The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. David Bortniker Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Bortniker?

Seasonal Allergies

Seasonal Allergies

Get the facts about seasonal allergies, including the different types, symptoms, and doctors who treat it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. David Bortniker?

Ratings and Reviews

39 Ratings with 18 Comments

  • Excellent
    24
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    9
  • Excellent
    24
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    9

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
19.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 39 Ratings with 18 Comments

5.0 Rating

September 3rd, 2017

Highly Recommend.

I've been in and out of urgent care centers and seen different specialists throughout my life due to constantly getting sick and having other medical issues. Dr. Bortniker is the first doctor I've seen who was able to quickly assess and confirm my diagnosis, as well as explain in full detail for me to understand what is going on. I've suffered from constant, painful sinus infections over the years. I underwent sinus surgery, done by Dr. Bortnicker, not only can I breathe better but it was such a quick and perfect recovery! Also, any time I leave a message with his wonderful office staff, he gets back quickly! I've had to wait days sometimes before hearing from other doctors or I would just get a call back from a nurse. You can really tell Dr. Bortniker is extremely experienced and knowledgeable in his field and loves what he does. I definitely, 100% recommend going to Dr. Bortnicker!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 23rd, 2017

WONDERFUL DOCTOR, GOT RIGHT TO THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEMS IMMEDIATELY. KIND AND DIRECT. LOVE HIS MANNERISM. I'M CONTINUING TO GO BACK AND I'M FEELING VERY COMFORTABLE WITH DR. B!!!!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

April 19th, 2016

I was able to get an appointment right away. Filled out forms in advance because they have them online which was really convenient. When I arrived I was promptly greeted and there was almost no waiting at all. Dr. Bortniker was very pleasant and able to quickly assess the symptoms to isolate the problem. Then he was generous with explaining causes and treatment plan. It did not take long for me to feel better. I also received follow up care instructions to ensure I was progressing as expected. Excellent doctor providing excellent care.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 14th, 2015

Lifechanging

Over the course of the 12 years that I searched for relief 6 different excellent and skilled doctors had tested, diagnosed & treated me for "asthma" which it certainly appeared to be. I, and all those who were around me, suffered hearing my loud, hard and incessant cough - it was very debilitating and was a serious problem for me and to anyone nearby. Neighbors several acres away could hear my all-night coughing sessions. The only comparison I can make is imagine spending several hours a day for 12 years coughing as you do if you inhale water while swimming ~ but louder and harder. After many, many courses of steroids 'for asthma' my joints were damaged and I was in frequent pain. At the end of that 12 year time period I went to Dr Bortniker for a long-forgotten reason, and had mentioned the incessant harsh cough. Very quickly into the exam he told me the cough was likely caused by gastric reflux which I knew I had but thought was controlled by once daily Nexium. He said he was going to put me on a 2nd Nexium / day for just a few days. After 3 days I've never again had that exceptional cough. I'm not sure it would be too dramatic or a stretch to say he may have saved my life. With tremendous gratitude ~

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 22nd, 2015

thank goodness

I had a sinus infection for 4 months, needed major surgery, he wasnt sure he could get it done in one day, he did, sleeping for the first time in 30 years straight through the night, breathing 100% better, less sinus infections , no blockages this season, it has been great

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 25th, 2015

Sinus Surgery

Dr. Bortniker did my sinus surgery over 20 years ago and I have only had 2 sinus infections since then. Before my surgery, I had so many infections that my family doctor told me that he couldn't give me any more antibiotic and to see Dr. Bortniker. What a pleasure to not have sinus headaches or infections! It was the best surgery I've had.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 22nd, 2014

Dr. Bortnicker did my sinus surgery ten years ago after having about 7 sinus infections a year. Since that time I have had only one. I would definitely do the surgery again. I was very pleased with his care and the outcome of the surgery. I also like that he tries non medication interventions before prescribing a medication. He is a wonderful doctor which is why I chose to see him this year for some problems I was having with headaches during my pregnancy. This time too his care was wonderful. I had a question for him, left him a message and he called me back that day. Will always use Dr. Bortnicker!!!

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 7th, 2013

surgery for deviated septum

had breathing issues my entire life. The surgery Doctor B preferred fixed everything. Wish I was informed this was available when I was involved in running while I was in High school. He does a great job and anwered every question on what was going to be done in surgery.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 26th, 2013

Do your homework

This doctor does the same scope into the sinuses test on everyone "just to check for polyps". That's fine but what's not acceptable is that he is abrupt, doesn't use lidocaine unlike other ENTs so it is extruciating. He told me i had acid reflux and buy prevacid. I went for a 2nd opinion elsewhere and it was determined that i had a deviated septum and my nasal passages were completely closed off. So much for acid reflux! Just do your homework when researching who to trust as your doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 15th, 2013

I do not recommend this doctor - he performed septoplasty and did it so poorly that i had to have a different doctor re-do the entire procedure. He is rude and will do unnecessary scope test in his office - beware! He sticks a long tube with a camera on it without numbing it first and then is annoyed when you tell him it hurt.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 11th, 2012

Very Rude Abrupt Unhumane

When I Saw Dr Bortniker I felt everything I said was insignificant . He wasnt listening to my complaints he did a MRI and said everything was fine regardless of my horrific symptoms and valid complaints . I felt belittled he wasnt talking to me but through me . Quiet abrupt and rude . His staff apparently with the same ideology and mannerisms as him . The Secretary yelled vital personal information across the waiting room . When I asked why she would do that she said Well you werent at the desk As though Im a mind reader and know when this imbecile is going to stand up and scream my medical information through a crowded waiting room . I see theres two Dr David Bortnikers Scroll down and theres a David L Bortniker much more accuracy of his unorthodox antics then on this list . These posts seem like staff posted favortism

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

May 23rd, 2012

Rude

I have given Dr. Bortniker multiple visits to redeem himself but he has a tendency to be on the rude side and I have never waited less than 30 minutes for any appointment (last appt was 1 hr and 15 minutes). I hired Dr. Bortniker on a recommendation and he performed a procedure for a deviated septum. I have felt worse in the 4 years since the surgery and have doubts if it was done correctly.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. David Bortniker is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Somerville, NJ.

  • Dr. Adrianna Hekiert

    Dr. Adrianna Hekiert

    Otolaryngology

    Somerville, NJ 0.42 mi

    4.7
    (27)
    9
  • Dr. Mena Abrahim

    Dr. Mena Abrahim

    Plastic Surgery, Otolaryngology

    Somerville, NJ 0.42 mi

    4.5
    (13)
    2
  • Dr. Amy Lazar

    Dr. Amy Lazar

    Plastic Surgery, Otolaryngology

    Somerville, NJ 0.42 mi

    4.0
    (13)
    21