The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Darren Malone Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Darren Malone?

Diabetic Macular Edema

Diabetic Macular Edema

Get the facts about diabetic macular edema, including the different types and the doctors and specialists who treat it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Darren Malone?

Ratings and Reviews

24 Ratings with 8 Comments

  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    8
  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    8

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
36.9 min
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup

Showing 24 Ratings with 8 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 4th, 2017

Darren Malone is the Best!

He was such a great doctor, he followed up after my appointment and helped with my eyesight! Over all great guy!

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 27th, 2016

Long wait but worth it

Long wait but worth it

Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 14th, 2016

He spotted a serious condition that fortunately for now just needs to be monitored, but he was on top of it in the beginning and very proactive in making sure I was ok. I think he is an excellent dr. He is very smart and caring and has an excellent bed side manner. I only see him once a year, but he always remembers me and details about me so I know he's not faking. I think he's a great Dr. I refer anybody I know that needs an eye dr to him.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 11th, 2014

Doctor was great and the office was very nice.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 4th, 2014

I really like Dr. Malone. He is on time, the staff is great and they get me in and out in under an hour including the time it takes to dialate my eyes.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 21st, 2013

Worst doctor visit ever

Seemed intimidated and angry that I had researched my condition and was more informed than he was on current treatment. A second opinion in the same practice confirmed what I was trying to tell him. There are plenty of qualified ophthalmologists, he's not one of them.

Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 23rd, 2013

Indifferent to Patients

I have never encountered a doctor or staff so indifferent to a patient's needs. Dr Malone's arrogance is stunning. His assistant ran a test that lasted at least thirty minutes, and she did it improperly so the results were meaningless. He told me, 'there was a learning curve to this test required by the staff and the patient." Really? Why would you allow a staff person in your office to administer a test in which they weren't proficient! When I asked questions about his treatment plan, he seemed surprised and irritated that I required explanations. I woudl never trust a doctor whose feathers were ruffled by a patient askign questions. That was my last visit.

Doctor's Response

We apologize for your experience with us and the test we perform are very sensitive tests and many things factor to get an accurate result. We find technology to be very helpful but the test are not solely relied on to make a diagnosis or treatment. Thank you for your comment.

SHOW
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 23rd, 2012

Two Hour Wait!

Waited over two hours past my appointment to get in. Rediculous!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 18th, 2017

2.0 Rating

December 8th, 2016

4.0 Rating

April 27th, 2016

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

February 23rd, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Darren Malone is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Huntsville, AL.

  • Dr. Vikram Saini

    Dr. Vikram Saini

    Ophthalmology

    Huntsville, AL 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    7
  • Dr. Nancy Medeiros

    Dr. Nancy Medeiros

    Ophthalmology

    Huntsville, AL 0 mi

    4.9
    (8)
    26
  • Dr. Scott Dorin

    Dr. Scott Dorin

    Ophthalmology

    Huntsville, AL 0 mi

    4.8
    (8)
    22