Dr. Craig Alter MD Patient Reviews

  • Pediatric Endocrinology King Of Prussia, PA

Overall Rating

3.5
  • 17 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

2.3 (-1.2)

17 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    59%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    18%
  • Bad
    24%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 16.9 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
April 4th, 2017
Awful
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor completely ignored my sons medical history and focused solely on a secluded six month period of time. Didn't look at records, didn't look at growth curve. Refused to answer questions. Seemed like he had us "figured out" from the second we walked in. He admitted that my child was genetically disproportionate but said oh he's just short. I would never in a million years see this doctor again. Maybe he's only interested in a paycheck. Doctors should help people. Good thing for second opinions
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 28th, 2017
Nice, but no help
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
7 months to get the appointment to only be soon for a few minutes and be told there was no reason we needed to be there. This could have been told to me on the phone or in a letter. please don't take someones hard earned money for no reason. We needed his help and he wouldn't give it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
January 3rd, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Professional and understanding with years of experience, a really pleasant experience
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 23rd, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Alter was great with our child BUT he was rushed in our visit, did not ask us questions regarding symptoms, said, "goodbye" without giving us a summary of our appointment leaving us confused as to the next steps, wrote a letter to our primary with incorrect information, when questioned about that he said, "it is standard on the form and all he has to do is delete it." Our daughter gained an enormous amount of weight rapidly and during our appointment he mentioned how she not only gained weight but abnormal height as well. He then went on to say that she is just obese and he is not a therapist for obesity. We will NOT be going back to him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 29th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Alter clealy enjoys his work---he spent the time to interract with my 7 year old, making sure she was comfortable before jumping into the medical questions. He was not rushed---which was pretty astonishing given that there is a 6 month wait to see him. Also, he returned my email within 20 minutes, and gave me the lab results. I recommend him with the highest rating!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 5th, 2014
Personable, sharp, and amazing follow up
First, I had to wait 4 months to see Dr. Alter and it was so worth the wait! He greeted us in such a personal way and made my daughter feel so comfortable. He did not seem rushed at all, yet I know he has a fully booked schedule. What was amazing was that while I sent to see him for my daughter, he diagnosed my son (who came as a bystander) with severe hypothyroidism. He gave us his email address and when I wrote to him, he replied instantaneously (what doctor does that!) I didn't realize until later that he is a Harvard, MIT, and University of Pennsylvania graduate. A++

1.0 of 5
January 8th, 2012
very bad experience with Dr. Alter
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Recent lab work shows that my child's endocrine system is imbalanced. I was advised by two doctors to contact a pediatric endocrinologist as soon as possible. I made an appointment with Dr. Alter to address the issue and was extremely disappointed.Dr. Alter started out by telling us of another patient... parents who were concerned that their child would not reach a socially acceptable height. From the outset it seemed he pigeon holed us. He also asked where we lived and what we did for a living. It felt as if he was trying to ascertain whether or not we were worth his effort. His examination of my child totally lacked thoroughness. Later in the appointment, I had to point out obvious and key physical signs that he had missed. It appeared that he was inputing information that I supplied on a medical history form, but was later surprised when I referred to it....saying, "I didn't know that." I explained to him that it was written on the form that he had just read. In fact, I circled it because of its importance. Fortunately, I went to another pediatric endocrinologist for a second opinion. The difference was striking and we are now on the right path.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 20th, 2011
Empathetic and Respectful
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Alter is a kid focused physician and has helped our son tremendously.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 13th, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
We have never had a doctor interact so smoothly with my children. Forget that he graduated from Harvard Medical. He is truly unique.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 26th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 24th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 19th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Craig Alter, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near King Of Prussia, PA.