The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Darren Payne Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Darren Payne?

Chronic Dry Eye

Get the facts about chronic dry eye, including the causes, symptoms and doctors who treat this condition.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Darren Payne?

Ratings and Reviews

23 Ratings with 11 Comments

  • Excellent
    14
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    14
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
21.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 23 Ratings with 11 Comments

5.0 Rating

April 27th, 2016

Dr Payne is an excellent Dr would highly recommend him

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 15th, 2016

I had Cataract surgery with Dr Payne and everything went great and my vision is wonderful. I would highly recommend Dr Payne and staff.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 12th, 2015

Would not recommend
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

November 30th, 2014

Great Doctor

Excellent Doctor! He really took time to answer all my questions. His staff is very kind.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 31st, 2014

I am diabetic went to Dr. Payne for a checkup at the suggestion of my endocrinologist. I was given a thorough eye exam and he told me I have the start of cataracts in both eyes, but surgery is not needed at this time. He seemed to be willing to spend the time needed to get a good diagnosis of my condition. I saw no evidence of rudeness or incompetence as some others have suggested.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 28th, 2014

Great Doctor

This is by far the best doctor in the area!! His staff is amazing and works very well together. He is by far more than just an eye doctor and he cares about my overall health. I would highly recommend him to my friends and family and even strangers!!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 27th, 2014

BEST EYE Doctor

Dr. Payne was so kind. I needed cataract surgery and was very afraid. He and his staff were wonderful and helped me through the whole process. I can see so well now. Thank you Dr. Payne!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 22nd, 2014

Excellent Doctor

Dr. Payne helped me so much. He took out my cataracts. Now I can see great. He is so kind. His staff was just wonderful.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 15th, 2013

Bad place did not follow through with what was told to my wife by cris got wrong glasses made took over 2 weeks to get right glasses

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

July 17th, 2013

Diagnosis of Tumor

After having some problems with my right eye, I scheduled an appt. with Dr. Payne. He told me I had unusual pressure on my optic nerve and then scheduled a MRI stat. The results showded a tumor involving the brain and optic nerve. I then had radiation @ Shands in Gainsville. If not for his early diagnosis and action the tumor would have grown to a life shortening degree. I would highly recommend him and the courteous staff.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 20th, 2008

Bad experience

The worst doctor's visit I've ever had. Mind-bogglingly rude and insulting when I was sick and in pain. Advice: Don't go if you're a valid medical emergency. Advertises heavily in the local area for laser-based corrective surgeries and apparently finds you an annoyance if you're there for medical care as opposed to a candidate for a $4000 procedure for a few minutes of work. Sent me 130 miles away to see a specialist because there "wasn't one in the local area," or so he said. There was and thankfully, I find out about that and started seeing him, but only after spending serious $ on travel and motel expenses to get medical care out of town, inconveniencing family & friends, and using up all of my sick and personal leave at work.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 20th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Darren Payne is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Panama City, FL.

  • Dr. Todd Robinson

    Dr. Todd Robinson

    Ophthalmology

    Panama City, FL 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    26
  • Dr. Zsolt Bansagi

    Dr. Zsolt Bansagi

    Ophthalmology

    Panama City, FL 0.91 mi

    4.8
    (27)
    17
  • Dr. Marnix Heersink

    Dr. Marnix Heersink

    Ophthalmology

    Panama City, FL 0.91 mi

    4.3
    (10)
    43