Dr. Darren Malone MD Patient Reviews

  • Ophthalmology Huntsville, AL

Overall Rating

3.3
  • 23 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.7)

24 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    48%
  • Great
    4%
  • Good
    9%
  • Poor
    4%
  • Bad
    35%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 36.9 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
May 4th, 2017
Darren Malone is the Best!
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was such a great doctor, he followed up after my appointment and helped with my eyesight! Over all great guy!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 27th, 2016
Long wait but worth it
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Long wait but worth it
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 14th, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He spotted a serious condition that fortunately for now just needs to be monitored, but he was on top of it in the beginning and very proactive in making sure I was ok. I think he is an excellent dr. He is very smart and caring and has an excellent bed side manner. I only see him once a year, but he always remembers me and details about me so I know he's not faking. I think he's a great Dr. I refer anybody I know that needs an eye dr to him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 11th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor was great and the office was very nice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 4th, 2014
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I really like Dr. Malone. He is on time, the staff is great and they get me in and out in under an hour including the time it takes to dialate my eyes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 21st, 2013
Worst doctor visit ever
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Seemed intimidated and angry that I had researched my condition and was more informed than he was on current treatment. A second opinion in the same practice confirmed what I was trying to tell him. There are plenty of qualified ophthalmologists, he's not one of them.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2013
Indifferent to Patients
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have never encountered a doctor or staff so indifferent to a patient's needs. Dr Malone's arrogance is stunning. His assistant ran a test that lasted at least thirty minutes, and she did it improperly so the results were meaningless. He told me, 'there was a learning curve to this test required by the staff and the patient." Really? Why would you allow a staff person in your office to administer a test in which they weren't proficient! When I asked questions about his treatment plan, he seemed surprised and irritated that I required explanations. I woudl never trust a doctor whose feathers were ruffled by a patient askign questions. That was my last visit.
Doctor's Response

We apologize for your experience with us and the test we perform are very sensitive tests and many things factor to get an accurate result. We find technology to be very helpful but the test are not solely relied on to make a diagnosis or treatment. Thank you for your comment.


1.0 of 5
May 23rd, 2012
Two Hour Wait!
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Waited over two hours past my appointment to get in. Rediculous!

5.0 of 5
July 18th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
December 8th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
April 27th, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 23rd, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Darren Malone, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Huntsville, AL.