Dr. Daniel Coffey MD Patient Reviews

  • Colon and Rectal Surgery Lansing, MI

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 27 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

3.3 (-0.3)

27 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    56%
  • Great
    7%
  • Good
    7%
  • Poor
    4%
  • Bad
    26%
  • Wait Time 16 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
November 15th, 2016
Find another office/doctor!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had an outpatient surgery scheduled and upon receiving the pre-registration call from the hospital, I learned I had a $125 deductible to pay before they could do surgery. I couldn't afford it. Add on top of that having had a pulmonary embolism not that long ago, I started to panic and realized I couldn't have the surgery at this time. I called Dr. Coffey's office (Capitol Colorectal) on a Friday to discuss my options, and despite my calling numerous times within the hours THEY specificed they were open, no one answered my calls. I finally contacted the hospital directly and canceled my appointment with them. I called Dr. Coffey's office back, and left a voicemail message that I was unable to proceed with the outpatient surgery at this time due to not being able to afford the $125 deductible and not being mentally prepared because of the pulmonary embolism. What do I get in the mail a couple weeks later? A bill from Dr. Coffey's office for $100 because I gave them 5 days notice of cancellation rather than 7! Let's see, cannot afford the $125, but Dr. Coffey thinks I deserve a punishment where I can suddenly afford $100 for absolutely ZERO SERVICES RENDERED? Nothing but unprofessional greed. I woulnd't have had to see him or visit his office if a (now retired doctor) Dr. Menning had done his job years ago! Find another office and doctor. No compassion or professionalism from this doctor and this office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 26th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Worst Dr. I have ever dealt with! If there was a negative star I would give to him! The word poor does not even begin to describe his bedside manner, and his follow ups!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
December 6th, 2015
Coffey without the meds
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He can come off a bit arrogant at times. I wouldn't recommend him if you need colon surgery, he breezes in and out and is very hardened to your pain level. He refuses to keep you comfortable and doesn't understand your pain level. His is very "stingy" in his own words to give his patients pain meds.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 25th, 2015
All around positive experience
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Coffey is a true professional. He is no-nonsense, very dry wit and a little off putting. But brilliant, thorough and both my wife I thought very worth recommending to others. He's sort of young, but if you're going to trust a doctor I'd rather they be current on all new operating technology and not an old fart like me. No idea why others have given him bad reviews. Guess 1 doctor can't please everyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 31st, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Definitely would not recommend to him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 18th, 2013
Colo-Rectal surgery
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Coffey was exceptional...I would recommend Dr. Coffey for your hemorrhoid surgery. Straight shooter and to the point...no messing around.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 14th, 2012
Horrible Experience - would never go back to
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
He performed surgery on me and did not follow up. I became very ill nearly dying. Now a few years later I have to redo the surgery because he did not ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 9th, 2012
Use Coffey to experience death
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
1) He did a colon resection and closed up even though he knew the colon was leaking poop into my friends belly.2) The result was a coma, near death and over two months in the hospital. My friend has brain damage now. 3) Coffey closed up knowing that the colon was leaking.4) The best part is he never checked up until 5 days after surgery and my friend was already in a coma. ** Use Coffey and you too can experience death**

5.0 of 5
December 21st, 2010
Dr. Rosy Rowan/Rosemary Okokon
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Coffey is an excellent and caring surgeon who shows genuine concern for his patients, and exudes superior and impeccable professionalism.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 10th, 2009
Never been more happy!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
This excallent colorectal surgeon came very highly recommended by my gastroenterologist. He was very attentive before surgery, during the hospital stay (7 days), and post-op. My wife and I have aprrectiated his fine skills, attention to detail, and his warm heart. He recently did a flexible sigmoidoscopy on me, and it went very well. It will be fun to watch Dr. Coffey excell in his field.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Daniel Coffey, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Lansing, MI.