Dr. Christopher Winfree MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery New York, NY

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 56 patient ratings
  • 20 comments

Last 12 months:

4.1 (+ 0.5)

20 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    55%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    13%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    23%
  • Wait Time 21.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

4.0 of 5
July 27th, 2016
Muscle Biopsy
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was recommended to Dr. Winfree for a muscle biopsy. He was very pleasant, thorough with explanations and efficient with the procedure. His team was nice and professional before and after the procedure.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 12th, 2016
Great doctor and staff
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Winfree and his staff are wonderful. He has a sense of humor that someone else might take it the wrong way. He deals with patients who have chronic pain and it's definitely not an easy task, but he is an excellent doctor and treated my pain
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 8th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Definitely recommend Dr. Winfree to others, such a wonderful and caring doctor! He saved my life!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 1st, 2016
Highly recommend Dr. Winfree
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I cannot thank Dr. Winfree and his staff enough. Dr. Winfree helped me get back to a normal life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 18th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Had spine stimulator implanted in my back last year and have not had a single problem. Dr Winfree is a kind and caring doctor who just made me feel comfortable. Will Highly recommend to friends and family
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 22nd, 2016
Surgery
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Winfree was very helpful and compassionate about my condition. Made me feel like more than "just" a patient, highly recommend to others.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 6th, 2016
daughter in law
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went with my inlaws( both well into their 80's) today to see dr winfree for my mother in law's trigeminal neuralgia. this was the worst consultation with a dr. that I've ever experienced. For starters, he did not offer me a seat. as we entered his office, he said" there are 2 seats in here." I stood the whole time. He treated my mother in law despicably. He was condescending, poking fun at her use of the wrong words. He was utterly void of compassion as she was describing her relentless pain. He was icy cold and conceited. he offered his opinion in a curt, uncaring way. when my mother in law asked him at the end of the consultation," is there anything you can give me so the pain goes away and I can sleep?" he coldly said "no." even if she needs to consider this surgery there is no way in the world she would ever consider using this arrogant dr. he's awful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 10th, 2015
Don't Bother
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Called over a week ago to make appointment to see Dr Winfree, Not 1 return phone call. Not 1 response, total waste of time, office staff is useless.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 25th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Winfree saved my life! He is the best doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 10th, 2015
Excellent Doctor
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
After reading other reviews, it is hard to believe we are talking about the same doctor. I just saw Dr. Winfree for a nerve sheath tumor and he was accommodating, patient (I had a lot of questions) and very real. He spent time showing me my MRI images so I understood exactly what type of tumor I had, why it doesn't look cancerous (thank god) and what I should do. He took time with me and told me options that didn't include having surgery. He provided a wait and see approach and I respect that. He encouraged me to email him after my next MRI (I have issues with my ears / tingling in face) to let him know the outcome and if I had any further questions. His staff was friendly and I appreciated the fact that they asked me so many questions prior to my visit so I didn't waste my time or Dr. Winfree's time. I like him, respect him and would have him remove my tumor if necessary. Form your own opinions and take these reviews with a grain of salt. He is a tumor guy and if you have something that is not in his area of expertise, he will tell you. The approach at Columbia is very specialized and not all neuro issues are connected (I thought they were and diagnosed myself after too much internet). Other reviews indicated that they felt dismissed and that he couldn't help them. Maybe their issue is not his expertise?? All I know is that he was great with me and I would recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 30th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great surgeon after surgery chiari decompression i was like a new person He is a 5 Star Dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 8th, 2015
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Horrid doctor no compassion or care for his patients , look else where he is a menace to his profession .
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Christopher Winfree, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Hani Malone

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Grace Mandigo

10 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Robert Solomon

36 years experience

4.8 of 5