Overall Review

3.1
  • 29 patient ratings
  • 19 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 1.2)

19 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    45%
  • Satisfied
    3%
  • Neutral
    7%
  • Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    34%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 29.8 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
July 7th, 2015
Front desk always rude
I am a melanoma patient. I started with Dr. Rigel many years ago. His front desk employees were always rude. He seemed to cater more to the elite upper east side plastic surgery patients than his "life or death" melanoma patients. I now see a different doctor, who is a specialist in melanoma. Much more comfortable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 3rd, 2015
Saved me
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Came on on business trip and had an emergency skin problem. Rigel was the best. Knew what it was right away and solved it. He is the best!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 28th, 2015
Rude
Rude, arrogant, impolite. I'm going elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 7th, 2015
Solved what others could not
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a skin problem that 5 other dermatologists could not help me with. Dr. Rigel solved it in 1 visit! He and his staff were caring and great. Thanks so much Dr. Rigel!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 5th, 2014
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Been struggling with skin cancer for awhile and was referred to Dr. Rigel. He put me at ease immediately while he treated my problems. After all these years, I am finally with the right doctor. I highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 28th, 2014
Rigel is a jerk
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Rigel is a jerk. He doesn't take insurance anymore because he thinks he is really good. He charges you based on what your job is and how rich he thinks you are. His office hates him and his bedside manner sucks. Definitely don't go see this guy unless you want to get ripped off.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 25th, 2013
Front desk cost Rigel a patient
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Showed up at 11:35 for an 11:30 appointment. By 12:15, still hadn't been called back, and so I left. Front desk: Nicole blase/rude, Carol apologetic.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 26th, 2013
Solved the problem!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Heard that he was a world expert in skin cancer and that was really correct! Diagnosed the problem and treated it (others had missed it). He is also a really nice caring person.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 20th, 2012
made the diagnosis when the others could not
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had been to 4 other dermatologists who did not know what I had. I came to Dr. Rigel who made the diagnosis in one visit and got me better. Great office, staff and service. Would definitely recommend to others.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 24th, 2012
The Best!
Wait time
10 minutes
I came in for a skin problem and found out that it was nothing. Dr. Rigel took the time to answer all of my questions and conselled me on sun protection too. An unusually comprehisive visit in these days of rushed medicine! Recommend highly!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 31st, 2011
BEAUTIFUL SCAR ON BIG SKIN CANCER
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a skin cancer that I let go too long on my face. Dr. Rigel diagnosed it and did an incredible job on it. You can hardly even see that it was there. I STRONGLY recommend him if you need something taken off. He is also caring and very knoledgeable in his field.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 29th, 2011
Butchered me
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to Dr. Rigel for a small mole removal and was shocked to find a massive scar on my arm after he was done. He didn't stitch it properly and it ended up forming such a horrific scar that I had to go to a plastic surgeon to have it cut out and re-sewn. When I told Dr. Rigel my concerns about how it healed, he told me that was normal and nothing could be done. However after the plastic surgeon took care of it it healed beautifully. He is sloppy and careless and rushes. He is also condescending. Don't go to him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Darrell Rigel, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Rachel Nazarian

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Aaron Farberg

4 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Anita Dormer

16 years experience

1.5 of 5