Dana E Shaw MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.8
  • 45 patient ratings
  • 22 comments

Last 12 months:

2.8 (-1.0)

22 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    67%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    11%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    20%
  • Wait Time 9.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Friendly Staff

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
August 24th, 2016
BEWARE! Scientifically Illiterate, Inconsiderate, Unprofessional
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Appropriate Follow-up
– Espouses belief in pseudoscientific conspiracy theories during the session: chemtrails, climate change denial, anti-vax, anti-GMO (I've worked extensively with agriculture and environmental science, so this is a topic I have personally studied in great detail; she has no clue what she's talking about) – Practices pseudoscientific therapies, i.e. homeopathy – Subscribes to largely discredited schools of psychological thought, i.e. Jungian psychotherapy – Prescribes inappropriate medications, i.e. an $80-per-bottle "male enhancement" supplement for anxiety and ADD – Delays in sending prescriptions to pharmacies, even when made clear that timeliness is important – Sends incorrect prescriptions – This happened multiple times. She failed to apologize or acknowledge wrongdoing, suggesting that it is *my* responsibility to remind her how to send in a monthly prescription for a medication *she* has been prescribing; she, as my doctor, should be taking appropriate notes to avoid these issues. – Draconian cancellation policy – 3 business days in advance or you get charged, i.e. I couldn't cancel a Tuesday appointment on Friday without getting charged – Unwilling to schedule an appointment for 3 months from now – which is when she said she next wants to see me – because, direct quote, "I never know where I'll be 3 months from now." – Texts, answers calls during sessions She should have her medical license revoked. This is disgusting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 9th, 2013
Don't get the negativity!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Well, I'm not sure I get where the negativity about Dr. Shaw is coming from. I did actually ask her about the recliner (though I didn't find it condescending) and she shared it helps with lower back and leg discomfort. And what doctor doesn't run a little late. I've sat in my family practice doc's office for almost an hour. I found her cheerful and personable, and have been with doctors who type on computers almost the whole time you're with them. Oh well! My experience is that her questions and diagnoses were surprisingly to the point, accurate, and helpful. She also offered a number of treatment options and explained the pros and cons. I actually feel better than I have in many, many years, in a large part due to her multi-factorial treatment. And did I mention that she'll do talk therapy, and is very insightful? Unusual in this day and age. She's been a great find and I recommend her very much.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 10th, 2013
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The service is not good as a psychiatrist, She doesn't have any organization in a patient information record, Her office looks ugly, She is no good to keep in record the medication she prescribed, In my personal experience she didn't have on record how many different medications she prescribed. For example, she made me call Walgreens to ask for all psychiatric medications. She lose my personal file most of the times I show up for my appointment, The last visit she told me she is going to be out of town for one month. She is not good to prescribe medication because she don't ask on what type of medicine you're on.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 24th, 2013
Poor
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to school in the state of Washington and she was local, around where my family lived. I heard her ex-husband was great, so I thought I would trust that guidance. Unfortunately my ignorance got the best of me. I was always courteous and on time, but was never seen on time. I always had to wait. She did not my return calls promptly. She gave me very little guidance and did not have satisfying answers when I approached her with concerns about taking some medications known to have serious side affects. I was forced to do the research myself because I was uncomfortable relying on her suggestions. Luckily, I have a lot of experience on my chemistry and how to take care of myself so I was able to mitigate these concerns. My worry is for others with less experience with their condition. The only reason I think she diagnosed me correctly was because I told her of my previously diagnosed condition. She asked me very little about my history. When my insurance changed to having medications mailed to my home instead of being able to pick them up from the pharmacy, I gave her a call and provided the number she would need to call so I could continue to get my medications. She complained about the time it took to give information to the "800 numbers" and left me a rude voicemail even though I assured her it was a quick process after asking the insurance company myself to verify that fact. I moved down to Los Angeles and, luckily, am on my way to being seen by somebody else. There are a lot of wonderful doctors in the Seattle area. I suggest doing your homework and seeing somebody else if you are less experienced monitoring your condition or if you require moderate-extensive monitoring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
January 22nd, 2013
Ummm....
