The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Daniel Refai Is this you?
  • 117
  • 7
  • 9
  • 9
  • 16

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
18.6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Daniel Refai?


158 Ratings with 84 Comments

5.0 Rating

June 8th, 2017

Totally a Miracle

When I first saw Dr. Refai, I was barely able to walk because of my back pain. After surgery, I had a couple of weeks that were pretty rough, but then, week by week I improved and my pain was gone. Five months later and therapy, I am walking normal and continue to have NO pain! I highly recommend Dr. Refai!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 7th, 2017

Fantastic Experience

Dr Refai's staff is top notch and the best experience I have had with any procedure. Staff was knowledgeable, attentive and responsive. Could not have been happier for cervical surgery.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 14th, 2017

Dr. Refai is a terrific neurosurgeon. He took me as a patient and did my 7 vertebrae laminectomy and spinal fusion even though my many other health issues that made me high risk. My surgery was a success. I am very grateful to him.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 2nd, 2017

Dr. Refai would be my first choice for spinal surgery!

I went to Dr. Refai for a second opinion for additional lumbar surgery. I found Dr. Refai to be very professional, very caring and easy to communicate with about my condition. I had previous lumbar surgery seven months earlier, but that doctor and that surgery did not fix my issues. Dr. Refai did!!!

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 24th, 2017

His surgical skill improved my spine 100%.

Dr Refai has good insight into the diagnosis and treatment of spine problems. He was genuine, openly frank and honest about what needed to be done to improve my quality of life. His confidence assured me that I was seeing the right surgeon. I would recommend him to anyone that suffers from spinal problems.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 23rd, 2017

Exceptional!

It has been 6 1/2 weeks since Dr. Refai reopened my lower back, removed old hardware from my L5-S1 fusion surgery 6 years ago and then proceeded to fuse my L4-L5. My first surgery, performed by a different neurosurgeon in a different state, was horrible. My pain after surgery and my recovery was almost unbearable. I was so afraid of having it done again. I knew the pain I was going to be going through. I feel nothing less than blessed that I found Dr. Refai. The pain through the entire experience was minimal and I am only taking 1 Tylenol 2 or 3 times a day now. That is huge to me. The professionalism and friendliness from the moment my husband and I walked in to the waiting room was outstanding. The ease of communicating with his assistant after I was home when I had questions was just that...easy. I will choose Dr. Refai again, hands down!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 27th, 2016

Outstanding!

I can't say enough about the skill, professionalism and caring personality of Dr. Refai. Superb! 5+ stars

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 19th, 2016

Outstanding Neurosurgeon

I unreservedly recommend Dr. Daniel Refai if you need complex spine surgery. Another highly regarded neurosurgeon referred me to him, so he is the neurosurgeon's neurosurgeon. My case was a difficult one, with numerous anomalies in my neck, and Dr. Refai put a lot of time into studying my physiology and planning the surgery. He used sophisticated equipment available from the Emory hospitals to visualize the surgery as he proceeded. His manner in clinic is very congenial, interested, and confident, and he instills confidence in his capability, which he then fulfills with his surgery. He is surrounded by highly capable and pleasant staff, especially his nurse Shawnee and his PA Sydney. My result from the surgery was even better than he predicted or I expected. I cannot speak highly enough of him. If you are unfortunate enough to need his services, you will be well advised to seek them.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 15th, 2016

10 year back and leg pain

I suffered back and right leg ache / pain for nearly ten years. Went to Dr. Refai who said he could perform a TLIF with cortical screws and repair my spondylolisthesis and stenosis at L4- L5. I had the surgery, was up and walking the next day. I had no pain except some soreness from the incision and the ache / pain was gone. I still have some foot numbness which is normal. Hopefully that will disappear as well with time. I was walking up to 3-4 miles a day within a month. I was back to work in 6 weeks. At this point I couldn't be happier with the outcome. Dr. Refai and staff (Shawnee) are awesome. I don't know why I waited so long. I would recommend Dr. Refai without question!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 13th, 2016

DR. REFAI REALLY IS THE BEST

Could hardly walk, not even with walker. MRI showed spinal meningioma (tumor) that was about to make me paralyzed from waist down. Never had major surgery before. Dr. Refai took time to answer ALL my questions and to explain in detail what would happen during surgery and what possible outcomes I could expect after surgery. Although I was scared, I knew I had found the right surgeon for my situation even though there were doubts about me ever walking unassisted again. Surgery went as Dr. Refai had described with amazingly minimal amount of pain afterwards. Follow-up showed tumor was benign and Dr. Refai continues to monitor my progress since tumor could possibly grow back. Today, after physical therapy that Dr. Refai prescribed, I can walk without walker or cane. Dr. Refai and his nurse, Shawnee, have been very supportive throughout this experience and for that I am truly grateful. I would highly recommend Dr. Refai to anyone needing spinal surgery.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 8th, 2016

Surgery

This man is not only a very nice man he is a wonderful surgeon. He assured me that everything was going to be ok and he would help. Thanks to him I no longer have back or leg pain. Highly recommend him.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 10th, 2016

Dr Refai is a fantastic doctor and I would trust him with my life

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Daniel Refai is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Atlanta, GA.

  • Dr. Mark O'Brien

    Neurological Surgery

    Atlanta, GA 2.26 mi

    4.5
    (7)
    54
  • Dr. John Bonner

    Dr. John Bonner

    Neurological Surgery

    Decatur, GA 2.54 mi

    50
  • David Adamson

    Neurological Surgery

    Decatur, GA 2.54 mi

    18