David Altchek MD Patient Reviews

  • Sports Medicine New York, NY

Overall Rating

4.6
  • 63 patient ratings
  • 20 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.4)

63 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    84%
  • Great
    2%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    3%
  • Bad
    5%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 13.6 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 16th, 2017
THE PREMIER BODY SHOP DOC
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
AFTER AN INCORRECT DIAGNOSIS FROM ANOTHER HOSPITAL AND ORTHOPOD, DAVID IMMEDIATELY RECOGNIZED THE TRUE ISSUE AND DID A FANTASTIC JOB REPAIRING A TORN BICEP TENDON AND DAMAGED SHOULDER. 10 YEARS LATER, NO PROBLEMS!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 9th, 2015
Thinks his time is more valuable than yours
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Went to see him for my knee. When he realized it is not surgical he blew me off- of course still had to pay his fee as he zoned out
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 16th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Best orthopedic doc in the business. Nobody comes close!!! I've had a shoulder and knee done at HSS with Dr. Altchek and my recoveries were seamless, and both are much improved.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
July 27th, 2015
bittersweet
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
personable, skilled, spent to time to show me what was missed on MRI interpretation. gave me a break in fee. as insurance not accepted, back to work in 2 days (limited) and not 6 months but then as the problem started to return he was hard to get, denied the recrudescence, pushed me off on a trauma surgeon and more x-rays to the tune of $1,000. but I had seen another shoulder only professor and shoulder text author in another city who showed me where the hooks that were in the soon post-op period neatly arranged near the head of the humerus were now distributed across the chest. suggested a major do-over if I wanted. furthermore I questioned Dr. Altchek on the use of Toradol in the peri-operative time on 3 occasions and he assured me 'no problem' and then he published a paper reporting just the opposite of a higher failure rate when Toradol was used. I declined to sue him but now as the constant pain and poor function......but it might be too late.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 17th, 2015
Just like the song....Simply the Best!!!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Traveled 3hrs to have Dr. Altcheck check my son's elbow after having been told it was just tendinitis. Dr. Altcheck diagnosed him and we were scheduled for surgery within a week's time. In and out in a day 's time and back to Albany. Staff was fabulous and the office ran like well oiled machine. . They were always there to answer follow up questions. I wouldn't go anywhere else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 21st, 2014
He is the best. Competence, professionalism, attention and good care. He will fix it correctly first time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 5th, 2014
Excellence
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Regarding Dr Altchek's expertise and skills, he earns the highest praise and accolades for his excellent work and follow-up care. And, it is also important to mention his wonderful staff who add to the care. Everyone is very friendly, attentive, responsive and helpful. Harry and Keith deserve special mention. Harry went out of his way to help organize appointments and independently coordinated things in a way that made everything more comfortable and convenient for me. Keith takes all the time required to explain and answer questions such expertise and puts every worry at ease. Thank you for making a very painful shoulder better in every way.

5.0 of 5
May 28th, 2013
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
the whole experience was terrific. i was ushered into room immediately. When doctor and PA entered room they stayed untill all my questions were answered. Staff was kind, curtious and efficient. bedside manner was fantastic and the PA was thorough and continues to be a great source, weeks later.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 12th, 2012
The Best
Wait time
5.0 minutes
He is simply the best. One cannot do better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 5th, 2012
highly recommend!
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
i cannot say enough good things about dr. altchek. he is kind, smart, thorough, and skilled as a surgeon. i wouldn't trust my arms to anyone else. highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 5th, 2012
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. A is Dr. A+ to me! He has an ultra professional staff and is a gifted surgeon. Run don't walk to this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 12th, 2012
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I think there is a bit of disconnect between Altchek's office and the staff physiatrist, Dr. Halpern, in terms of philosophies of treatment and medical costs. The difference in charges between the two offices is huge, especially for initial diagnoses, particularly for long-time patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

David Altchek, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.