ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

David Altchek Is this you?
  • 53
  • 1
  • 5
  • 2
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
13.6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen David Altchek?


64 Ratings with 20 Comments

5.0 Rating

January 16th, 2017

THE PREMIER BODY SHOP DOC

AFTER AN INCORRECT DIAGNOSIS FROM ANOTHER HOSPITAL AND ORTHOPOD, DAVID IMMEDIATELY RECOGNIZED THE TRUE ISSUE AND DID A FANTASTIC JOB REPAIRING A TORN BICEP TENDON AND DAMAGED SHOULDER. 10 YEARS LATER, NO PROBLEMS!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 9th, 2015

Thinks his time is more valuable than yours

Went to see him for my knee. When he realized it is not surgical he blew me off- of course still had to pay his fee as he zoned out

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 16th, 2015

Best orthopedic doc in the business. Nobody comes close!!! I've had a shoulder and knee done at HSS with Dr. Altchek and my recoveries were seamless, and both are much improved .

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

July 27th, 2015

bittersweet

personable, skilled, spent to time to show me what was missed on MRI interpretation. gave me a break in fee. as insurance not accepted, back to work in 2 days (limited) and not 6 months but then as the problem started to return he was hard to get, denied the recrudescence, pushed me off on a trauma surgeon and more x-rays to the tune of $1,000. but I had seen another shoulder only professor and shoulder text author in another city who showed me where the hooks that were in the soon post-op period neatly arranged near the head of the humerus were now distributed across the chest. suggested a major do-over if I wanted. furthermore I questioned Dr. Altchek on the use of Toradol in the peri-operative time on 3 occasions and he assured me 'no problem' and then he published a paper reporting just the opposite of a higher failure rate when Toradol was used. I declined to sue him but now as the constant pain and poor function......but it might be too late.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 17th, 2015

Just like the song....Simply the Best!!!

Traveled 3hrs to have Dr. Altcheck check my son's elbow after having been told it was just tendinitis. Dr. Altcheck diagnosed him and we were scheduled for surgery within a week's time. In and out in a day 's time and back to Albany. Staff was fabulous and the office ran like well oiled machine. . They were always there to answer follow up questions. I wouldn't go anywhere else.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 21st, 2014

He is the best. Competence, professionalism, attention and good care. He will fix it correctly first time.

5.0 Rating

March 5th, 2014

Excellence

Regarding Dr Altchek's expertise and skills, he earns the highest praise and accolades for his excellent work and follow-up care. And, it is also important to mention his wonderful staff who add to the care. Everyone is very friendly, attentive, responsive and helpful. Harry and Keith deserve special mention. Harry went out of his way to help organize appointments and independently coordinated things in a way that made everything more comfortable and convenient for me. Keith takes all the time required to explain and answer questions such expertise and puts every worry at ease. Thank you for making a very painful shoulder better in every way.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 28th, 2013

the whole experience was terrific. i was ushered into room immediately. When doctor and PA entered room they stayed untill all my questions were answered. Staff was kind, curtious and efficient. bedside manner was fantastic and the PA was thorough and continues to be a great source, weeks later.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 12th, 2012

The Best

He is simply the best. One cannot do better.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 5th, 2012

highly recommend!

i cannot say enough good things about dr. altchek. he is kind, smart, thorough, and skilled as a surgeon. i wouldn't trust my arms to anyone else. highly recommend!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 5th, 2012

Dr. A is Dr. A+ to me! He has an ultra professional staff and is a gifted surgeon. Run don't walk to this doctor.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 12th, 2012

I think there is a bit of disconnect between Altchek's office and the staff physiatrist, Dr. Halpern, in terms of philosophies of treatment and medical costs. The difference in charges between the two offices is huge, especially for initial diagnoses, particularly for long-time patients.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    David Altchek is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

  • Dr Gerard Varlotta

    Sports Medicine, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

    New York, NY

    3.5
    (112)
    Accepts online appointments
  • Stephen O'Brien

    Orthopedic Surgery

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    31
  • Hendricks Whitman III

    Hendricks Whitman III

    Rheumatology, Internal Medicine

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    42