Dr. Craig Scoville MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.1
  • 37 patient ratings
  • 13 reviews

Last 12 months:

no change

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    41%
  • Satisfied
    11%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    35%
  • Wait Time 37.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
October 7th, 2016
Pompous, arrogant, dismissive. What more could you ask for in a doctor?
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My wife saw this "doctor" for extreme joint pain she was experiencing. He and his nurse basically treated her like garbage. Very rude and dismissive. He seemed too lazy to make an actual diagnosis and wanted to randomly put her on very potent arthritis medication with a long list of side effects without doing the proper, recommended tests first. When she inquired about this the nurse basically blew up and told her to find another doctor. The behavior of the staff at this place borders on malpractice in my opinion. We finally found a real doctor locally as well as a great consultant at the Mayo Clinic (a place Scoville could only dream of working). Since then we have met others who have had similar experiences. It would appear we are not the only ones who have had seriously negative experiences there. I can't imagine why this man is even a doctor since he seems to despise his work (and patients) so much.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
August 5th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Below average in communication skills and teaching about disease process.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 2nd, 2015
Patient Beware!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He treats you like Garbage and is so Rude! His Diagnosis can be wrong....however he keeps telling you that you have something else. He runs more and more Tests even though the Tests keep coming back negative for that Diagnosis! He will not listen to you and he doesn't really care! All of your Test Results can be High and or Positive for an Auto Immune Disease (such as Lupus) but he still thinks you have something else. Even if you have ALL the Symptoms and some of your Tests are Positive! He will not listen to you! He writes what he thinks, he thinks, you are feeling and what you have. You aren't to "Interrupt him while he is writing. And, for heck sake.....Do Not Ever Ask A Question! He knows Everything.....just ask him!!! His staff is also extremely Rude! I think he Trains them to treat people like Garbage. They start out pretty nice and end up just LIKE HIM! Find a really good Internist who will treat you if you have Lupus or some other Auto Immune Disease.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 1st, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The man is exceptionally intelligent but he still needs to work on his Beside manner. I have seen an improvement over the last couple of years.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 8th, 2015
Frustrating Experience
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr. Scoville for about three years, but have been dissatisfied for quite a while. While he is a nice enough guy and seems to be quite knowledgeable, he is understaffed and has policies that are not patient-friendly. I am never able to reach anyone on the phone and, despite several strongly expressed complaints, my messages are only rarely responded to. When they are, chances are that it is days after the message was left. The nurse tells me that she returns calls well into the evening every night. The receptionist seems to rarely be on the phone or directly be working with a patient. Appointments are made 3-4 months in advance with no reminder calls, texts, or emails. I misplaced one on my calendar and missed it. Because I had no future appointments on the books, the staff rejected my prescription refill requests without notification. I didn't find out until my pharmacy informed me after trying for a week. Because it is impossible to get someone on the phone, I was not able to figure out what was going on for a week after that. By then, my prescriptions had run out. I could not get scheduled in, and therefore could not get my prescriptions renewed! Blood work results are not shared with the patient except under duress, nor are they shared with other offices. I plan 3-4 hours per appointment, despite the fact that I was diagnosed years ago with AS and only have routine maintenance, check-up visits. I'm going to try out Dr. Walaliyadda's Rigby office, despite the fact that he also has poor ratings. We really need another, quality practitioner full-time in Idaho Falls. If Dr. Walaliyadda proves to live up to his ratings, I'll seek a confirmation diagnosis from a real SLC rheumatologist and see if my general practitioner will handle my maintenance visits.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 31st, 2013
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Lousy doctor, rude staff. Doctor puts up a finger and says, "shh" anytime I asked a question. Diagnosed my disease right, but never took the right measures to get the pain under control. I waited at least an hour before I went back each time. I drive 5 hours for each appointment now to avoid this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 19th, 2013
Felt like I was a waste of his time, didn't ask me questions.
Wait time
5 minutes
Dr Scoville walks into the exam room, doesn't address me, rather sits down at desk, and reviews my medical history. Starts making notes, asks me a question, about every 5 minutes, all without looking at me. Tells me I have a very high marker for lupus, however he wants to treat me for fibromyalgia and sends me to a pain clinic. I asked him, 2will the pain medicine help with my everyday flu and low grade fevers? He didn't reply. Diagnoses someone who is clearly sick with fibromyalgia is just an insult and I will never be going back. I was in great need of a specialist in my area and it seems I have to go out of state, which is hard when you are sick. Very uncaring doctor, doesn't listen and prescribes a catch all disease that clearly doesn't match my blood work up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 15th, 2013
Run as fast as you can!!!!!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Diagnosis, very good Office staff rude rude rude just try and get a prescrption filled from this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 29th, 2012
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
I'm sorry, but I find it hard to believe that Dr. Scoville doesn't know his staff is rude and uncaring. He has to know. This, in my opinion, reflects very badly on him as a doctor. Considering this and the negative feedback from other patients, my advice is run away from this office like the wind.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 21st, 2011
fine once get past receptionist
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
i like the doctor and nurses, the receptionist makes me feel like i am taking up her time for no reason,other than her have no problems.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 20th, 2011
Patients without "Patience"
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Having known this doctor and the difficulties he has had to deal with in surviving in an unpleasantly difficult to deal with field I am not surprised that he is hard to get in to see. There are only a few RA specialists in Idaho and Dr. Scoville has to serve a huge area, including Montana and Wyoming. He really worries and cares and never brings the difficulties his office surrounds him with INTO the office. I know that EIRMC has tried to encourage other specialists in his field to come to Idaho Falls and they have refused. We should work with what we have and appreciate Dr. Scoville for what he has to put up with (unfriendly insurance, staffing difficulties, etc.) and be a little more patient as patients!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
April 5th, 2010
Okay, but needs improvement
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I like Dr. Scoville as a doctor, and he's a genius in diagnosing. However, it's exceptionally difficult to get in to see him on short notice if you have an unexpected problem, such as an RA flare up. Honestly, if I could find another doctor in the area that was easier to get into, I would. But it takes at least 2 months to get into a new doctor and you don't know if they'll work out or not. So . . . I am putting up with the problems at Scoville's office, but I find myself often frustrated.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Craig Scoville, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Idaho Falls, ID.

Doctor

Dr. Larry Evans

16 years experience

4.4 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Clint Behrend

24 years experience

3.1 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Todd Williams

18 years experience

2.7 of 5