibroids and did not jump straight to surgery. I like a more conservative approach and she was perfect. She followed up with every recommended test and exam to either give me the results via phone and/or the patient portal and mail. I delayed scheduling a mammogram once and her office sent reminders via email, letters, and certified letter. You will never skip your annual tests with Dr. Masterson. Ultimately had to get a hysterectomy and again she walked me through what to expect and did a fantastic job. Recovery going wonderfully. I trust her so much that I have had her also see my teenage daughter for heavy period treatment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 27th, 2016
Does not follow up test results
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I know she has good reviews and that was the reason why we chose Dr. Masterson. She is soft-spoken and has great bed-side manners, but it ends there. I had one visit with her which went well. However she was not on top of the test results. The test results were delayed. I had to call 2-3 times to finally get the test results. My hemoglobin dropped 8.9 and she did not even bother to prescribe iron. When I questioned why my blood test results were delayed for 8 days she said she was waiting for genetic tests because I may have Thalassemia. I had to correct her that there is no indication of thalassemia in my test results since the hemoglobin electrophoresis was normal. I had to literally tell her to prescribe me iron. I had spent 2 hours in CVS since her office messed up the prescription. She told me I have a UTI (enterococcus) and prescribed me antibiotic which I pick up from pharmacy. Luckily, I saw another doctor where I work and was confirmed that I do not have UTI and that enterococcus was a common skin contaminant and should not take the antibiotic she prescribed. She did the triple first trimester testing and the blood results set in St. Barnabas for 2 weeks, no phone call from anyone. When I went to St. Barnabas for nuchal translucency ultrasound and genetic counseling at my 12 week pregnancy I was told the blood results were extremely abnormal and I have a 1:8 chance of having a baby with Down syndrome. We had to rush and to invasive placenta biopsy since I was already at week 12 to do genetic testing. Needless to say I will be seeing another OBGYN. I would have given her zero star I could.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
October 2nd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
highly recommend Dr.m she's very caring and actually cares about your well being ...took her time to explain everything .. Very gentle .. If you need an OBGYN she's def the one
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 23rd, 2013
Very Good
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I will not go to any other doctor besides this one. The staff at this institution sucks and I have no idea where half of them crawled out of, but that's not her fault. Amazing bedside manner and actually listens to patients. Was worth waiting 3 months for an appointment (partially my own fault due to my work schedule). She's booked for a reason though. You cannot get better care from any other obgyn in this state.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 21st, 2012
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I am a recent new patient. I made an appointment for an annual exam and had to wait 3 months. I have been told that for emergencies or general appointments the wait is not long at all. My appointment was 6:30. I was a little early and seen right away. The nurse got my vitals and gave me a gown and a paper to cover myself with which is much more than I usually am given. I waited maybe 3 minutes before Dr. Masterson came in. She went through my history and asked several questions. There is a history of Ovarian cancer in my family and she asked about that and discussed early screening for myself etc. The exam was very gentle and as comfortable as that sort of thing can be. I was done in 10 minutes. Some may think that was too quick for their taste and not enough adequate time was spent. I felt that she asked questions that if I felt I need to discuss she would have discussed them. Since everything other than the cancer history was clear and discussed, I was in and out and on my way. I also had no post cramping or bleeding like I've had in the past with an annual exam.

3.7 of 5
June 13th, 2011
mrs. c lorenzo
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
good overall but could spend more time with patient
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 15th, 2008
Watch out for this Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I recently moved to NJ and made an appointment with Dr. Masterson for my yearly exam. My appointment was set for 2:30. I arrived early and completed my paperwork. The receptionist was very friendly and the office appeared clean and orderly. I was quickly called back into a room. The nurse asked what medicines I was on, took my weight and blood pressure, and asked for my height. She then had me put on a gown to wait for the doctor. Forty minutes later, Dr. Masterson arrived (3:10). I was in my car at 3:20. No joke! Dr. Masterson came in - keep in mind this is the first time I've been in to see her - and took a pap smear, pressed my breasts and ovaries, and sent me on my way. She did NOT get a complete medical history. She did NOT ask for a history of family members with cancer. She did NOT spend any time on my exam. When I asked her about the HPV vaccine, she gave me false information (as verified by the FDA website.) I've been getting exams for about 12 years, and I have never had a physician spend so little time with me. I read reviews and researched her background before selecting her for my appointment. That is why I am writing this review, for those of you who check up on physicians before selecting them. She may be wonderful to her ongoing patients, but I STRONGLY recommend that new patients look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 28th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 28th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 15th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 15th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 17th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Christine Masterson, MD, FACOG is similar to these 3 Doctors near Berkeley Heights, NJ.