Dr. Clifford Fetters MD Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Carmel, IN

Overall Rating

2.6
  • 66 patient ratings
  • 24 comments

Last 12 months:

3.3 (+ 0.7)

66 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    32%
  • Great
    5%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    5%
  • Bad
    53%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 16.2 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 5th, 2017
Dangerous , Unscientific
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw Dr Fetters for several years. All the other claims on the website mirrored my experience. The muscle testing, the exorbitant fees, the twenty plus supplements he prescribes, endless blood work. Every visit he comes up with a new diagnosis and expensive treatment. He has diagnosed at least three people, including myself with Lyme. Then he milks people for thousands of dollars for the treatment even though JAMA has unequivocally stated the treatment for Lyme is short term. He prescribes expensive infusions. I have issues with my feet and he had me see Dr.Weber in his office. Dr. Weber is a "doctor" of naturopath with a degree from an outline school in Warsaw Indiana. The degree is $3,500! You might as well get a diploma with two cereal box tops but under Indiana law anyone can work under the "supervision " of a physician. Dr. Weber told me the problem in my feet is caused by my feet and gave me a bottle of serum . When I asked the ingredients he became defensive and said I was hung up on traditional medicine . This office preys on individuals that have had bad experiences with traditional medicine. They make you think they have answers others do not have but the science is not there and they dismiss proven medicine. They will tell you traditional medicine is about money and how they limit the practice to 600 patients but $600 x $3000 concierge fee plus still billing your insurance plus money from supplements is more than $1.8 million. No family practice makes that kind of money. Run from this physician. The physician tells you what you want to hear and applies the charm and hooks you into a contract . There's a problem when everyone is getting the same bank draining diagnosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 26th, 2017
Disappointed
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I caution people who are treated at or thinking of being treated at health and wellness of carmel. I had a rule that I would never see a physician who treated his patients with supplements made by themselves. Just doesn't seem eithical to diagnose a patient and then tell them you need their supplement to cure it. However I made an exception for dr fetters because he also offers multiple other brand options other than his own supplements so you can purchase the other brand if you want. After seeing him a few times, each time I was told I needed 12-16 different supplements each day. Costing $500-$1000 each time I purchased them. Ok, I tell myself, because he seems passionate and genuinely concerned for my well being, I'll try this. I faithfully took things as prescribed but to no avail. Still wanted to go back but decided to see if I could get the supplements he was prescribing at a cheaper rate. After researching for a bit, I was horrified to know that dr fetters is offering multiple other supplement brands but he is marking them up significantly. Some of them are more than twice the Companies suggested sales price. He charges your insurance for your visit and charges you a functional medicine fee on top of that and makes a significant profit off of the supplements. He will also push an intravenous treatment on every person he sees. My whole family has been seeing him and spending tons of money there. But we are all leaving now. We compared notes and noticed a trend. Logically, if a doctor runs a blood test for 30-40 things, there's going to be variations that are not significant and don't need to be treated especially since some are variant by nature. But dr Fetters will pull out every single out of range item and tell you that you need supplements for each which are conveniently located right there (oh and significantly marked up too, but they don't tell you that). That's an unethical way of treating patients. There's a reason that physicians attempt to determine the underlying cause of your issues. So they can treat those issues first. That will take care of most other issues but if it doesn't then you treat those individually. If you throw millions of supplements at a patient and they aren't improving, then how will the doctor be able to determine what is working and what isn't? A good physician will prescribe a few supplements and may have them located at their office, but it's strictly for convenience but they don't make a profit from the supplements. Why try to make a profit off of the supplements on top of the extreme amounts he makes during your office visits

