Dr. Daniel Cohen MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 21 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

4.8 (+ 1.0)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    52%
  • Satisfied
    19%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    19%
  • Wait Time 18.2 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

1.0 of 5
October 6th, 2015
Avoid! - Horrible background in Neurology
I remember Dr. Cohen was the very first doctor I went to after having 2 seizures at 18 years old. At first, being so new to the diagnosis, I was looking for a general plan of action and comfort. Right out of the gate it was obvious that he was very arrogant, and dismissive. We got an MIR and no brain damage or possible cause for my seizures was found. After prescribing Keppra my seizures stopped but I experienced horrible side effects. I was then interested in finding a medication and a dose that would stop my seizures with minimal side effects. I was of course concerned about my seizures returning during this period of experimentation. Long story short; Dr. Cohen comforted my parents and I by explaining that there is no rush, and that we can take our time finding the right medication for me because "It really doesn't matter how many seizures I have, what is important is finding a medication you like". After having 5 additional Grand Mal seizures during this period, we ended up settling on Tegratol and life went on. After becoming interested in an overall solution (surgery, etc.) I went to see the leading Neurologist at NYIT. His reaction to Dr. Cohen's approach was astounding. He claimed that for my level of seizures that are very violent. For each one I had, or will have "It not only creates scar tissue on the brain but makes it more likely for your seizures to increase in frequency" (which they did). He immediately got me an MIR for his own team to analyze my status. They ended up finding a lesion on my front left temporal lobe. After comparing my MIR's in my past records it was obvious that I developed this scar from the seizures I had through my year of finding the proper medication. For this I would never recommend Dr. Cohen to anyone. If I could give zero stars I would. His approach was careless, sloppy and obviously uneducated. Someone with epilepsy or seizure disorder needs a doctor that can accurately inform them, guide them, and bring them reassurance. It is a very difficult journey. Forget about finding the right medication and focus on finding a doctor that is well educated and caring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 28th, 2015
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Arrogant, dismissive. Terrible
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 13th, 2012
Caring Doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have never met such a caring doctor even though I am a difficult patient.The office staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 29th, 2012
He always responds
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Have known Dr/ Cohen over four years.He does everything possible to help me, and he does listen to what I say.If I ask for a callback from him, I receive one the same day, usually in a short time..He has a dry wit, and he knows how to make his patients comfortable.His staff is wonderful and caring as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 21st, 2010
Retraction
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I retract my previous statement that Dr. Cohen does not care about anyone over 80. Although he has no bedside manner, he is treating my husband well. His staff and his office is still very cold and uncaring, but, when I asked 2 visiting nurses, on separate occasions, what neurologist they would choose if they could have anybody, they both chose Cohen and said he is the best. I apologize for my previously scathing review of this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 9th, 2010
RUN DO NOT GO
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Cohen is an arrogant, cold, uncaring, unhuman being. Do not ask him a question he gets mad and tells you he does not know great answer from a dr would not send my dog to him never again i wont rather go aroung in pain then go to him again not if he was the last doctor on earth !!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2010
If you are over 65, don't go to see this doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
No bedside manner at all. The office staff is rude and actually keeps a 2 way mirrored window closed so you can't see them. Horrible atmosphere, Dr. Cohen is an arrogant, cold, uncaring, unhuman being.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 5th, 2010
Avoid this doctor if you are over 65
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband has been a patient of Dr. Cohen's for 2 years. We find him to be very arrogant and uncaring. He seems to resent being questioned about medications he's prescribed or diagnoses he's made as though we are not intelligent enough to question his judgement. He spends very little time with my husband and does not address our questions or concerns that we bring to him. Again, he reacts as though we are beneath him. My feeling is that he feels as though my husband is not worth his time or effort. The waiting room is very unwelcoming. The staff unfriendly. The receptionist window, a 2 way mirror, beside which is a strong warning not to open, is very unfriendly and it takes a while before someone actually opens it to address you. As said before, If you are over 65, do not go to this doctor. I am now looking for one that actually seems to care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Daniel Cohen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Hewlett, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Renata Sanders

9 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Natalya Ogievetsky

23 years experience

4.4 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Allan Hausknecht

3.0 of 5