The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Christopher Prater Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Christopher Prater?

Ratings and Reviews

14 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    8
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    8
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
11 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 14 Ratings with 7 Comments

1.0 Rating

September 5th, 2016

Pushes his views, doesn't listen to your needs.

I'm a suboxone patient, haven't used him for long but this guy is adamant about his way being the only way. He has a god complex and assumes that because he was once an addict he knows all. If you're spiritual and religious that's great, but pushing the 12 steps on everyone and telling them they have to have a spiritual experience is really damaging. He forces tapers when he wants them to happen and doesn't accept insurance. His prices are also higher than most, I was even forced to genetic testing for his statistics obsession during the brief time I was there. Do not recommend this doctor, if you're heavily religious and plan to use suboxone as a very brief and temporary tool, he can work, but if you need to work on a lot in your life in the long term and aren't religious, this is about the worst man you can go to for help. 1/10, would rather die of withdrawal on the street than go back to him. So glad I found someone else two months ago.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 24th, 2015

You couldn't ask for a more caring knowledgeable guy.he saved my life

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 15th, 2013

Senior Patients

Excellent physician....he took us into his practice when no one else would as we are both over age 65. He and his staff are caring and interested in our problems and listen to us. He explained his primary practice to us and we totally understand that sometimes our appointment might be interrupted by one of his other patients and knowing in advance that this might happen, makes it totally okay with us.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 10th, 2013

Best doctor ever

This doctor is very detailed when he talks to you and he uses visual aids to explain

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 13th, 2011

This is a wolf in sheep's clothing what a unprofessional office total chaos stay away this man is only in this business to get you hooked and take your money

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 13th, 2011

stay away

This is a very unprofessional office with chaos running rampid there is no organization at all the staff if not in touch with the patients it is just ...

Accurate Diagnosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 20th, 2010

Has the Answer for Everything

I started seeing Dr Prater after he became my daughter's doctor. She is a special needs young lady and Dr Prater would come to my home to treat h ...

Accurate Diagnosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 28th, 2016

5.0 Rating

March 14th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

September 16th, 2015

3.0 Rating

August 1st, 2015

5.0 Rating

April 26th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Christopher Prater is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Chattanooga, TN.

  • Dr. James Newby Jr

    Dr. James Newby Jr

    Family Medicine

    Chattanooga, TN 0.63 mi

    4.1
    (18)
    20
  • Dr. Joseph Sentef Jr

    Family Medicine

    Chattanooga, TN 0.79 mi

    3.0
    (18)
    34
  • Dr. Magdalena Kowalski

    Dr. Magdalena Kowalski

    Dermatology, Family Medicine

    Chattanooga, TN 1.14 mi

    4.4
    (27)
    20