1.0 of 5
May 26th, 2017
Disappointed
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I caution people who are treated at or thinking of being treated at health and wellness of carmel. I had a rule that I would never see a physician who treated his patients with supplements made by themselves. Just doesn't seem eithical to diagnose a patient and then tell them you need their supplement to cure it. However I made an exception for dr fetters because he also offers multiple other brand options other than his own supplements so you can purchase the other brand if you want. After seeing him a few times, each time I was told I needed 12-16 different supplements each day. Costing $500-$1000 each time I purchased them. Ok, I tell myself, because he seems passionate and genuinely concerned for my well being, I'll try this. I faithfully took things as prescribed but to no avail. Still wanted to go back but decided to see if I could get the supplements he was prescribing at a cheaper rate. After researching for a bit, I was horrified to know that dr fetters is offering multiple other supplement brands but he is marking them up significantly. Some of them are more than twice the Companies suggested sales price. He charges your insurance for your visit and charges you a functional medicine fee on top of that and makes a significant profit off of the supplements. He will also push an intravenous treatment on every person he sees. My whole family has been seeing him and spending tons of money there. But we are all leaving now. We compared notes and noticed a trend. Logically, if a doctor runs a blood test for 30-40 things, there's going to be variations that are not significant and don't need to be treated especially since some are variant by nature. But dr Fetters will pull out every single out of range item and tell you that you need supplements for each which are conveniently located right there (oh and significantly marked up too, but they don't tell you that). That's an unethical way of treating patients. There's a reason that physicians attempt to determine the underlying cause of your issues. So they can treat those issues first. That will take care of most other issues but if it doesn't then you treat those individually. If you throw millions of supplements at a patient and they aren't improving, then how will the doctor be able to determine what is working and what isn't? A good physician will prescribe a few supplements and may have them located at their office, but it's strictly for convenience but they don't make a profit from the supplements. Why try to make a profit off of the supplements on top of the extreme amounts he makes during your office visits
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 3rd, 2017
He is not licensed in Functional Medicine. Only passed himself off as such. I learned this too late. He tells you not to eat the same food every day or you'll develop allergy to it. He doesn't seem to feel the same about his $80 supplements unless you press him on it. He was willing to take two away. I still took over 30 pills daily which made no difference. I believe in muscle testing but I'm better at it than he is. He misdiagnosed my partner and myself. Most of his invasive treatments for Lyme disease were the absolute worse thing he could have done to me based on my real diagnosis. When I vomited in his office he said it was not the IV and wanted me to continue them. I knew it was the IV because I walked in feeling ok. I always went to a parallel universe during the IV.
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 12th, 2016
DO NOT TRUST THIS DOCTOR
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
We came here because a family member had cancer and Dr Fetters stated he could cure her and wanted to know how much money we wanted to invest in her care. We had to come for lots of REVIEWS because he ordered so many tests and each visit to review was 400 dollars. He wanted her to take lots of expensive supplements that you had to buy from his pharmacy. His nurse was very confused and even called once to ask us why we were having a fasting lab on the next visit? We ended up spending about 5000 dollars for NOTHING before we smartened up and went somewhere else. We just cut our loses and didn't return. Read the reviews and read comments from past employees about scamming people for money and then make your own decisions
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 5th, 2016
Good outcomes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He got me back to normal
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 8th, 2016
Medical Detective
If you aren't getting answers from other doctors, you need to see this one. As a functional medicine doctor, he will look at things no other doctor will consider and find answers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 13th, 2016
The only light left in a dark world
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'm very upset with the reviews on here before I went to see Dr.Fetters who was my last hope I was miserably sick and thought I was dying I wanted to take my own life I was in so much pain and every Doctor I went to said I was depressed and there was nothing wrong with me I was 22 years old at the time I've never been depressed in my life but being sick and in pain so long made me that way. One day by word of mouth I learned of Dr.Fetters he looked at me and knew what I had and started treatment immediately and wished me luck finally someone belived in me. It took a year of supplements and diet but ever since then all of my symptoms went away I was human again I was a boy again and the nightmare was over finally I even lost 110 pounds of pure fat. I know his rules are rigid but you have to do exactly as he instructs otherwise the treatment won't work as well I love Dr. Fetters he's the person I want to become I plan on going to medical school soon so I can help people the way he helped me all of you who dissmis this man have very closed minds and I feel sorry for you I know we all want the magic pill and one day we might but until then we have to work with what we have and change what we can like DIET and EXERCISE two words no one wants to here not even the old me but it benefits us all in the long run.Thank you Doc you've got my vote as best physician in the world until, I get there that is ;)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 29th, 2016
Please Don't Go Here
