The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Clayton Dean Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Clayton Dean?

Fibromyalgia

Get the facts about fibromyalgia, including the symptoms and conditions that may be related to it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Clayton Dean?

Ratings and Reviews

64 Ratings with 11 Comments

  • Excellent
    44
  • Great
    12
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    44
  • Great
    12
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
15 min

Showing 64 Ratings with 11 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 2nd, 2017

Great Surgeon

Major back surgery ,would not go to any other Surgeon!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 6th, 2017

not very nice

was referred to Dr. Dean from another Mercy Dr. and Dr. Dean asked me why am I seeing him, he said I am a surgeon and you don't need surgery so why are you here.. last I seen he works for the MD spine center and I have spine pain, that's why I am here. he was rude both times I seen him and he never even got out of his chair. had a mood the entire time I was there and never even checked me to see what could be causing the pain. horrible bed side manner

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 5th, 2017

Dr. Dean was very professional. He spent an hour to sit and talk and most importantly listen to what I had to say and my concerns. He explain to me in detail my options and everything associate with them. I would definitely go back to see Dr. Dean for any future appointment I would need. Thank you Dr. Dean

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 20th, 2016

Dr. Dean is very knowledgable with a great bedside manner. He clearly stated the problem as shown in the MRI. He took time to explain my options and the expected outcomes. I feel very comfortable knowing he will be doing my surgery in a few weeks.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 19th, 2016

Dr. Visit

I enjoyed my visit with dr. Dean. He listened to me, gave me options for the type of care I would need for my back. I would highly recommend him.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 18th, 2016

Just kept saying i'm a surgeon. don't do pain management. why did your doctor refer you to me. I have a herniated & buging discs in upper spine thats why, how would i know i did not need surgery. i'm a surgeon u don't need surgery, why are u here see a pain management doctor go get PT, i'm a surgeon basically dont waste my time u don't need sugery. u could have at least explained what my diagnosis meant.

Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 10th, 2015

Best Doctor

I had been to 2 previous spine doctors for a herniated disc. I was in excruciating pain, it was hard to even stand. From the moment I called the office, I knew that he would be the one to do my operation. I happened to be lucky enough to get his assistant on the phone, and she fit me in the very next day. Dr. Dean and his assistant Katelyn are a CLASS ACT! Perfect teamwork, prompt and thorough in explaining everything. Dr. Dean carefully and thoroughly explained my condition to me. We viewed my MRI together and we went over options. He was very attentive and listened to all of my concerns. He offered me an outpatient lumbar decompression surgery, and as soon as I woke up, my pain was gone! He even sent me flowers after my surgery. I have gone from being in a wheelchair to walking in 1 MONTH!! The nurses and PAs were also incredible. Mercy is a wonderful hospital. I would recommend this wonderful doctor and his awesome staff to anyone and everyone!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 8th, 2015

great doctor fixed my back and one year later still no pain.. have recommended him many times to follow co workers and relatives.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 20th, 2015

Amazing Dr, really took his time with me.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 3rd, 2014

Safety Trainer (Local Government)

I met Dr. Dean in the midst of battling with workman's comp about excruciating pain I was experincing dailyas a result of a job related injury. He was very kind and honest, making me aware of all my options. We tried rest, heat, physical therapy and nothing worked. Finally I agree to surgery and it was the best thing I could have done, with the best surgeon I could have found. i feel like dancing.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 8th, 2014

Spine Surgery - nerve channel clean out and fusion of L3/4/5

Dr. Dean was my second opinion. The surgery he proposed was to solve pinched nerves in the L3/4/5 that was causing pain and cramps in my legs and I could not walk for more then 30 feet which was limiting my activity on the job and most other outside activities. The day after Dr. Dean performed the surgery (two hours) I was up and walking and the pains and cramps were no longer present. Thirty days after the surgery, I am returning to work, and Dr. Dean has indicated I can resume most reasonable activity. Dr. Dean delivered as promised -- as my wife describes Dr. Dean, he is a "miracle" man. .

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 20th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Clayton Dean is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Baltimore, MD.

  • Dr. John Campbell

    Dr. John Campbell

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Baltimore, MD 0 mi

    4.4
    (29)
    25
  • Dr. Charles Edwards II

    Dr. Charles Edwards II

    Orthopedic Surgery of the Spine, Orthopedic Surgery

    Baltimore, MD 0 mi

    4.2
    (21)
  • Dr. Paul Switaj

    Dr. Paul Switaj

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Baltimore, MD 0 mi

    4.2
    (5)
    7