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have seen Dr. Shaw once and do have a follow up appointment that she helped set up. I am hesitant to say whether I like her or not and will give her some time. I agree with many ratings below in that she has no bedside manner. The way she sits in a nice recliner with a computer you can't see on a small table next to her while you are expected to sit on a large sofa in a slightly untidy room with no warmth in the space whatsoever...not sending me a good vibe. The office itself is hard to get to the first time, I had no clue where I was supposed to go because the door is around the side and it looks like what used to be a house. Parking is also not offered but it isn't hard to find someplace on the street or across the street. She did not ask for my records from other doctors I have seen but just asked the typical questions, told me I was on the wrong medication, wrote up a new one and sent me on my way. I wasn't taking that since I had been there ten minutes so we stood in her room while I asked her all the necessary questions like uh...why am I being put on this medication? What was wrong with the last one? Side effects? How long till it takes effect? All that jazz. I understand a good doctor is often awful with bedside manner but at least communicate to your patients (who are psychologically upset obviously since that's your profession) about what you are thinking about regarding the possible diagnosis. I know the reviews say she is a terrific doctor who knows her stuff and maybe she does. But she needs to share it with the patient and not recline with her feet up while you sit uncomfortable and nervous in a cold, messy office. I'll keep going if she can help me. I don't have the time to find someone else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 6th, 2012
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shaw is good at providing a diagnosis and her naturopathic slant is refreshing. Two things that were disappointing:1) Bedside manner needs improvement. She sits in a recliner with her feet up which I think is bit condescending.2) The "Neuroscience" neurotransmitter test is suspect. The same company that administers and evaluates the test also sells the supplements to make you better. In fact, Dr. Shaw offers you literature that provides a website to order from and a code of numbers to type in that makes it feel exclusive. In reality, she gets a cut from every bottle of pills ordered when you type in that number code. It's a scam! The wolf is guarding the hen house.The supplements (Travacor and Daxitrol) didn't work for me. In fact, they made me worse. The day I stopped taking them, I felt better. Call it a reverse placebo effect. My .02.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 9th, 2012
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shaw has helped me and correctly diagnosed medical problems that had been problems and misdiagnosed for years. Definitely a Godsend!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 18th, 2012
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Having this doctor not only be a psychiatrist but also a naturopath makes all the difference in the world. She is the third doctor I've seen for my bipolar disorder and, like the saying goes, the third time is a charm. During the first session, I was in her office for 90 minutes with the most thorough evaluation I have EVER had by a psychiatrist. She actually CALLED ME back to follow up from the first visit. I didn't think this type of psychiatrist existed. I travel 2 hours to see her and it is well worth the time and gas money. She helped me get my life back, literally.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
May 15th, 2012
Not so impressed
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She is pleasant on first meeting, but can get a little irritable, you get the sense if it's a bad day she will snap. alittle condicending., sorry I wasn't impressed I won't return.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 19th, 2012
Best Psychiatrist! Completely disagree with below!!!!!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wow! I rarely am inspired to rate a doctor, but feel I had to with Dr. Shaw. She is the most knowledgeable, well-rounded, holistically minded doctor I've come across. A rare find. She will do computer searches as needed to further investigate information and I appreciate that spirit of inquiry. Dr. Shaw will trace a problem to it's roots. No she doesn't have office staff- but that's never been a problem. She returns phone calls promptly and I've never had trouble making an appointment. It's great getting to speak to the doctor rather than a receptionist. Late? Well maybe a couple minutes, but how often have I waited 30 minutes at my Family Doctor? I have enever felt so attended to by a doctor and I heartily recommend this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 20th, 2012
Undependable.
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Beware! This person is not dependable. She has no office support. She is unable to make an appointment in advance. And when you have an appointment she is late. Previous reviews sighted her as out of touch and distracted. She showed me that side of herself when she was doing web searches while I was trying to speak for my ten minutes time. Beware!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 12th, 2012
Excelllent Doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Ive been seeing Dr.Shaw for almost 2 years now and she diagnosed me with Bi-polar/Schizophrenic within the first couple weeks of going to her. Her diagnosis was quick and accurate. The medication was hard to get right and the side-effects were not too fun, but that is the nature of the beast and not the Docs fault. In general it takes time to settle into medication for this type of diagnosis. I am now stable and she was a large part of that stability. She was kind and patient when prescribing all of the medications.It is true that sometimes her appointments run short but that is largely due to my participation in the secession. Its a two way street and if you stay focused on one psychological area she is committed to you 100%. All in all a great Doc, no worries here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No