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I really believe in the idea of holistic medicine. Dr. Fetters uses his MD license as a guise to practice what he claims is "holistic" medicine. Nothing he claims is based on actual evidence, which is a slap in the face to all legitimate physicians out there who are practicing REAL medicine. He needs to be investigated because I get the sense that a lot of what goes on at Health and Wellness of Carmel is illegal. I have had several friends who have seen him, all presenting with completely different symptoms. He has told every one of us that we have "MSIDS" or something he coins "Multiple Systemic Infectious Disease Syndrome" and claims that the only treatment is with some sort of herbal concoction only he sells at his pharmacy. After months of doing this herbal treatment, and me feeling NO better, he then tells me I can only get better if a complete a package of 12 IV treatments with ozone therapy, at the mere cost of $6000 (!!). Again, when I asked for more information on the treatments (to see if they are scientifically proven), he brushed me off and had nothing to give me. In the months I did see him, he "prescribed" me tons of supplements, all of which can *conveniently* be purchased at his very own pharmacy. When I asked if I could buy them elsewhere to save on price, he told me they could only be bought at his store. After the appointment, I looked a few things up (same brand and everything) and found that most of what is sold at Health and Wellness of Carmel is marked up at least 50%. After my second appointment, he had prescribed 18 different supplements. Being the believer that I was, I purchased all of them, spending $1,100. Needless to say, the only change I felt was a constant feeling of fullness and indigestion from trying to down at least 15 supplements 3+ times a day. While he does do blood testing, Dr. Fetters practices something called muscle testing to diagnose virtually everything. He basically has you put your arm straight up in the air and will ask various questions, pushing down on your arm with each one. If your arm stays up strong, then what he said is supposedly true. If your arm wavers or pushes down, then he said is false. He literally pushes harder when HE wants something to be true or false. When deciding to put me on a more expensive supplement vs. a cheaper supplement, of course he pushes harder, telling me I can ONLY take the expensive supplement, which, of course, is only sold at his pharmacy. This leads to more money going into the practice and more money to him. One of my friends who say him said that he did this to her in deciding what cholesterol med she should be on. Shouldn’t he be looking at blood tests, weighing pros and cons of different medications to make sure she’s on the safest one rather than pushing down on her arm to make decisions? During the course of my “treatment” he has also made some pretty bold claims that have absolutely no merit. He told me to stop taking calcium because there are “hundreds of studies out there” claiming it causes heart disease. He told me to stop taking my birth control because it causes infertility. He told me to avoid tap water because fluoride is bad for you. He told me that gluten and dairy are “poisonous” to me. Worse, he supports NOT vaccinating children, claiming they are more harmful with toxins and metals. This makes me so scared for all his patients. One of my friends told me she had spoken with Dr. Fetters about the new cancer treatments they are now doing at this clinic. Talk about scam. He told her they use something called SPDT and the “cure” rate is 90% for almost ANY cancer. How can telling people with possibly terminal cancer that some unproven voodoo treatment be legal? The biggest kicker is that the cost of 3 weeks of treatment is a measly $40,000. Please, please, please save your money (seriously, it will cost you thousands) and save your time (he tells you that you will only get better if you come in at least once a month. Each appointment costs $200). Please do not go here. It is disrespectful to the practice and true meaning of medicine. Everything is about the money here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 20th, 2016
My mistake
I clicked one star by accident. I'd give him 5.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 16th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Fetters has help me return to health. For all of the negative on this site, I've had nothing but a positive experience with Dr Fetters & his staff. I'm a nurse & I know for a fact it hard to treat pt.s that will not do what the Dr. Suggest . It is impossible to please everyone. If you want more of a alternative medicine practice this is a great one!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 9th, 2015
DrVooDoo
Dr. Fetters doesn't believe in vaccines. At all. Let that sink in. I wish shopping for a GP and was referred to the practice knowing absolutely nothing about Dr. Fetters other than the fact that he had "expertise" in ADD, thus would be a good choice for the routine visits associated in the pharmacological treatment of it. During my first visit I was given the option of being treated with Eastern medicine ,Western medicine, or a hybrid of both. Something about his approach to this question made me feel as though Western medicine was the lame answer and Eastern medicine , the cool answer. I hemmed and hawed and stuttered into the decision of a hybrid that leaned very strongly toward Western. I also stated that I did not want any treatment, prescription, or protocol that was not recognized and reimbursed by my insurance. My insurance was quite comprehensive , thus I was sure that this would spare me the ordeal of constantly having to decline the hocus pocus side of the practice. Dr. Fetters asked me when my last cholesterol test was. It had been a couple of years so he asked me whether I had eaten breakfast which I had. He scratched his head momentarily and then decided that because my breakfast was small my having not fasted would not affect the outcome of the cholesterol test. Mmmk. Cha Ching. From my urine test he decided thaI i was suffering from any number of endocrinal imbalances. However my fear was set aside when he died fully explained that he had all of the right potions to cure me, at the desk where I would check out. Per his prescription plan I would immediately begin his out-of-pocket vitamin regime and would make frequent office visits for continued testing of my "levels". Naturally Dr. Fetters explained that because he is so much more progressive than any insurance company, the cost for the magic potions would be out of pocket until the insurance companies catch up with his wisdom. I saw Dr Feathers (my talk to text feature insists that we refer to him as Dr. Feather, so let's just roll with it. If the shoe fits....) once or twice in person before receiving the big announcement in the mail. He was transforming his office model in order to catch up with the new wave of practices that had trended and become the norm on the west coast. As described in an earlier review patients were to now select between paying an annual fee well over $1,000 which would put them on the "I get to see my doctor" list, or not paying the annual fee and being put on the "who really needs a doctor anyway" list. I chose the latter and stuck around for a little while longer. Upon one of my standard issue quarterly visits for my prescription refill the PA asked whether I wanted some sort of mini checkup while I was there. Because I hadn't netmite deductible I didn't want anything extra outside of my prescription refill. He said that it would take 5 minutes, it was just a questionnaire, and he would not bill my insurance. Very soon afterward I received a bill for the additional treatment. I contacted the office and told them to remove the charge from my account, as I was informed by the PA that there would be no additional charges outside of my prescription refill for the appointment. I've received approximately 2 bills per month for the last three years. I would recommend a real doctor, not this one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Clifford Fetters, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Carmel, IN.