Dr. Daniel Nehls MD, FACS Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery Tacoma, WA

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 25 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.9)

25 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    64%
  • Great
    4%
  • Good
    12%
  • Poor
    12%
  • Bad
    8%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 18.9 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 14th, 2016
AMAZING DOCTOR
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had spine surgery a little over six months ago for a herniated disc (with a different doctor). About two months after, my old doctor and his PA stopped helping me and kept saying nothing was wrong, even though I was in more pain than before surgery. So my quest began for a new doctor, so we booked an appointment with Dr. Nehls. He immediately pointed out why my back still hurts so bad (degenerative disc disease and degenerative arthritis in my lumbar spine). He's one of the best doctors I have ever seen! I had seen two other doctors before him, and they said my nerve root was irritated. Dr. Nehls went through my MRI and explained everything to me. I would HIGHLY recommend him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 5th, 2016
needs to learn to talk to people not at
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would not go back to him. He is not good at talking to you. He talks at you and is not interested in anything the patient has to say.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 24th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Visit and examination to determine feasibility of back surgery to relieve mass. Doctor recommended against a surgical procedure because the outcome might not produce an improvement...and might even possibly lead to worsening symptoms.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 14th, 2015
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Nehls has performed a spinal fusion on me that made the issue worse.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 31st, 2013
saved my life!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a herniated disk in my neck..I was terrified of surgery.. Dr Nehls assured me that if he didn't feel he could fix me he would send me to the UW...I was a perfect candidate for a new surgery called Prodisc replacement... it saved my life..I couldn't even brush my teeth..it felt like someone had attached my arm to a car and they were driving away with it...I awoke from surgery and 95% of the pain was Gone!!.. because the surgery was experimental at the time (2008).. my insurance wouldn't cover it...and he had warned me they wouldn't.. he wrote the surgery off..because he was trying to prove that this is so much better then fusion... 5 years later I still have No pain and have more mobility in my neck then I ever did..hes an absolute miracle worker and I recommend this Doctor and this surgery..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
June 4th, 2011
Would not recommend...
Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a posterior fusion c4-7. His Nurse Practioner (I call her Nurse Rachett)..was absolutely rude to me and my husband. Could not get my 'after surgery' medications explained.."just take like it says on the labels!" I was given too much medication because previous meds weren't checked carefully. Bedside manners and caring..you won't find it with Dr. Nehls or his nurse. Get you in, surgery, get paid...see ya'!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 12th, 2010
Spine Surgery
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was not sure of having surgery but Dr made me confident. Was rec. by a former patient and both of us think he is great as well as staff. Rec. him anytime.

3.7 of 5
February 26th, 2009
Excellent surgeon, poor on communication
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Dr nehls did surgery on my neck and to date I think he put me together great. I had neurological damage (NOT his fault) and found him to be poor at communicating and preparing me for the possible outcomes. When I asked questions about neuological issues he avoided talking about it. Left me in confusion for a year about all these crazy symptoms and what they were. I figured it out by reading on internet. Again he is an excellent surgeon
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 26th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 26th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 16th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 15th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Daniel Nehls, MD, FACS is similar to these 3 Doctors near Tacoma, WA.